HIS HD6870 ICEQX Turbo Graphics Card Review

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

AMD’s HD6870 has been a big seller since it was launched and as prices have dropped recently, sales figures have been maintained, even against stiff competition. As the demand continues, partners have been releasing solutions with custom PCB and cooler designs. With this in mind today we are looking at one of the more exciting products about to hit retail – the HIS HD6870 ICEQX.

Regular KitGuru readers will already be aware that HIS have been stepping up their game in the last year with an impressive range of video card releases. The HIS HD6870 ICEQX is not only supplied with a dramatically styled cooler, but possibly some of the highest HD6870 clocks on the market.

With clocks enhanced to 975mhz on the core, and 1150mhz (4600mhz effective) via the GDDR5 memory, is this the fastest HD6870 on the market? More importantly, is it worth your money?

HIS HD6870 ICEQX AMD HD6870 AMD HD5870
Die Size (mm2) 255 255 334
Transistor Count 1.7 billion 1.7 billion 2.15 billion
Memory Bandwidth 4.6Gbps 4.2GBps 4.8GBps
Stream Processors 1120 1120 1600
Texture Units 56 56 80
ROPs 32 32 32
Core Clock 975 mhz 900 mhz 850 mhz
Memory Clock 1,150mhz 1,050mhz 1,200mhz
Memory 1GB GDDR5 1GB GDDR5 1GB GDDR5
GD Star Rating
a WordPress rating system
HIS HD6870 ICEQX Turbo Graphics Card Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

12 Comments
  • Frank
    March 22, 2011
    #1
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    WOw that cooler melts my eye balls.

    Thank god you dont have to look at it all the time once its installed !

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Steven
    March 22, 2011
    #2
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Hey, anyway we can petition them to make the cooler a different colour? that really is dire looking.

    but hey it works I ‘pose ! nice one.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Dave
    March 22, 2011
    #3
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Why have they a y shaped plate over the memory? whats that about?

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Muzz
    March 22, 2011
    #4
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Bit of a contradiction that card. one of the best AMD 6870s and easily the ugliest.

    Those temperatures are great, especially for the new version of Furmark, which melts some cards. I am not sure I value furmark anymoer for temps, but I like the fact you include gaming results.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Tim
    March 22, 2011
    #5
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    @ Dave. the metal plate is obviously for cooling, there are probably thermal pads under it. and then the fan above keeps it cooler and it takes the heat from teh chips.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Garth
    March 23, 2011
    #6
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Nice card design and great performance. as the review says though the 560 is a tough card to beat at this price point.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • k0rn
    March 23, 2011
    #7
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Weird choice of colours for the cooler design. its very bright. looks like cheap plastic.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Opotic
    March 23, 2011
    #8
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    I still have concerns about HIS warranty in UK, ive read horror stories.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Vinny
    March 23, 2011
    #9
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Wow, 975mhz core, thats insane for an out of the box setting. They must have a good batch for this release.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • John
    March 23, 2011
    #10
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Very good card from HIS. Its a make I never look at when buying a card, but this one looks like one of the best.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Relayer
    March 23, 2011
    #11
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    the color isn’t for everyone, apparently. It’s a good match though for Gigabyte Mobo’s. Not that anyone should be buying a VC because of the color. Excluding case modders, possibly.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Seawer
    August 27, 2011
    #12
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Where can I buy this exact card? I recently read a review in PC Gamer magazine noting it at £149, but can’t find this model online anywhere!

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives