nVidia Geforce GT430 Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

The tests were performed in a controlled air conditioned room with temperatures maintained at a constant 24c – a comfortable environment for the majority of people reading this. These results are taken with the system built inside the Bitfenix Colossus which offers great airflow.

Idle temperatures were measured after sitting at the desktop for 30 minutes. Load measurements were acquired by playing Crysis Warhead for 30 minutes and measuring the peak temperature. We also have included Furmark results, recording maximum temperatures throughout a 30 minute stress test.

temps3 nVidia Geforce GT430 Review

furmark 300x240 nVidia Geforce GT430 Review

The GT430 is a cool running card, peaking around 60c when gaming. Furmark pushes the card to 67c which shows in theory how hot the card could get.

Return to ambient is a feature we have recently added to our reviews … we measure the time it takes for a solution to return to idle temperatures, immediately after full load. The faster the time, the better the cooler – for example a Noctua NH D14 cooler will return an Intel processor to idle temperatures much faster than a reference cooler. This is a good indication of how quickly a heatsink can dissipate heat.

return to idle nVidia Geforce GT430 Review

One of the inherent issues with a single slot cooler is that the return to idle state can be slower. After 30 minutes of Furmark full load, it takes a full 24 seconds for the cooler to return to the starting point.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
nVidia Geforce GT430 Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

  • Roger

    ekk, same price as a HD5670, thats a bit of a mess.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    Disaster, the card doesnt seem to have much going for it, certainly not at that price.

    Why not make it passively cooled and the same price as a HD5500 series card? like 40 quid.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger

    Very highly overpriced. as a media card it seems decent as the HQV testing shows, but again the HD5670 is better. Dont think it has anything really to sell it. price needs to be 40-50 quid.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave

    They all need to passively cooled and under £50. not sure what they are thinking. performance is very poor.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    Very honest, and I like to see KG not hiding behind some silly comments. its a poor board. GTX460 seems to be the only no brainer this time around.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brad

    Well this is very open. I am a bit sick seeing 9/10s on this site, I doubt this review will make you popular with nvidia fans, but It is a tough card to recommend. I think even the 5570 si a better card. at least its passively cooled too !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond

    I have read this and there was certainly no quarter drawn :)

    It isn’t a poor card, power consumption is good and noise levels are decent.

    My points are this and its been said before.

    1: price needs to put it into the RIGHT CATEGORY! £45 inc vat
    2: passively cooled, all solutions (or see point 3)
    3: non passive cooled solutions need the clocks raised much higher to help with gaming.

    I know people say its a ‘media card’ but come on, even people who are media fanatics, still play the odd title at 720p. this card even struggles at that, which is acceptable for 45 quid, not 65. HD5670 is a decent media gaming card, so this has to be as well, or else the price has to change. fact.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    10/10 review. dig the honesty. product sucks. There are loads of cards in this price sector which deliver better performance. point proven today.

    Maybe they can;t drop the price more, but this is destined to fail. loads of threads up across the net already. its only decent for encoding some files. but very few media people care less with even powerful low end CPU’s today.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • JCB

    Well this article is useless as it it compares against the wrong ATI graphics card…

    The Nvidia GT430 is priced at about $79 (£51) and so competes with the ATI 5550 which would look much more interesting, and a Best buy rating !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    bollocks.

    This is the common pricing online. learn to count http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-239-AS&groupid=701&catid=56&subcat=1863

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Davy

    JCB has been on the LSD :)

    The whole point of this article is that the 430 SHOULD be £sub 50 but its £65-70!

    Might be cheaper in america but it sure as shit aint in the UK.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • harry

    Maybe if I got a flight to New York, it might work out at £50, but id need to get a flight for £3 before it would be worth my time.

    All the prices today in the UK are 65 to 75 quid in the uk. ive not seen any decent makes for close to 50 quid. at 70 quid for the asus card, thats 5 less than a 1gb HD5670 ! well worth a 6 month wait for this crap.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.buygbl.com Jilma

    i wait for the nexgenartion cards

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Your next PC, which memory?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives