XFX HD6970 3-way CFx & HD6950 CFx review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

3DMark 11 is designed for testing DirectX 11 hardware running on Windows 7 and Windows Vista the benchmark includes six all new benchmark tests that make extensive use of all the new features in DirectX 11 including tessellation, compute shaders and multi-threading.

After running the tests 3DMark gives your system a score with larger numbers indicating better performance. Trusted by gamers worldwide to give accurate and unbiased results, 3DMark 11 is the best way to test DirectX 11 under game-like loads.

If you want to learn more about this benchmark, or to buy it yourself, head over to this page.

3dmark11 300x191 XFX HD6970 3 way CFx & HD6950 CFx review

3dmark114 XFX HD6970 3 way CFx & HD6950 CFx review

3DMark 11 is the newest, and greatest benchmark from Futuremark which uses all of the modern rendering techniques to ascertain performance levels, as such modern hardware scores much less than 3DMark Vantage with the powerhouse GTX580 scoring 6144 points in our overclocked Core i7 system. This is the fastest single chip graphics solution today.

The HD6970 and HD6950 in CrossfireX score significantly higher, at 9380 and 8580 points respectively. We didn’t include 3 way CFx testing with our HD6970 configuration as we experienced no gains – future drivers should rectify this.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
XFX HD6970 3-way CFx & HD6950 CFx review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

  • opensourceboy

    Wow this is incredible performance levels, price isnt bad either. cant believe the test 2 is delivering the same levels of performance as the XFX black edition 5970s in crossfire X. thats really interesting !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • sam

    I think these are good boards, even though a lot of people will be disappointed with the fact the 580 is still leading the single card attack

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • eric

    CFX x 3 is awesome . blown away by the frame rates its generating. Noise might not suit everyone though :p

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • luke

    The price is the biggest selling point. I dont think they are the performance killers we expected, but the 280 price for the 6970 means its actually only 30 more than the 5850 was at launch. thats quite a good figure for them to achieve. I think they are doing what they do against intel in the CPU sector. drop pricing as low as poss.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    Way to go, lol Crossfire in x3. thats a nice addition. XFX seem to love Kitguru. scaling is good in some of the games, but not so good in others. unigine at 133 fps caught my eye. mental

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • KoRn

    That was brilliant read. loads of testing and AMD have made a rockin card. the 6950 seems to be really well price positioned. cFx3 was fun, thanks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Seth

    Nice work Zardon, get some sleep, too much for one man :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • fluffychicken

    Shit on a stick. CF x 3 is awesome. ill be sitting here green with envy, knowing I was shovelling snow from my driveway while I knew you were playing games with that setup

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John

    I wasnt expecting 3 way CFx to work so sun out of the gate. that should really kick nvidai in the nuts. im all for that.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    Hey zardon if you are finished with the 40 cards you have can you send a few my way for a long term loaner? :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger

    Many people seem disappointed about the fact the 580 is still the performance king.

    What about the price? 420 quid for a graphics card? its 140 quid more than the 6970. no thanks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Long Flow

    The bundle needs to be better. We need to start getting converters for 3 screens. mini displayport? no monitor supports that as far as I know apart from apple. a big converter cable like powercolor offer would be much better than anything else ive seen. No more Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2′s please, everyone has this game, years ago. Seems odd that no partners are selling these with better 3 screen out of the box suppotr. cables, converters etc.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    @ Long Flow. I think you need to realise that about 0.5 percent of the potential audience have more than one screen, regardless of what AMD try to push. I agree in theory though, its hard to sell 3 screen cards if you need converters etc, as well as a displayport monitor. Sapphire should sell a flex gaming edition, that would sell bucketloads. Something more powerful than a 5770 !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roth

    over 100c in 3 way sli. They need to put the slots further apart in some motherboards for this. three cards in 3 way generate such heat and its pushed into the cards beside. Love the performance, but the noise and temps would put me off immediately. dual CFx though for certain. ill probably get two 6950′s in Cfx in the new year.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave

    These are really great cards. I dont care for a 430 quid board, 220 quid for the 6950 though? yes please !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin

    I think that most enthusiast gamers will stretch to £300 for a board, putting the 570 and 6970 in the top end for most people. id like to see the followup with 570 against 6970. the three monitor support is a selling point, ive already two screens, one more is only 130 quid. if I want this with 570 I need another card. nvidia are lagging here. but I prefer their drivers. no idea what to buy now :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Franks

    awesome work , those are mega cards. need to sell my dog to get some.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Best printer option for 2015?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives