XFX HD6970 Black Edition Review

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

KitGuru has reviewed many of the custom, overclocked cards from AMD’s partners in the last month, and today we are taking a look at the much awaited HD6970 Black Edition from XFX.

XFX have earned quite a reputation for creating some of the finest graphics cards for the enthusiast market, and in a similar fashion to Sapphire, we always look forward to testing their products.

The XFX HD6970 Black Edition is preoverclocked, running at 925mhz core (from 880mhz reference) and the GDDR5 memory is also increased to 1425mhz (5.7GBps effective) from 1375mhz (5.5Gbps effective) on the reference board.

Product AMD HD6970 XFX HD6970 Black Edition
Core Clock speed 880mhz 925 mhz
Primitive Rate
2 prim/clk
2 prim/clk
Shader Architecture
VLIW4
VLIW4
Stream Processors
24 SIMD/1536 ALU
24 SIMD/1536 ALU
Texture Units 96 96
ROPs/Z-Stencil 32/128 32/128
Frame Buffer 2GB GDDR5 2GB GDDR5
Memory Width/Speed 256 bit, 5.5 Gbps 256 bit, 5.7 Gbps
Power Connectors 8 pin & 6 pin 8 pin & 6 pin
Display Outputs 2xDVI + 2x mDP + HDMI 2xDVI + 2x mDP + HDMI
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
XFX HD6970 Black Edition Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 1 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

  • Sam

    Great results. runs a bit hot in furmark, but it tends to push hardware to limits no game will. shame they didnt opt for a dual slot cooler like they used on their 6800 series.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Arsenal 1 Tech 0

    We all know how good the HD6970 is, but why would they not do the full monty on this. If powercolor can do it, surely XFX can.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond

    those temps are too high. if I see 90c with any card I panic. I liked their dual cooler system on their other cards, really helped drop the temps. Can they update this card later with a new cooler ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Seth

    When I saw the card on page 2 I was stunned. its a reference cooler with an XFX sticker! I dont mind this on release day, but months later? what a letdown.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned

    Its worth paying extra for their warranty, as my card failed and they replaced it without a problem last year. I wouldnt pay for a reference AMD card without a new cooler as my mates 6970 runs higher than this after he flashed his bios.

    How much extra is it? £20?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fisshy

    That is no Black Edition Card. The only thing slightly above average were the memory speeds. Come on XFX! You can do better than that!

    It’s ironic isn’t it; XFX One of AMD’s leading partners got out classed By Powercolor. Seems Powercolor Grew some man junk overnight and XFX decided profit was more important than a good product.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • LankManc

    A rather disappointing release from XFX really. 95c in furmark is very high.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 0isjdm

    It is really going to struggle against some of the very cool competiting cards from people like powercolor and asus.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terrance

    I love the HD6970, but this card isn;t offering anything the reference design isnt. its easy to overclock to these speeds with all 6970s. so why pay for it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which SSD for your next PC Build?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives