HIS HD6970 IceQ Turbo Edition Review

Review Score:
0 Flares 0 Flares ×

KitGuru readers love modified, custom graphics cards and today we are looking at one of the most eye catching designs yet, the new HIS HD6970 ICEQ Turbo Edition -  a preoverclocked card with a dramatically designed custom cooler.

The HIS HD6970 IceQ Turbo Edition is supplied with a modest overclock on the core, from 880mhz to 900mhz and the memory has been increased to 1400mhz, or 5.6GBps effective. The main talking point however is the cooler, which is certainly going to be the center point of many discussions.

Product AMD HD6970 HIS HD6970 ICEQ Turbo
Core Clock speed 880mhz 900 mhz
Primitive Rate
2 prim/clk
2 prim/clk
Shader Architecture
VLIW4
VLIW4
Stream Processors
24 SIMD/1536 ALU
24 SIMD/1536 ALU
Texture Units 96 96
ROPs/Z-Stencil 32/128 32/128
Frame Buffer 2GB GDDR5 2GB GDDR5
Memory Width/Speed 256 bit, 5.5 Gbps 256 bit, 5.6 Gbps
Power Connectors 8 pin & 6 pin 8 pin & 6 pin
Display Outputs 2xDVI + 2x mDP + HDMI 2xDVI + 2x mDP + HDMI
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
HIS HD6970 IceQ Turbo Edition Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
0 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

17 Comments
  • Garrys Bod
    May 25, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I really would love to know what they are thinking with these coolers’ they are so mad looking id love to see the development team behind them :)

    Great cards though, as has been proven over the last year.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tamlin
    May 25, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like the appearance ! its very different. the price seems to be good. most of them are 280?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • harry
    May 25, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is a far east design, they don’t get enough feedback from westerners with their card design. look at the difference between sapphire and HIS for designs.

    I am not saying its a problem for HIS, but the differences are in the cultural designs between the companies.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ben
    May 25, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    They aren’t a make I normally look at. this is one ugly card. Not sure I could get past that.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Egyptian mon
    May 25, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The only problem for me is that the GTX570 is a better card and faster. I doubt many people use more than one monitor. its pointless saying its any different.

    24 inch screen 1920×1080 is the average ‘enthusiast’ panel size and res

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nester
    May 25, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    What a bonkers design, someone has been on the jack daniels during the design phase

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 8292356
    May 25, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Sapphire for me im afraid,. I dont think HIS have a reptuation yet for these kind of cards.

    Temps are high IMO too.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fran
    May 25, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    How far is that over the edge of the PCB? that might prove a fitting issue in some cases I would think

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mark Evans
    May 25, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    People always bitch about HIS, ive owned three of their cards and I think they aer very good. warranty is always strong with retailers too. no problems buying one.

    great product, id buy this, but its a little much for me im happy with my 5 series card. waiting for 7 series !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • k0rn
    May 25, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Is it just me or are there just too many cards out on the market to keep track of? I keep forgetting who has what out. The MSI card is the best imo, but its over 300 still I think

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tres Spunkilisiou
    May 25, 2011
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Two of these in CFx would be great. 6 screen gaming possible? 3×3 side by side and vertically mounted? might need three of them? anyone know?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Wednesday News, May 25th 2011
    May 25, 2011
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Love this kind of thing but the coolers look well backward

  • Tumus
    May 26, 2011
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Someone in that company has been on the tequila during a design phase of this card!

    It works well, thats the funny thing…

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    May 30, 2011
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Looks like we are back at 2000.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Cathy
    August 29, 2011
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    How come another site got theres upto 1050mhz core clock at 70 degrease none the less?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    August 29, 2011
    #16
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Every card is different, they don’t all overclock the same. Some publications use different methods to test temperatures.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Cathy
    August 29, 2011
    #17
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thanks for the quick reply :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives