Powercolor HD6870 PCS++ Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

Powercolor have been one of the more active AMD partners in recent months, releasing many modified cards with custom cooling solutions for all sectors of the market. Today we are looking at their latest HD6870 PCS++ which is supplied with a proprietary cooler and substantial ‘out of the box’ overclocks.

AMD’s HD6870 has proved a good seller in recent months, targeting the lower end of the gaming market, but offering good performance at modest resolutions. Powercolor are aiming to push this specific board design as far as possible by increasing the core clock by a whopping 75mhz and the memory clock by 100 mhz (400mhz effective).

Powercolor HD6870 PCS++ AMD HD6870 AMD HD5870
Die Size (mm2) 255 255 334
Transistor Count 1.7 billion 1.7 billion 2.15 billion
Memory Bandwidth 4.6Gbps 4.2GBps 4.8GBps
Stream Processors 1120 1120 1600
Texture Units 56 56 80
ROPs 32 32 32
Core Clock 975 mhz 900 mhz 850 mhz
Memory Clock 1,150mhz 1,050mhz 1,200mhz
Memory 1GB GDDR5 1GB GDDR5 1GB GDDR5
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Powercolor HD6870 PCS++ Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

10 Comments
  • Nester
    May 30, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice looking cooler indeed. weird about the temps, that seems very high. the A on the furmark and GPUZ seem VERY high though, I wonder is the bios messed up?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank
    May 30, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    They are making some great cards. bummer you got a dodgy sample. it happens. at least they arent cherry pickin them

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin
    May 30, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hey, can you pass over my details to powercolor? I have the same card and the same problem. I dont think its your specific sample, perhaps a faulty batch with too much voltage?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 5eenbynotheard
    May 30, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Score is too high, the card is faulty, you review what you are given. 6/10 max

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nicholas
    May 30, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Fumark is too much of a stress test now. its like prime. its useless nothing ever stresses out hardware this much. something like crysis is fine. all you need

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Optix
    May 30, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is why Sapphire get such a good name, because things like this just dont happen for them!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jeffrey
    May 30, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    6870 isn’t a good seller for AMD. its one of their worst sellers. the lower end boards get them their gravy.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bill Red
    May 30, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    optix what do you mean? i think this deal about sapphire being perfect is stupid.

    I have had sapphire cards fail before years ago. most of them are made in the same factories anyway by palit.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 8273
    May 31, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    You scored it too high, even if it is a bad card, you needed to score it lower. Cant take powercolors word on it !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Paul
    May 31, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I found another review and theirs seems ok. I think this one might have a different bios with more voltage. the Amps look higher than even most OC’d models ive seen in furmark.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives