NZXT Tempest EVO review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

Today in the KitGuru labs we have the enthusiast grade steel mid tower Tempest EVO chassis from NZXT. This case has been designed with the focus on expandability offering E-ATX support which allows for compatibility with higher end graphics cards, power supplies and server boards while also allowing the installation of up to 8 Hard Disk drives.

They have incorporated predrilled cable routing on the motherboard which allows for a cleaner appearance and enhanced airflow design. The case also features space behind the motherboard panel from a punched side panel design that allows for easy heatsink removal. Additionally there is also support for a dual 120mm radiator at the top panel. So far so good.

NZXT call this ‘The King Reborn – a sleek, all black, steel mid tower gaming chassis. Building off of the original Tempest’s award winning design, the EVO brings advanced cooling power, expandability, and cable management.”

This case comes fully loaded with 6 fans. There are 2 x 140mm top exhaust fans, 2 x 120mm front loaded Blue Led intake fans, 1 x 120mm Blue Led side intake fan and 1 x 120mm rear exhaust fan. That’s a lot of fans for sure.

Do we have your attention yet? Lets have a closer look.

The package is made of corrugated cardboard and contains all of the required information about the contents and product features. They have included a couple pictures of the case and they also make reference to awards that this product has received in the past.

After opening the package we are greeted with the Tempest packaged in a plastic bag with Styrofoam pieces built to fit the top and bottom of case. These moulded pieces are designed to provide protection during the shipping process.  This is all pretty standard stuff as these products have to ship worldwide, and withstand the beating put on them by the people loading and unloading them during their journey.

Before we start checking out the exterior of the Tempest EVO let’s check the specifications:

* The version we are reviewing today does not include the optional 500 WATT PSU *

MODEL Tempest SERIES
CASE TYPE MID TOWER Steel
FRONT PANEL MATERIAL PLASTIC
DIMENSIONS (W x H x D) 211.5 X 521.5 X 562 mm
COOLING SYSTEM FRONT, 2 X 120 mm Blue LED (included)REAR, 1 X 120 mm (included)

SIDE PANEL, 1 X 120mm Blue LED (included)

TOP, 2 X 140mm Fan (included)

DRIVE BAYS 9 DRIVE BAYS3 EXTERNAL 5.25″ DRIVE BAYS ( up to six 5.25″ )

1 3.5″ External bracket

8 INTERNAL 3.5″ DRIVE BAYS

Screwless Rail Design

MATERIAL(S) Steel Construction
EXPANSION SLOTS 7
POWER SUPPLY 500 WATT PS2 ATX 12V 2.0 ( OPTIONAL )
WEIGHT 11.2 KGS (W/O Power)
MOTHERBOARD SUPPORT MOTHERBOARDS: E-ATX ATX, MICRO-ATX, BABY AT
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
NZXT Tempest EVO review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 2 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

14 Comments
  • tim
    June 17, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice review Steve. its a good case, my buddy has one

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • eric k
    June 17, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Wicked thanks. good price that chassis. had been looking at it a while ago and it went out of mind. id love a silverstone chassis however.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • death dealer
    June 17, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice information, it seems to cool well for the price. I agree though after coming to this from the silverstone raven 02, seems rather a downgrade. its all about price though

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank
    June 17, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hi Steve, how did you find the noise out of the chassis? any rattles or things like that?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ray
    June 17, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    funny thing is I saw this a while ago and I never even looked twice. the box is so bad looking, with some weird dude and glowing eyes. Might check it out later or next time in the local store in cali here.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry
    June 17, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice all around review, and good information on the cooling. seems quiet capable although your room environment is freezing man !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    June 17, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Yeah I liked that review, its always nice to see all the angles inside so I can make my own judgements. not sure id buy one but it seems decent.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francois lebon
    June 17, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    17c ! thats one hell of a cold room, tell Zardon to pay for electric ! Good review.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    June 17, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    £80 is cheap really for what you get, it is steel, however I like steel for strength. its not the poor mans option many people make it out to be.

    Id be interested in those fans, are they any good? loud etc?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian
    June 17, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thanks steve, good review man

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph
    June 17, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like this chassis, there is a sale locally, think id order one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Chaos
    June 17, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    no strange noises or rattles that I have encountered. Sound level are good but I dont have a dB meter

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thursday’s News 6-17-10 | Unbiased Computer Hardware Reviews - ThinkComputers.org
    June 17, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Thermaltake Armor A90 Mid Tower Chassis @ TweakTown NZXT Tempest EVO Chassis @ KitGuru NZXT Hades Case Review @ HardwareHeaven.com In Win Diva sff chassis @ Hardware [...]

  • 6/18/2010 Daily Hardware Reviews « Hardware « Tech news combined!
    June 19, 2010
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Win Diva @ Hardware BistroIn Win Ironclad @ TweakPCNZXT Tempest EVO @ KitGuruThermaltake Armor A90 @ [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives