ADATA S511 240GB SSD Review (Sandforce 2281)

Review Score:
23 Flares 23 Flares ×

Solid State Drives are selling well in 2011, with a growing percentage of enthusiast users adopting one as a fast, primary boot drive. A few weeks ago we reviewed the OCZ Vertex 3 240GB drive, and today we will compare it against the ADATA S511 240GB, a hot new model set to offer the same stunning levels of performance, but at a slightly lower price point.

Performance levels are quoted at up to 525MB/s read and 500 MB/s write, which, like the Vertex 3 are staggeringly good. 4k random write performance is also rated at a very sexy 60,000 IOPS.

When compared to the last generation of drives, these are 90 percent faster on paper. As we said before, last year many had assumed that the SATA 6 Gbps interface had plenty of life left in it, but with these latest drives, the 600 MB/s limitations are already under question.

Product ADATA S511
Interface Sata III
Controller Sandforce 2281
Size 240GB
SSD Type Multi Level Cell
Trim Support Yes
Read speed (rated) 525MB/s
Write speed (rated) 500MB/s
MBTF 2 Million hours

The ADATA S511 we are reviewing today uses the SF-2281 controller which offers TCG OPAL security with 256bit AES encryption and an improved ECC engine (capable of correcting up to 55 bits per 512 byte sector).

All of the SandForce SF-2000 series controllers still utilise the patented DuraWrite technology, on the fly compression which reduces the size of the data written to the drive. When this is paired up with wear leveling and intelligent block management the drive will require fewer write cycles during regular use.

We have the first sample hot from the factory, so let us see how it performs.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ADATA S511 240GB SSD Review (Sandforce 2281), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
23 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 2 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 18 23 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

  • Opensourceboy

    Excellent, these guys seem to be on the ball.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank

    A 60gb version is coming? Count me in for a couple of those puppies

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • xavier

    This controller is the future of ssd in the next year or two. Amazing speeds…

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steven

    Price is good. How much will the 60gb version be?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Techfreak

    Based on pricing of 240gb. I would say 60gb will be around 110 to 120 pounds

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rothchild

    The 60GB appeals to me, ill probably get 4 for QUAD Raid 0 performance. Should only be around £500. much better than a single 240GB drive. Any chance of a test Zardon of this setup?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • k0rn

    ADATA seem to be bringing more cool stuff out lately. I dont often see them on stores I use however, which is concerning.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned

    What are the warranty terms on their SSDs? in UK, and also how do we return them if they fail. to their HQ or to the dealer we bought from? I got burned on Patriot before. moer info would help

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Yannis

    Im still not convinced to just jump in with ADATA, but they are on my radar now, they weren’t a few months ago. This drive looks really good, I also like their tweaks on this drive, it looks like they put a lot of effort into the tuning

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ben Harrington

    Very good drive, aggressive pricing too.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Manny

    The 240gb is very nice, but its a hell of a lot of money for a drive. 120gb is more sensible, but I can see them selling a ton of 60gb units.

    erm.. why aren’t OCZ selling anything smaller than 120gb? whats up with that?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Uriel

    very nice indeed, shame it cant be bought anywhere yet. 60GB might be a good boot option

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Peter T

    They certainly have the pricing right, never heard of the company however !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

How much would you pay for a gaming mouse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives