Asus EAH6850 Direct CU Overclock Edition Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

The AMD HD6850 was released just over a month ago and has been warmly received by critics and the public. We have already looked at boards from Sapphire, XFX, Powercolor and HIS and today the Asus EAH6850 Direct CU Overclock Edition is next in line for a thorough workout.

Like all of the best graphics cards, the Asus EAH6850 showcases a customised cooler and is supplied in a modest pre overclocked state.

Asus are also keen to focus on the ‘Voltage Tweak’ aspects of the card, to highlight the enhanced overclocking potential. With reduced thermal states and enhanced acoustics this looks to be well worth adding to our portfolio of 6800 series reviews.

Asus HD6850
Core Clock Speed
790mhz
Stream Processors
960
ROPs
32
Frame Buffer
1GB GDDR5
Compute Power
1.5 TFLOPs
Memory Width/Speed
256bit, 4.0 GBPS
Power Connectors
Single 6 Pin
Display Outputs
2xDVI + 2x mDP + 1 HDMI
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Asus EAH6850 Direct CU Overclock Edition Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

9 Comments
  • Sam
    November 30, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have owned several asus cards and they always have served me well. this looks a solid purchase with a fine price. cant beat £159.99 ! (well you could, £99.99 – talk to them zardon :p).

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    November 30, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very nice indeed. good performance all round. Quick question however, why 3 screen testing, who the hell can afford 3 monitors?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond
    November 30, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Rather boring looking board, but it performs well. temps are excellent. 65c under load is more like what I want to see.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jon
    November 30, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Been waiting for a good review of this for a while, saw it on OCUk last week, didnt know if it was any good. I agree about the low overclocks. surely its not hard to crank the bios clocks a bit, its basically running at stock and can hit 1000mhz on the core !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David Guther
    November 30, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent, been waiting for this for a while. I never buy Sapphire or XFX, only Asus. I wait :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francis
    November 30, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent all round card, doesn’t seem that quiet though which is a bit disappointing

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Seth
    November 30, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Leather case is a weird addition for a gfx?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin
    November 30, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Poor clock choice for such a card, far too low

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Benjamin
    November 30, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    price of the 6850 is good, crossfire they are killer, but bot sure it’s worth it as a really fast single card doesn’t need a profile

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives