ASRock X79 Extreme9 Motherboard Review

Review Score:
58 Flares 58 Flares ×

ASRock are using a fully featured UEFI bios on the Extreme9 motherboard which caused us a few issues with high speed 2,400mhz memory until we received the latest 1.92 beta bios which was only released in the last week. This cured stability and the post problems as can be seen above.

The advanced and H/W monitor panels offer a wide range of settings which are fairly self explanatory. Chassis fans and the SB fan can be adjusted to suit in the H/W monitor panel.

The boot menu offers the usual list of settings to adjust boot and hard drive priority.

The other panels offer generalised settings, such as reverting to a set of default options.

The earlier versions of the bios didn’t work with the 2,400mhz XMP profiles of our Corsair and GSkill memory, failing to post. When we updated to the newest version of the bios, all 2,400mhz we have at hand worked fine.

A selection of the overclocking settings are available in a separate panel and we had no problems getting the 3960X Extreme Edition to 4.8ghz when paired up with the Corsair H100 Liquid cooler. Voltage was set to 1.47 and CPU load line calibration set to level 1. We do prefer the bios of the Asus Rampage IV Extreme, but the ASrock implementation is intuitive and stable.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ASRock X79 Extreme9 Motherboard Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
58 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 11 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 46 58 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

11 Comments
  • Ron
    January 4, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    very nice indeed. costs a fortune, as expected however !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond Oliver
    January 4, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Beautiful looking mobo, they are getting good reviews lately. The whole X79 platform however is just so expensive. my 2500k is working a treat, so im waiting on the mainstream boards to come out soon for the next generation intel chips. should be really interesting.

    is it just me, or do we NEED amd to start competiting. Intel’s prices are just too high and they have sadly no reason to lower them.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Glynn McDermott
    January 4, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    A very impressive board, ive never opted for ASROCK in the past, but going on the strength of media reviews ive read recently they seem to be really improving their reputation.

    I always thought they were a budget brand from ASUS, but im not sure where I got that from.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • SolarFox
    January 5, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have GA mobo-s for last 10 years, but last one was Asrock Z68 + 2600K and i`m very happy. GA was too high priced for what they offer :( LACK of hdd ports on P67 distracted me immediately from buying GA.
    And Intel can hold high price i will not buy until price drop down a LOT. I`m not in hurry and probably 80% or more peoples also. They will reduce price when sell drop. They will not until there are a peoples who want 5% faster pc`s for 1000$ more.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe
    January 5, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    But who will pay 300+ for a MB they only stand behind for two years. Asus will sell you one that is good for 5.
    Joe

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • The News: Late Night Edition | MEGATechNews
    January 6, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Attached StorageTechReviewSource spends some time with the Canon Pixma MG6220KitGuru examines the ASRock X79 Extreme9 MotherboardTechwareLabs shares its thoughts on the Verbatim Store ‘n’ Go USB 3.0 Hard [...]

  • News for January 8th 2012
    January 8, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] ASRock X79 Extreme9 Motherboard Review [...]

  • News for January 8th 2012 | Review the Tech
    January 8, 2012
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] ASRock X79 Extreme9 Motherboard Review [...]

  • Cyras
    January 28, 2012
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Can you upload the L1.92 Bios please?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • [Topic Ufficiale] HARDWARE: News and Update - Page 146 - Il Forum ufficiale di Multiplayer.it, con discussioni, sondaggi e le ultime informazioni
    February 1, 2012
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Motherboard Review :: TweakTown USA Edition ASRock X79 Extreme9 X79 Motherboard Review – eTeknix ASRock X79 Extreme9 Motherboard Review | KitGuru Uploaded with ImageShack.us Uploaded with [...]

  • GeekOrbit
    May 16, 2012
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Lovely motherboard but the majority will never see it in person..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

1080 TV Gaming in the Living Room

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives