Asus Rampage III Extreme Motherboard review

Review Score:
0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Asus has been leading the way with motherboard design for many years now and the Rampage series has been the foundation of their flagship Intel range for the past three generations – always pushing creative touches and overclocking performance to new levels. Today KitGuru has the latest iteration in our labs for review – the aptly named Rampage III Extreme.

productoverview 239x300 Asus Rampage III Extreme Motherboard review

Model Asus ROG Rampage III Extreme
CPU Supports the Intel® Processors in the LGA1366 Package
Chipset Intel® X58/ICH10R
Memory 6 x DIMM, Triple Channel, up to 24G
DDR3 2200(O.C.)/2133(O.C.)/2000(O.C.)/1800(O.C)/1600/1333/1066 MHz
Expansion Slots 4 x PCIe2.0 x16 slot (x16; x16/x16; x16/x8/x8 and x8/x8/x8/x8)
1 x PCIe x4
1 x PCI 2.2
Multi-GPU NVIDIA 3-Way SLI™ / ATI CrossFireX™ Technology, ready for 4 single PCB graphic cards
Storage 7 x SATA 3.0 Gb/s ; 1 x eSATA 3.0 Gb/s; 2 x SATA 6.0 Gb/s ports
Bluetooth Bluetooth V2.0/V2.1+EDR accessories card

RC Bluetooth ON/OFF switch

LAN Intel® Gigabit LAN
Audio 8-channel High Definition Audio CODEC
Optical S/PDIF out ports at back I/O
IEEE1394a 2 x 1394a ports (1 port at rear; 1 port onboard)
USB 2 x USB 3.0/2.0 ports (at back panel)
9 x USB 2.0/1.1 ports (2 ports at midboard; 6 ports at back panel, 1 for ROG Connect)
Other I/O Ports 1*PS/2, 1*eSATA, 1*IEEE1394a, 1*Clr CMOS, 1* ROG Connect Switch
Fan connectors 8 x Fan connectors (1 x CPU / 1 x PWR / 3 x Chassis / 3 x Optional)
Software Kaspersky anti-virus (1-year full edition); 3DMark® Vantage Advanced Edition
Features Extreme Engine Digi+, USB BIOS Flashback, ROG Connect, ROG Extreme OC Kit, Extreme Tweaker, iROG, ProbeIt, ASUS Q-LED, Loadline Calibration, Q-Fan plus
Form Factor extended ATX Form Factor, 12”x 10.6” (30.5cm x 26.9cm)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)
Asus Rampage III Extreme Motherboard review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 3 ratings
0 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 0 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

  • faith

    As U2 once said… de-si-i-i-i-i-i-rre !

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Bob

    DEAR GOD, is that for real? look at the price, but I still WANT ONE !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Bob

    DEAR god is that for real? the price is insane but I STILL WANT ONE!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Bob

    actually, I think id need a new case as it wouldnt take it

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Luke

    Nah it would fit ok, its just a bit bigger than ATX, like 2cm max, should fit ok, just might be tight on the hard drives

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Eric

    ASUS sure as shit know how to make motherboards, no argument there

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Tom

    The price puts me off, but im sick getting crap motherboards and them failing in a few months, maybe if you buy this it would last forever.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Lewi

    The reviews on this site KICK ASS, cant believe this is just up!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Tenpounds

    Wicked review guys, love the product, been saving up for it for months now, almost there !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com JeremyClarksonsmother

    I want one, too much money asus !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Darthdickenberry

    on Ln2 our team got a 980X to 6.2ghz ! with this very board, love it ±

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Eric

    6.2ghz you are kidding me, any links?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Darthdickenberry

    No links but we are talking about it over on xtremesystems. The CPU might be dead though but it was worth it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com zelenska

    love the review, its on my to buy list, didnt know this was out yet. thanks.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Terrey

    Yeah its been out a while but this has made me want to buy it now, I just will get killed by my wife if I fork out the money. maybe I can hide it on the credit card?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Joseph

    Hey Zardon if you are bored with the mobo, fire it over, ill give you £200 for it !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Dorrstop

    Wow, very pretty board, thanks for the review, really good read, out of stock here. so people are buying them (unless they only made 5)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Darthdickenberry

    Yeah its dead for sure. 6.2ghz on the CPU though and the motherboard is still going. time to get another one !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Joe

    Hey Darth what voltage did you use on the CPU before it popped?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com Darthdickenberry

    was actually nearer 1.9, we just confirmed. it held up well, and give us insane bench results in superpi, a few seconds.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://wbobggggg@google.com joe

    1.9 volts, fuck me ! im not letting you near my hardware :p

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: Need instructions on how to recover data from my hard drive??? | Harddrive Data Recovery - Data Storage()

  • Pingback: FXStreme – Forex Trading Signals Cornering Extreme Pivot Points. | Launch Bonus Net()

  • Pingback: 5/12/2010 Daily Hardware Reviews « Hardware « Tech news combined!()

  • Pingback: | KitGuru()

  • Pingback: Sapphire HD5850 Toxic 1GB Video Card Review | KitGuru()

  • TWP-WOLF

    Asus Rampage III Extreme!!!

    I like it, I love it, I order it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • DAZZER

    up to 24 gb of ram at 1333mhz !
    and it takes i7 extreme
    just if i had the money

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Best printer option for 2015?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives