Zotac GTX460 AMP! Edition Review

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

The tests were performed in a controlled air conditioned room with temperatures maintained at a constant 25c – a comfortable environment for the majority of people reading this. These results are taken with the system built a Silverstone Raven 02 Chassis.

Idle temperatures were measured after sitting at the desktop for 30 minutes. Load measurements were acquired by playing Crysis Warhead for 30 minutes and measuring the peak temperature. We also have included Furmark results, recording maximum temperatures throughout a 30 minute stress test.

The Zotac card runs cooler than the reference card at idle, but heats up more when under load. Obviously the large overclocks on the core and memory are causing this. We now apply our manual overclock achieved on the last page and rerun our stress tests.

Overclocking the card to over 900mhz resulted in temperatures rising by around 7 c both when gaming and when running Furmark. We didn’t notice any additional noise however, so it appears Zotac have configured the card to remain fairly quiet at all times, something we always like.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Zotac GTX460 AMP! Edition Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 1 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

31 Comments
  • Garry
    August 17, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    ah very nice indeed, seems like a good performance indeed.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    August 17, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Cant be bad to the pricing really, only $20 more than the reference 1GB version? like it

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger
    August 17, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seems like a good deal all round really considering – seems a bit hotter than most.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry
    August 17, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    GTX460 is hard to beat right now, cheaper than HD5850 and close in performance :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color
    August 17, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very good card, and the pricing is excellent, was expecting it to be at least 50 bucks more.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brook
    August 17, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I was pleasanty surprised to see the results. but the 460s are really good, I am sure they are selling tons of these now.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    August 17, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like the colours, which sounds gay, but the orange fan and blackish PCB look well together. Good board, but There are so many video card reviews on tech sites now, they are all much of a bleh to me :) the three screen sapphire one was cool last week.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tommy Cruicshanks
    August 17, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The 460 deserves to sell well, they are good cards. they are a little power happy now though I see – around 190 watts. thats a lot of juice.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Henry Ram
    August 17, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    these would be great in SLI.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    August 17, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    When are they available ? would be good to know release dates.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trevor Mang
    August 17, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I would say this will sell well, considering the pricing on it. thats a hell of an overclock.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lou
    August 17, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Has to be the fastest 460 on the market, without question.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roy
    August 17, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    wonder when the 450 is out, that should be good if they use similar technology.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam
    August 17, 2010
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good review. amazing what you can buy in 2010 compared to 2007, for the same money. I think I paid teh same for my crappy GTS250.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hard Not Floppy
    August 17, 2010
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Zardon, this must have been hard to write you are such an ati fanboy :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Luke Morris
    August 17, 2010
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Cant believe how small these cards are compared to the power they put out.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Muffler
    August 17, 2010
    #17
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well my comment seemed to vanish weirdly, but ill try again. (hate this code system for entering responses btw!).

    Good review, but my main worry is with ATI releasing a new line soon this will be quickly outdated.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • SkyDiver
    August 17, 2010
    #18
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good review, enjoyed it. one question. how hot does it get?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    August 17, 2010
    #19
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    SkyDiver there is a page on temperatures near the end, have a look properly and see :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sniper Elite Headshot
    August 17, 2010
    #20
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I think the MSI card you reviewed last week looks nicer. this is quite an ugly looking card.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garth
    August 17, 2010
    #21
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    We need new cards im bored of all these already ! ATi get the new series out !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Freyo
    August 17, 2010
    #22
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    We need new ATI boards. the GTX460 is a great card but its really quite boring, we need new tech :) 480/470/465/460 —- snore.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • QueenNight
    August 17, 2010
    #23
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seems to be a really solid performer especially with such high overclocks. I wonder why they offer lifetime warranty in USA but only years in europe ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Yankie
    August 17, 2010
    #24
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Just wanted to pop on and say nice site, found it today, bookmarked.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tomas
    August 17, 2010
    #25
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very good card from zotac, the fan looks very like the reference one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bob Wang
    August 17, 2010
    #26
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Here is the fastest GTX460 card out there:
    http://www.fudzilla.com/reviews/reviews/reviews/tgts-magic-makes-povs-gtx-460-the-fastest-gtx-u460-around

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Riyad
    August 17, 2010
    #27
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    if they got the card down to 200 inc vat it would dominate sales.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Toby
    August 17, 2010
    #28
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    the biggest issue i have with zotac is supply. they are always very poor in the regions around me. need to order them in internationally.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John
    August 17, 2010
    #29
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good photos, the card is very attractive looking, not often we see manufacturers making good looking cards. I like the sapphire hd5670 ultimate, something really impressive looking about it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brad
    August 17, 2010
    #30
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The last card I bought from zotac died and it took me 2 months to get it replaced. no thanks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank
    August 17, 2010
    #31
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    well balanced and quiet by design, seems like a good combination. temps look a bit high to me.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives