HIS HD6990 Dual CrossfireX Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

AMD launched the HD6990 today, and KitGuru was at hand to analyse the reference board. We know that discerning readers of KitGuru will want to see how two of these video cards perform in a Dual CrossFireX configuration.

We will be putting two HD6990′s through their paces across single screen, and four screen configurations and comparing them against many of the mainstream boards available on the market today.

Just how insanely fast are two of these cards when paired up? How hot do they get? Can you live with the noise and how much power do they need? All of this will be answered in our second HD6990 launch article.

The AMD HD6990 is a monster video card, it features 4 GB of GDDR5 memory on a 256 bit memory interface with 3072 stream processors and 192 texture units. We will find out today if it is the new performance leader.

HIS HD6990
Compute Power 5.1 TFLOPs (IEEE754-SP)
1.27 TFLOPs (IEEE754-DP)
Core Clock Speed 830mhz
Primitive Rate 2 prim/clk
Shader Architecture VLIW4
Stream Processors 3072 ALU
Texture Units 192
ROPs/Z-Stencil 64/256
Frame Buffer 4GB GDDR5
Memory Width/Speed 256-bit, 5.0 Gbps
Load Board Power <375W
Power Connectors 8 pin & 8 Pin
Display Outputs 1xDVI + 4 mDP
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
HIS HD6990 Dual CrossfireX Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

  • Erik

    lol, bet you wish they could run in a 3x 6x setup !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nick

    14,000 in 3dmark 11. I thought i was doing well, breaking 5k last week :( I suck.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Uriel

    Wow. just wow. AMD are owning everyone this week……..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • AMD4EVER

    YAY! 48k in vantage. insane, this card just friggin rocks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned

    I wouldnt be getting all too excited just yet, Nvidia have yet to unleash the GTX590 which I would think might kick the 6990′s arse.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    The nvidia architecture is slightly more powerful overall, but its all about temperatures, otherwise they would both slap three cores on a PCB and duke it out. its not quite that simple.

    its actually a feat of engineering in itself that AMD got this crappy single fan to cool such a powerful card. I almost choked on my cornflakes when I saw that tiny red fan, used YET again.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mannfred

    Man I’d love four screens and two of these. Best start saving.

    Oh yeah and a new psu

    And a new CPU

    Damn…..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fasitid

    Crazy frame rates, do we really need kind of power? Best game in months was dead space 2 and it could run well with a 6850.

    Portal 2 should be the same….

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Samuel

    Hey quick question. Whats this sticker over the bios switch, do you void warranty by running the card at full speed? Is it dangerous? I really really don’t get this…

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin

    hell when you limit an overclocked 12 core intel processor at 2560 then you know you have something special !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Graeme

    One thing is certain, you wont be running this setup on a 650W psu. I think a 1200w is a minimum for this setup. might get away with 1000w, but it would be rather highly loaded with the rest of the components in the mix.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Barry

    That performance is just stupid. as in stupid good, not stupid sucky.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which Platform/CPU next for you?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives