Corsair Obsidian 650D Case Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

Corsair is a relatively new player in the case market as they’ve only been selling cases for about two years.  But every case they’ve produced to date has been very well received by enthusiasts and most have won a number of prestigious awards.  In fact, their Graphite 600T case won our sought after ‘Must Have’ award when we reviewed it last year.

Today we are going to look at the Corsair Obsidian 650D Mid-Tower case which is the smallest model in the Obsidian range.  It shares the same styling cues as the larger 700D and 800D cases but comes in at a much more affordable price point.  It doesn’t look like Corsair have compromised much on the feature set to achieve this lower price, though, so we are excited to look at the case in more detail.

Features

  • Dual 200mm fans provide outstanding cooling for even the hottest components
  • Easily accessible dust filters make maintenance simple and hassle-free
  • Quick-release side panels make it easier than ever to upgrade your hardware
  • Integrated fan controller lets you quickly adjust cooling performance and noise levels
  • Four tool-free optical drive bays and up to six SSD-ready hard drive trays provide plenty of expansion
  • CPU backplate cutout makes it easy to upgrade your CPU cooler
  • Brilliant cable routing system provides a way to keep your system neat and tidy
  • Adjustable drive cages can be removed and relocated to accommodate large video cards
  • Room for long power supplies gives you peace of mind for future upgrades
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Corsair Obsidian 650D Case Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

  • 0ptix

    awesome, stunning engineering. Who make their cases incidentally? I know they dont make anything really themselves, but use ‘sources’? would it be silverstone or lian li?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • terry

    Awesome ! very nice design. corsair rock

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned

    Lian li wont make for anyone else. but I am sure they have the assistance of a factory group in the far east. One thing ive noticed about corsair lately is they are actually more of a ‘marketing’ brand now. sourcing components from other groups and rebadging them with their name etc. they do it very well.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francis

    The internal design sets these apart. many manufacturers like bitfenix focus on the outward appearance and clutter them up, but the real basis of a great case is airflow and structuring, internally.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Yabbi

    love their cases, they spend a lot of time working on the internal side of them.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Forrest

    Yeah I like their cases too. they aren’t lian li expensive either. some of the lian li stuff costs as much as my computer ! just for the case

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    THey are good, but our local computer store has one and I can hear a very slight rattling from the fan. It might just be a bad fan, but it can be heard, I have sensitive ears.

    I tried putting pressure on the panel but it didnt cure it, so I assume its a bad fan, rather than a seating problem.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dan

    I’m pretty sure Thermaltake use the same motherboard tray in their Chaser MK-1 case, I don’t know if Thermaltake have their own manufacturing facilities or not, consequently I don’t know if Corsair use Thermaltake, or if they both use the same manufacturer for those cases.

    @Ned
    As for Lian Li not making cases for anyone else, don’t Lian Li make Cubitek’s XL Tank and HTPX Tank cases? I can’t remember where I read that, but my guess would be in TPU’s review of the XL Tank.

    Also, haven’t Corsair always just sold what other people/companies make?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brooke

    thermaltake? really. Shame they didnt make their own cases more like this if thats the case..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Your next PC, which memory?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives