HIS HD6870 CrossFireX Review

Review Score:
27 Flares 27 Flares ×

The tests were performed in a controlled air conditioned room with temperatures maintained at a constant 25c – a comfortable environment for the majority of people reading this.

Idle temperatures were measured after sitting at the desktop for 30 minutes. Load measurements were acquired by playing Crysis Warhead for 30 minutes and measuring the peak temperature. We also have included Furmark results, recording maximum temperatures throughout a 30 minute stress test. All fan settings were left on automatic.

The HD6870 is a reference design (with the standard AMD cooler) and as such we don’t expect wonderful results. The final figures are still fairly decent, although the load temperature under Furmark is a little on the high side.

Return to ambient is a feature we have recently added to our reviews … we measure the time it takes for a solution to return to idle temperatures, immediately after full load. The faster the time, the better the cooler – for example a Noctua NH D14 cooler will return an Intel processor to idle temperatures much faster than a reference cooler. This is a good indication of how quickly a heatsink can dissipate heat.

The HIS HD6870 reference cooler takes around 25 seconds to return the core to idle temperatures, which is a little longer than the other HD6870′s in our labs. We did notice however that noise levels were slightly lower, however more on this shortly.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
HIS HD6870 CrossFireX Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
27 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 24 27 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

11 Comments
  • Roger
    October 22, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Boring reference design but crossfire performance is fantastic.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    October 22, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Their pricing is fantastic, there are price wars aplenty right now, they seem to be dropping every day !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry
    October 22, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    HD6870 is still disappointing I think compared to 6850, but we will only be able to judge it when third party versions hit the market.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam
    October 22, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    These are down to 179 quid in the UK today !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harry
    October 22, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The pricing is different on every store I visit,. its a bit of a nightmare getting set figures for either 70 or 50.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond Tren
    October 22, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    wicked. two 6850s in CFX for me.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin
    October 22, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent pricing but 460 is still good

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank
    October 22, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like the fact they have quietened the card down compared to reference design, however does anyone like the reference cooling? seems madness to buy now when we all know that better coolers will be announced for the same price in a month.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Akash
    October 24, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The 6870s are impressive but the 6850′s are bullshit because amd sumbitted 6850 with 1120 cores(6870) instead of 960 or whatever which proves that the results for the 6850 were just liek downclocked 6870s

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    October 24, 2010
    #10
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    as I said in the other discussion. not all 6850s had the higher count.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Akash
    October 28, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I realised sorry :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives