Plextor 128GB M5M mSATA SSD Review

Review Score:
123 Flares 123 Flares ×

The ATTO Disk Benchmark performance measurement tool is compatible with Microsoft Windows. Measure your storage systems performance with various transfer sizes and test lengths for reads and writes. Several options are available to customize your performance measurement including queue depth, overlapped I/O and even a comparison mode with the option to run continuously. Use ATTO Disk Benchmark to test any manufacturers RAID controllers, storage controllers, host adapters, hard drives and SSD drives and notice that ATTO products will consistently provide the highest level of performance to your storage.

Sequential performance in the ATTO Disk Benchmark is very strong, recording read figures around the 540MB/s-550MB/s mark. The write performance figures suffer a little when compared to other controllers such as the Sandforce 2281, scoring around 320 MB/s. Still strong however.

Some comparison results from other leading products available on the market today.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Plextor 128GB M5M mSATA SSD Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
123 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 22 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 100 123 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

6 Comments
  • Joe
    February 15, 2013
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Sadly my motherboard hasn’t got an mSATA slot as this would be awesome for a boot drive, and it wouldn’t really take up any physical space inside the case.

    Are all motherboards currently limited to SATA 3Gbps on their mSATA slots? probably still fast enough for a boot drive, but you would like to be sure you are getting the full 6Gbps.?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Andi
    February 15, 2013
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    good review, nice to see you doing the tests the right way, rather than plug into a mSATA enabled motherboard.

    I bought an mSATA drive and it is indeed limited to around 270-280MB.s in my gigabyte board. still works ok as a boot drive, but the design of many boards now is sharing the mSATA slot with a standard SATA port. its not a great idea for performance. hopefully the next generation of motherboards sort this out.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Topperfalkon
    February 15, 2013
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    great price on this one. last time I looked they were more than twice the price of a SATA drive.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rt23ds
    February 15, 2013
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    How can you tell if a laptop has one of these mSATA ports?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fat bloke with beard
    February 15, 2013
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Finally, a good review of this drive. I was contemplating it for a few weeks now but wanted more information and testing of the drive, rather than the limited mSATA port on most motherboards. I have a server board which offers the full speed on the mSATA port. I will be picking a few of these up. thanks for the review big HELP!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dennis
    February 15, 2013
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well this is good to see. I have a slot on my board and didn’t even notice it until I read this review. might pick one up

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives