ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Professional Series Gen 3 Review

Review Score:
8 Flares 8 Flares ×

ASRock have been making a name for themselves in the last year, moving up through the ranks from ‘budget’ brand, to a serious player in the enthusiast marketplace. Today we are looking at their flagship Fatal1ty Z68 Professional Gen 3 motherboard and putting it through a variety of game and synthetic benchmark tests with an overclocked Core i7 2600k processor and CrossfireX graphics.

ASRock have been busy in recent months releasing a plethora of new motherboards targeted at both AMD and Intel users. The Fatal1ty Z68 Professional Gen 3 is the highest rated product in their Intel Sandybridge lineup.

We have covered the Z68 platform before so we won’t bore you with the fine details. Let’s just sum it up by saying that Z68 has happily replaced P67 without having to deal with the negative stigma of Cougar Point issues. With Lucidlogix Virtua software capabilities and Sandybridge onboard video support, they have made this a platform to handle anything you want to throw at it.

Specifications overview:

  • Premium Gold Caps (2.5 x longer life time), 100% Japan-made high-quality Conductive Polymer Capacitors
  • Digi PWM Design, Advanced V12 + 6 Power Phase Design
  • Supports Dual Channel DDR3 2133(OC)
  • Integrated PLX PEX8608 chip onboard to offer sufficient PCI-E lanes
  • 2 x PCI Express 3.0 x16 slots
  • Supports ATI™ Quad CrossFireX™, 3-Way CrossFireX™ and CrossFireX™
  • Supports NVIDIA® Quad SLI™ and SLI™
  • Dual PCIE GLAN with Teaming function
  • Dr. Debug, Smart Switch Design: Power/Reset/Clear CMOS Switch with LED
  • Supports Fatal1ty XFast USB, XFast LAN Technologies
  • Supports Graphical UEFI, Lucid Virtu, Intel® Smart Response Technology
  • Supports Fatal1ty F-Stream, On/Off Play Technology, APP Charger, SmartView
  • 7.1 CH HD Audio with Content Protection (Realtek ALC892 Audio Codec), THX TruStudio™
  • Free Bundle : 1 x 3.5mm Audio Cable, 1 x Front USB 3.0 Panel, CyberLink MediaEspresso 6.5 Trial, ASRock MAGIX Multimedia Suite
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Professional Series Gen 3 Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
8 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 5 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 3 8 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

9 Comments
  • Jon
    August 11, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    WOw that is a heck of a board. I think this will be on my list next month.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Forrest
    August 11, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Arent they a part of ASUS? I dont know why people wouldnt expect them to be great if they are.

    Nice looking product.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • uriel
    August 11, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    great boards from ASROCK. I bought their AMD board last month and its been flawless. good overclocking bios too.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stevie
    August 11, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Looks great, but fatal1ty in the bios as a picture? Id want to spend as little time in there as often.

    They should do a cameron diaz version :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nanjan
    August 11, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like these boards, I hope to buy one when I am paid, but I might go for asus as I had an asus board before and it was great. asrock are generally a bit better value.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gav
    August 11, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent im sold. Price isnt too bad considering

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Paul
    August 11, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like the layout, and the bios is great. Can you remove the fatality image in the bios? That would drive me nuts

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Assina
    August 11, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Asus dont make these boards. As far as i know they are seperate companies now

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • gambling player expectation
    July 25, 2013
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hey There. I discovered your blog using msn.

    This is an extremely neatly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives