ASRock 990FX Extreme9 Motherboard Review

Review Score:
299 Flares 299 Flares ×

With its emergence as the new standard for high-speed portable devices, USB 3.0 performance on a modern motherboard needs to be good to ensure that data transferral bottlenecks aren’t created.

We tested USB 3.0 performance using an ADATA SP300 SSD connected to an Icy Box IB-223StU3 USB 3.0 enclosure. ATTO was the benchmark used.

The Etron EJ188H USB 3.0 controller used on the 990FX Extreme9 motherboard is able to offer very good performance, but can’t quite match that of the Intel Z77 chipset’s ports featured on the Asus P8Z77-V motherboard, at least not until ASRock’s XFast USB is activated.

Activating XFast USB’s Turbo Mode allows for a healthy speed boost to be achieved by the software’s USB protocol manipulations. This is a worthwhile feature that can set the ASRock 990FX Extreme9 apart from other boards without an equivalent implementation.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ASRock 990FX Extreme9 Motherboard Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
299 Flares Google+ 2 Twitter 11 Reddit 3 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 283 299 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

4 Comments
  • Rt23ds
    February 18, 2013
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great motherboard, they deserve to be recognised more in the enthusiast sector. I love my ASROCK Z77 board

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kim
    February 18, 2013
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice look board and excellent overclocks. I want to upgrade my AMD system this year, but have been waiting on the new products.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Indloon
    February 18, 2013
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It is a little expensive IMO for what you get, Intel boards start way under £100 today.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Horacio Perez
    February 18, 2013
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great board, sexy layout and well featured. BUT as overclocker i feel 1.5v core is just too much, even for AMD CPUs…. The marginal gains that you get from 600mhz for about 0.3 vcore increase is not worth it. For 5.0ghz, is ok, 1.5 vcore would be understable, but going upper than that is just too away from my comfort zone. I dont know if I can blame the board or a bad chip. Good review !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives