Home / Tech News / Highlights / G.Skill TridentX 8GB 2400mhz Memory Review (Z77 platform)

G.Skill TridentX 8GB 2400mhz Memory Review (Z77 platform)

We aren’t using Liquid Nitrogen today as we don’t think anyone reading this review will be either. We are however using the Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H motherboard which we reviewed a few days ago.


The bios defaulted to 1333mhz, so we had to manually select Profile 1 as shown in the screenshot above. The system rebooted without an issue.

We double checked the timings in the DRAM Timing Selectable menu. 10-12-12-31 was highlighted, which is correct according to the XMP profile.

System validation at these speeds is available over here.

Above CPUz screenshots of the G.Skill TridentX memory running at 2400mhz. The SPD information shows a maximum rated speed of 1143mhz (2286mhz effective), at 10-13-13-33 timings, although G.Skill are clearly pushing it much higher than these specifications.

We tried to manually select a 2666mhz memory setting, but the system wouldn’t post, even when we loosened the timings to 12-12-12-40. We also tried to overclock the memory by increasing the BCLK. We had a little more success this way….

We managed to push the memory to 2520mhz at the same 10-12-12-31 timings. Any higher and we would run into stability problems. It was also possible to increase this to 2600mhz, but the timings had to relaxed to 12-12-12 which negated any performance improvements.

You can check system validation at 2520mhz with timings of 10-12-12-31, over here.

Check Also

Kolink Continuum KL-C1050PL 1050W Platinum Review

This is one of the most cost effective Platinum rated power supplies on the market. Is it any good though?

  • Peter

    G.Skill rock. bought two memory kits from them recently and I got my ripsjawz to 2133mhz from 1600mhz. amazing company

  • Brian

    Love the company too, however. 2,400mhz memory hasn’t got me yet. I think 1,600mhz is fine for almost everyone. apart from the mad overclockers or people making money from rendering/encoding.

  • Pingback: NEWS - Memorii - Page 16 - My Garage()

  • Pingback: 5/2/2012 Daily Hardware Reviews | latest techn()

  • Pingback: 5/2/2012 Daily Hardware Reviews | Collate()

  • Pingback: Daily Hardware Reviews for 5/3/12()

  • Pingback: [Sammelthread] G.Skill TridentX ( DDR3-2400 / 2600 / 2666 / 2800 ) - Seite 2()

  • Pingback: The News: Vacation Prep Edition | MEGATechNews()

  • Pingback: Who needs DDR4 with Kingston’s DDR3-2800 kit? - IT Lounge()

  • javier

    I have better results…
    https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/q71/s480x480/1459085_10202637288557288_1107667848_n.jpg