Zotac GTX460 AMP! Edition Review

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

The tests were performed in a controlled air conditioned room with temperatures maintained at a constant 25c – a comfortable environment for the majority of people reading this. These results are taken with the system built a Silverstone Raven 02 Chassis.

Idle temperatures were measured after sitting at the desktop for 30 minutes. Load measurements were acquired by playing Crysis Warhead for 30 minutes and measuring the peak temperature. We also have included Furmark results, recording maximum temperatures throughout a 30 minute stress test.

temps2 Zotac GTX460 AMP! Edition Review

The Zotac card runs cooler than the reference card at idle, but heats up more when under load. Obviously the large overclocks on the core and memory are causing this. We now apply our manual overclock achieved on the last page and rerun our stress tests.

temps oc3 Zotac GTX460 AMP! Edition Review

Overclocking the card to over 900mhz resulted in temperatures rising by around 7 c both when gaming and when running Furmark. We didn’t notice any additional noise however, so it appears Zotac have configured the card to remain fairly quiet at all times, something we always like.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Zotac GTX460 AMP! Edition Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 1 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

  • Garry

    ah very nice indeed, seems like a good performance indeed.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    Cant be bad to the pricing really, only $20 more than the reference 1GB version? like it

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger

    Seems like a good deal all round really considering – seems a bit hotter than most.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry

    GTX460 is hard to beat right now, cheaper than HD5850 and close in performance :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    Very good card, and the pricing is excellent, was expecting it to be at least 50 bucks more.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brook

    I was pleasanty surprised to see the results. but the 460s are really good, I am sure they are selling tons of these now.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    I like the colours, which sounds gay, but the orange fan and blackish PCB look well together. Good board, but There are so many video card reviews on tech sites now, they are all much of a bleh to me :) the three screen sapphire one was cool last week.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tommy Cruicshanks

    The 460 deserves to sell well, they are good cards. they are a little power happy now though I see – around 190 watts. thats a lot of juice.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Henry Ram

    these would be great in SLI.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan

    When are they available ? would be good to know release dates.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trevor Mang

    I would say this will sell well, considering the pricing on it. thats a hell of an overclock.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lou

    Has to be the fastest 460 on the market, without question.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roy

    wonder when the 450 is out, that should be good if they use similar technology.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam

    Good review. amazing what you can buy in 2010 compared to 2007, for the same money. I think I paid teh same for my crappy GTS250.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hard Not Floppy

    Zardon, this must have been hard to write you are such an ati fanboy :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Luke Morris

    Cant believe how small these cards are compared to the power they put out.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Muffler

    Well my comment seemed to vanish weirdly, but ill try again. (hate this code system for entering responses btw!).

    Good review, but my main worry is with ATI releasing a new line soon this will be quickly outdated.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • SkyDiver

    Good review, enjoyed it. one question. how hot does it get?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    SkyDiver there is a page on temperatures near the end, have a look properly and see :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sniper Elite Headshot

    I think the MSI card you reviewed last week looks nicer. this is quite an ugly looking card.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garth

    We need new cards im bored of all these already ! ATi get the new series out !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Freyo

    We need new ATI boards. the GTX460 is a great card but its really quite boring, we need new tech :) 480/470/465/460 —- snore.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • QueenNight

    Seems to be a really solid performer especially with such high overclocks. I wonder why they offer lifetime warranty in USA but only years in europe ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Yankie

    Just wanted to pop on and say nice site, found it today, bookmarked.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tomas

    Very good card from zotac, the fan looks very like the reference one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bob Wang

    Here is the fastest GTX460 card out there:
    http://www.fudzilla.com/reviews/reviews/reviews/tgts-magic-makes-povs-gtx-460-the-fastest-gtx-u460-around

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Riyad

    if they got the card down to 200 inc vat it would dominate sales.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Toby

    the biggest issue i have with zotac is supply. they are always very poor in the regions around me. need to order them in internationally.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John

    Good photos, the card is very attractive looking, not often we see manufacturers making good looking cards. I like the sapphire hd5670 ultimate, something really impressive looking about it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brad

    The last card I bought from zotac died and it took me 2 months to get it replaced. no thanks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank

    well balanced and quiet by design, seems like a good combination. temps look a bit high to me.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which Platform/CPU next for you?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives