Sapphire HD7950 Dual-X FleX Edition Review (OC)

Review Score:
24 Flares 24 Flares ×

The Sapphire FleX cards have been firm favourites in the Kitguru offices since they were initially launched and today we are looking at the latest high end model – the HD7950 FleX. Not only have Sapphire included their custom display technology, but the card receives an overclock and a proprietary two fan cooler. Today we look at this card with a variety of games, including some titles running across three 24 inch screens at 5760×1080 resolution.

Sapphire have nailed their designs in 2012, they have been consistently producing some of the quietest discrete solutions. Even their high end cards have been whisper quiet, thanks to optimised fan profiles and the adoption of high grade dual fan cooling systems.

Product Sapphire HD7950 FleX AMD HD7950 AMD HD7870 AMD HD7850
Core Clock speed 860mhz 800mhz 1000mhz 860mhz
Transistors 4.31B 4.31B 2.8B 2.8B
Stream Processors 1,792 1,792 1,280 1,024
Compute Performance 2.87 TFLOPS 2.87 TFLOPS 2.56 TFLOPS 1.76 TFLOPS
Texture Units 112 112 80 64
Texture Fillrate 89.6 GT/s 89.6 GT/s 80 GT/s 55.0 GT/s
ROPs 32 32 32 32
Pixel Fillrate 25.6 GP/s 25.6 GP/s 32.0 GP/s 27.52 GP/s
Z/Stencil 128 128 128 128
Memory Type 3GB GDDR5 3GB GDDR5 2GB GDDR5 2GB GDDR5
Memory Clock 1,250mhz 1,250mhz 1,200mhz 1,200mhz
Memory Data Rate 5.0 Gbps 5.0 Gbps 4.8 Gbps 4.8 Gbps
Memory Bandwidth 240 GB/s 240 GB/s 153.6 GB/s 153.6 GB/s

The Sapphire HD7950 Flex receives a core clock boost by 60mhz from 800mhz to 860mhz. The 3GB of GDDR5 runs at the reference speeds of 1,250mhz, or 5Gbps effective. Let us take a closer look at the hardware.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Sapphire HD7950 Dual-X FleX Edition Review (OC), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
24 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 4 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 20 24 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

11 Comments
  • Jeffrey
    June 6, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That is awesome, out of my price league, but fleX rocks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian
    June 6, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    They make great cards. only problem i can see with this card will be the price, fleX normally ads £30 to the price. it might end up around £380, which is only £20-30 less than the cheapest 7970′s.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • NEWS - Placi video - Page 382 - My Garage
    June 6, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] HD7950 Dual-X FleX Edition (OC) Review – Kitguru [...]

  • steven
    June 6, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice looking card. I reckon it will cost closer to 400

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dennis
    June 6, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I d love this card? Competition anyone? :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pete nicko
    June 6, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This system wouldnt cost that much. Three 24 inch screens around 450 total. System about 1500.

    Really kick ass. But i might prefer the 670 from asus.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lei
    June 7, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very impressive. I want a third screen this year

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Peter manuel
    June 7, 2012
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like their new coolers,mthey are very quiet

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Daily Hardware Reviews for 6/10/12
    June 10, 2012
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Card HIS Radeon HD 7850 @ Guru3D MSI Radeon HD 7770 @ PureOverclock Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 @ KitGuru Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 @ Pro-Clockers Sapphire Radeon HD 7770 @ Bjorn3D XFX Radeon HD 7750 [...]

  • Galaxy’s GTX 670 GC can compete with a stock GTX 680 - IT Lounge
    June 12, 2012
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Sapphire HD7950 Dual-X FleX Edition @ Kitguru [...]

  • AMD Radeon HD 7950 - Topic Ufficiale - Pagina 6
    August 20, 2012
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

1080 TV Gaming in the Living Room

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives