AMD HD6450 Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

This is a sample direct from AMD, so there are no packaging or accessories. There will be several versions of the card brought to market, one with 1GB of DDR3 memory and one with 512MB of GDDR5. There will also be active and passive versions released.

We have the actively cooled GDDR5 version for review today.

The HD6450 takes enough power from the PCI E slot so there are no power connectors needed. There are three output connectors on the back – VGA, HDMI and DVI. They can all be used at the same time to power three screens in Eyefinity. We would assume that partners will bundle converters and perhaps even ditch the VGA connector, offering additional digital output connectors.


When the cooler is removed we get full access to the PCB, which is black, rather than a traditional red. The heatsink is small, but we wouldn’t expect the card to produce much heat anyway.

An overview of the 40nm ‘Caicos’ HD6450, highlighting the core clock at 750mhz and the GDDR5 memory at 900mhz (3,600mhz effective) across a 64 bit memory interface. We are using an updated beta version of Catalyst 11.4.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
AMD HD6450 Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

6 Comments
  • Hammer
    April 7, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seems like a very decent card for the money. Not my cup of tea, but for media duties, very nice indeed.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned
    April 7, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    If they clock this to 625mhz it will not relate to these scores unfortunateyl, thats a significant core clock drop.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph
    April 7, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Not a very exciting product, but the fact you can game on more than one screen, even if the IQ would be rubbish is a very cool idea. Great idea for a second system but I cant see this being used as a gaming card, more for media.

    In that area it does very well indeed.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Victor
    April 7, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Sales in this market are much larger than the high end but there is very little money to be made here by AMD or their partners, maybe $10 a card profit.

    This is a nice update, but passive would be more appealing to me than a fan.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • FoxMontage
    April 8, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The HD6450 seems like a nice HTPC card, if not a tad expensive.

    Also, it’s nice to see a tech review site that actually makes an effort to make sure that their graphs are clear to read, so people can actually quickly make sense of the data (the whole point in a graph). Keep up the good work.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • gaurav
    March 31, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Not a very exciting product, but the fact you can game on more than one screen, even if the IQ would be rubbish is a very cool idea. Great idea for a second system but I cant see this being used as a gaming card, more for media.But the diappionting aspect is it does not have pixel shader version of 5

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

1080 TV Gaming in the Living Room

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives