Sapphire Vapor-X CPU Cooler Review

Review Score:
44 Flares 44 Flares ×

Renowned for enthusiast-grade graphics cards that push the boundaries of performance, Sapphire is on the hunt for success with the company’s first ever CPU cooler – the Vapor-X. Utilising vapour chamber technology, can Sapphire replicate the success of the critically-acclaimed Vapor-X coolers used on their graphics cards?

A direct-contact vapour chamber base should allow for a rapid rate of efficient heat transferal when coupled with the quartet of 7mm heatpipes. Dissipating the transferred heat energy is a task for the Vapor-X’s densely-packed aluminium fin array and pair of 2200 RPM blue LED fans.

Sapphire claims up to 200W of heat dissipation with the Vapor-X CPU cooler. Can the vapour chamber technology boost Sapphire’s Vapor-X CPU cooler into a class-leading performance category?

Specifications:

  • CPU Socket Compatibility: Intel LGA 775, 1155/1156, 1366, 2011 and AMD FM1, AM3+, AM3, AM2, AM2+
  • Dimensions: 135 x 110.4 x 163.5mm (5.3 x 4.3 x 6.4 in)
  • Heat Sink Material: Vapor Chamber / 4x 7mm Heatpipes / Aluminium Fins
  • Heat Pipes Dimensions: ø7mm, 362mmx4
  • Fan Speed: 495 – 2200 RPM (PWM)
  • Fan Air Flow: 77 CFM (each)
  • Fan Connector: 4-pin PWM
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Sapphire Vapor-X CPU Cooler Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
44 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 41 44 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

8 Comments
  • Brian
    November 30, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    fantastic ! great job Sapphire…..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Warren
    November 30, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    They make some good products. I like a cooler with lower noise, im not that bothered about ‘cutting edge performance’.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John
    November 30, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I really like this, it can compete with the new frio, but its quieter. thats a win to me……

    Bit expensive though as Luke said :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mannacua
    November 30, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its a little overpriced, but I agree, it looks like a nice, well designed cooler.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank
    November 30, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I could be wrong, but does anyone know if this is the same vapour chamber as the TPC 812 CM? looks like it to me…..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Davis
    November 30, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    If they got that down to £44.99 or £39.99 it would sell well. Not sure its offering a great performance to price ratio right now.

    I do like it, but I like the frio too. Thermaltake supply sh*tty fans however.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Xtreme
    November 30, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is using the same dramatically shaped fans they use on their graphics cards which is helping to reduce the noise. I agree, excellent cooler Sapphire.

    But once they get outside graphics cards, their prices are really not very competitive. Their motherobards for instance are often £10-£20 more expensive. I appreciate their volumes are lower, but it gives me little incentive to pay more money than competitors.

    its a problem for them, this CPU cooling market is ruthless on price today.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Leo
    November 30, 2012
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I might buy this actually, ive been a FRIO fan for years, but every time I buy a thermaltake cooler, their fans fail, or make just too much bloody noise. I hate companies who skimp on fans. its such an important part of these items.

    I was going to get the Corsair H80i, but I might save a few quid, if this is quiet too.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives