OCZ Vector 256GB SSD Review

Review Score:
71 Flares 71 Flares ×

It doesn’t matter how good any of the synthetic suites are, the real meat of the testing has to be under absolute real world conditions. This proves difficult as to record results we have to narrow down fluctuation. Therefore while we would say these are the most useful results to get from this review, there is always going to be a slight margin for error – its not absolutely scientific.

Firstly we installed a fresh copy of Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit Edition onto each of the drives and performed a clean update from Microsoft with all patches and security fixes. We then install a basic suite of software, such as Office, Firefox and Adobe Design, then we install AVG free antivirus. We used a digital watch for this startup and repeated the test five times for each drive – once we had these five results we averaged the results and took that for the final figure.

The drive scores 22 seconds in this test, which is as good as you are likely to get with a single 2.5 inch drive handling the duties.

Amazing results from this drive in our STALKER load test, beating the Vertex 4 1.4fw unit by a second. Difficult to notice the results in the ‘real world’, however as a parameter of measuring performance, there are clear improvements over the last generation.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
OCZ Vector 256GB SSD Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
71 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 68 71 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

7 Comments
  • Mannacua
    November 27, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is brilliant, IOPS is important for my work. ive ordered one for christmas.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank
    November 27, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Waiting on this for a while, great review. thanks Z

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Xtreme
    November 27, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    We need a SATA 4 connector now, for 900MB/s drives. almost at the limit…..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian
    November 28, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent drive, I hear they might be going under though, I hope this isn’t their swansong.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Warren
    November 28, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I wouldn’t buy this, OCZ wont be here in another year. No warranty support is not a good thing.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tom Howland
    November 28, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I’d rather buy a Samsung 830/840 or a Crucial M4 purely because they’re reliable. I know too many people who have had problems with OCZ solid state drives.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Andrew Freeman
    November 28, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    OCZ struggling? Ho hum…. just built a PC with an Agility 3 and a power supply of theirs. With the luck I’m having no doubt they’ll end up going under and both will die a day after. Fingers x’d then….. for both my PC and OCZ staying afloat. As for the person who asked if they will honour the warranties if they go under: it’s unlikely!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives