Seasonic X-Series 650W KM3 Power Supply Review

Review Score:
55 Flares 55 Flares ×

The Seasonic X-Series 650W KM3 is nicely finished with thick paint resistant against rough handling. As with the 850W KM3, the unit passed our screwdriver stress test – we run the head down the side of the chassis with a little force. It didn’t mark.

The unit measures 160mm x 150mm x 86 mm (LxWxH). It will fit into any mainstream ATX compliant chassis.

The large fan is hidden behind a black honeycomb grill. We will look at the fan in more detail when we crack open the chassis later in the review.

One side of the power supply is vented which helps enhance air flow. There is also a power switch and connector at the side. The Seasonic badge is seen underneath the power port/switch.

The KM3 modular panel has changed completely over the last revision. There is now a ‘hybrid’ fan switch which you can toggle on or off – the blue sticker alerts you to this initially and should be removed before using the supply. Seasonic have said this is the industries first ‘advanced three phased thermal control’.

The Hybrid Silent Fan Control provides three operational stages:  Fanless, Silent, and Cooling Mode. In addition, there is a switch provided to allow for manual selection between the Seasonic S2FC (fan control without Fanless Mode) and the S3FC (fan control including Fanless Mode).

Seasonic X-Series 650W Power Supply (KM3)
DC Output
+3.3V
+5V
+12V
-12V
+5Vsb
Max Output
25A
25A
54A
0.5A
3A
Total Power 125W 648W 6W 15W
650W

54A can be delivered to the +12V rail, which is plenty for two relatively high end graphics cards.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Seasonic X-Series 650W KM3 Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
55 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 52 55 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

7 Comments
  • Black Mamba
    February 22, 2013
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent, as we would expect by now !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • harris
    February 22, 2013
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    My only problem with Seasonic is the pricing, they may be great, but I can’t afford the products of theirs I want to buy, I have to get cheaper.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Alex
    February 22, 2013
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have their last 650W PSU and I am happy with it. I always thought ribbon cabling was worse than the fat sleeved cabling, but I was clearly wrong.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stevie
    February 22, 2013
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great company, always buy their products, and they last many many years, never had a seasonic fail. wise to see corsair and other companies using their designs.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ivan
    February 22, 2013
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Just ordered one as I needed a new 650w, my thermaltake 750w died and it was noisy too.

    THanks for review

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Darth Digglers
    February 22, 2013
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Bah! Newegg dont list these as KM2 or KM3, what a mess. they needed to change the name to R2 or something so retailers would list them properly. they are all falling under the X series name, which is a mess.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • djoCC22
    March 23, 2013
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    i 1 it!!! great product but not great price for me.. i need titanium cert…..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives