Powercolor Extreme Series 1000W Power Supply Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

The Powercolor Extreme Series 1000W is an impressive first foray into a new market and for those who love a sexy looking power supply, then we feel that you can’t really get a better looking unit than this right now. It is the ‘American Muscle Car’ of the PSU world.

They say beauty is only skin deep, however not in the case of the Powercolor Extreme Series 1000W which delivers efficiency above the required levels for 80 Plus Bronze Certification. It incorporates a very capable fan design, combining low noise levels with good airflow. It is only audible into the top 25% of its rated power output which can’t fail to impress.

The build quality is stellar with some of the highest quality cabling we have seen to date, everything is sleeved, and the main cable entering into the PSU is double sleeved with rubber for improved long term safety. The fact they have labelled each modular connector makes sure that even newbies don’t end up scratching their heads in confusion. Internally, Powercolor have used industrial grade 105c japanese capacitors which are sure to deliver stable, reliable power for many years.

 Powercolor Extreme Series 1000W Power Supply Review

Unfortunately right now, we don’t have any confirmed pricing information but we will keep you posted once it breaks. We would like to see this being released at around the £150-£170 inc vat price point to be truly competitive.

KitGuru says: A quality product from Powercolor and a good first indication that they can make this work … if they can maintain a similar high standard throughout their whole range.

UPDATE: 27th September: The first price to hit the net – $179.99 CAD

WORTH BUYING8 300x300 Powercolor Extreme Series 1000W Power Supply Review

ckyoyotechbanner27 Powercolor Extreme Series 1000W Power Supply Review

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Powercolor Extreme Series 1000W Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

  • Colin

    That is the nicest PSU ive seen to date. love the red fan, looks awesome.

    (good performer too obviously).

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    This is very surprising. I knew XFX were making PSU’s and Sapphire, but Powercolor? shock of the week for me. Good OEM design tho.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas

    Powercolor get a bad name for some reason and I dont know why, their GFX cards are really good too. nice review.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gerty

    Lovely design both inside and out, the heatsinks are very prominent internally to help with cooling I see. sounds like a small point but ive seen some companies use very few then the fan goes nuts trying to keep it all under control.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    Excellent, nice to see more good looking (and performing) PSUs hitting the market. cross loading was good.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Samuel

    good design, love the appearance.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K

    a lot of good high end psus on the market right now. if this hits 150 quid will be a good buy. the gold cert ones are 80 more.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Toby

    ive been waitin to see a review of this now for a few weeks. seems like they did well. I think powercolor are better than most people say.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Forest

    any ideas when this is released?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trev

    when is the release date in europe? no info anywhere. would be good if you told us in the review.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Apple ipads suck

    i like the effort they put into the appearance as well as the technical components inside.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jer Frunk

    Looks like it could be a big seller for powercolor. only real issue this company have right now is getting their name brand higher regarded than it is right now. not many people rate them compared to say sapphire. they will have to go head to head against corsair now in this market.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • dlb

    Why no pics of the label on the unit? It would have been nice to see the full specs of the individual rails: amps on each +12v rail for example…..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    20a for each 12v rail

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hakuren

    Hmm, I don’t know. While it may be a good product for a good price, at this power level (1000W) most of users expecting fully modular design (including 24 line and 4+4). Modular cables are usually more flexible (except Enermax) than default 24+4+4 coming from inside. Just a thought.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • GKolarov

    I have bought one of this a mounth ago and exactly 30 days after it broke down! I do not know what is the problem with this PSU, but from the reseller said that they do not know what is wrong with it and will give me back the money that i have spent to bye it. So i am totaly dissapointed from the Powercolor’s PSU :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Your next PC, which memory?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives