Sapphire Pure Fusion Mini 350 Review (featuring ThermalTake Element Q)

Review Score:
22 Flares 22 Flares ×

The Pure Fusion Mini 350 motherboard is an exciting new release from Sapphire. This range of products heralds a new age for AMD – one which calls for a very low power overhead while enabling the end user to enjoy high definition media content and accelerated video functionality.

When compared against the last generation Turion X64 X2 L510 at the same clock speed, the E350 APU is clearly superior. The higher clocked Atom D525 is also noticeably slower, even with hyperthreading enabled.

This system we built today was primarily focused around generating the lowest possible price point we could. We know that many people contemplating a Fusion build will be wanting a physically diminutive, quiet, low cost system to sit right next to their high definition television set.

KitGuru Sapphire Pure Fusion 350 System:
Sapphire Motherboard = estimated £85 inc vat.
250GB 2.5 inch hard drive = £30
Samsung 4GB DDR3 1066mhz SO-DIMM = £50
Thermaltake Element Q case = £50
Total System price = £215

So for just over £200 you could have a similar system connected to your high definition television at home. Obviously you could push the performance and capabilities further by adding other extras, such as a discrete graphics card, bluray optical drive and Solid State Drive for improved system response and boot up time.

The real strength of this system is when used as a media center. Our HQV image quality testing highlights that the HD6310 graphics are capable of outputing exceptionally high quality video. In a living room environment, by simply adding a remote, or a wireless/bluetooth keyboard it would serve well as a versatile ‘general use’ platform for the whole family. Power drain is also very low, so you won’t be painfully surprised with a high electricity bill next quarter if you leave this system on 24/7.

We also feel the Thermaltake Element Q is one of the better, more attractive, low cost chassis for a Fusion system build. The fact that it won’t add any noise to the final build is certainly the icing on the cake. The Element Q pairs up with the Sapphire Pure Fusion Mini 350 motherboard with both earning our ‘Worth Buying’ Award.

KitGuru says: We really like the new AMD fusion platform, it runs very cool, demands little power and serves perfectly as a low cost 1080p capable media center. The Sapphire board is well built and remained rock solid through all our testing. Highly recommended.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Sapphire Pure Fusion Mini 350 Review (featuring ThermalTake Element Q), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
22 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 6 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 16 22 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

14 Comments
  • Xavier
    February 12, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very nice, I think these will work well in low powered laptops. whenever they make an entrance here in the UK

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Unified Foreskin
    February 12, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well I would say this is a great board, but why on earth are they using SODIMMS? eh? say what?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dark STain
    February 12, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Quality Sapphire product, but my big question is,. do these systems feel as sluggish as ATOM systems? people who use them will know what I mean. everything you do takes about 2 seconds for the system to take action, even when you are only answering an email.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Timothy
    February 12, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good reading, I too am wondering why sapphire opted for SODIMMS on this board. its a bizarre choice.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Finklesticks
    February 12, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I think this is $110 bucks, for the board alone. I think it might end up nearer £100 when it hits the rip off UK shores. everything is going up in price with this fucking VAT garbage.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rupert Lyons
    February 12, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Why are none of the retailers stocking fusion boards in the UK yet? can anyone see them anywhere? OCUK dont even have a category for them at all. I thought the official release was january? anyone?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John
    February 12, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Ah the mysterious fusion, which is as yet, no where in the UK for sale. AMD really have tried hard to maximise their name and product range while intel was reeling with the sandybridge fiasco. yes, im being sarcastic.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian Cruchshans
    February 12, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The boards ARE TOO EXPENSIVE. AMD, get your finger out. no one will pay £90 for one of these. they need to drop to £60 inc vat! madness.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • ET
    February 12, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thanks for the review, Zardon. I’m happy to see more Fusion reviews appearing.

    @Brian Crucnsnans, huh? Why wouldn’t people pay £90 for a board that’s better specced than a higher cost Atom/Ion one? Not to mention that it’s a Sapphire product, so why are you pointing the finger at AMD? I’m sure someone will come out with a cheaper board without Bluetooth and other goodies, which might fit better into your price range.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    February 13, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I tend to agree with ET. The board is very well specified. USB 3, SATA 6Gbps, bluetooth, esata. You name it, the sapphire board has it. I am sure cheaper versions of these boards will be released with cut down specifications. Also very interesting to see the ram performance on this product isn’t any less than the higher rated MSI product.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fgur
    February 13, 2011
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Why wouldnt it be worth £90? seems a really good bit of kit with loads of connectivity. Im waiting on the new sony netbook to hit the UK.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • LankManc
    February 13, 2011
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Not sure about that case, but the board seems solid. I have a lot of DDR3 dimms here from older laptops. which would come in handy for a build like this.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • ET
    February 14, 2011
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    One BIOS screen I’d love to see is the GFX configuration.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Anthony
    February 19, 2011
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Stop complaining about cost. The ASRock is on sale on both sides of the Atlantic for $110 here and I’ve seen it for 95P/E here. If want a board that will be dirt cheap and still have HDMI, wait for the Jetway NC85. Still dual core, still HDMI 1.3 and everything else legacy ports, likely to be under $100US, and under 90E.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives