Plextor 128GB M5M mSATA SSD Review

Review Score:
123 Flares 123 Flares ×

AS SSD is a great free tool designed just for benching Solid State Drives. It performs an array of sequential read and write tests, as well as random read and write tests with sequential access times over a portion of the drive. AS SSD includes a sub suite of benchmarks with various file pattern algorithms but this is difficult in trying to judge accurate performance figures.

AS SSD only deals with incompressible data and as such this benchmark can penalise scores from the popular Sandforce 2281 controller. As we can see however, the Marvell 88SS9187 controller in the Plextor 128GB M5M mSATA drive delivers fantastic, balanced results in the top 10% of drives.

Some other comparisons from leading manufacturer drives, which we have tested in recent months.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Plextor 128GB M5M mSATA SSD Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
123 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 22 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 100 123 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

6 Comments
  • Joe
    February 15, 2013
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Sadly my motherboard hasn’t got an mSATA slot as this would be awesome for a boot drive, and it wouldn’t really take up any physical space inside the case.

    Are all motherboards currently limited to SATA 3Gbps on their mSATA slots? probably still fast enough for a boot drive, but you would like to be sure you are getting the full 6Gbps.?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Andi
    February 15, 2013
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    good review, nice to see you doing the tests the right way, rather than plug into a mSATA enabled motherboard.

    I bought an mSATA drive and it is indeed limited to around 270-280MB.s in my gigabyte board. still works ok as a boot drive, but the design of many boards now is sharing the mSATA slot with a standard SATA port. its not a great idea for performance. hopefully the next generation of motherboards sort this out.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Topperfalkon
    February 15, 2013
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    great price on this one. last time I looked they were more than twice the price of a SATA drive.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rt23ds
    February 15, 2013
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    How can you tell if a laptop has one of these mSATA ports?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fat bloke with beard
    February 15, 2013
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Finally, a good review of this drive. I was contemplating it for a few weeks now but wanted more information and testing of the drive, rather than the limited mSATA port on most motherboards. I have a server board which offers the full speed on the mSATA port. I will be picking a few of these up. thanks for the review big HELP!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dennis
    February 15, 2013
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well this is good to see. I have a slot on my board and didn’t even notice it until I read this review. might pick one up

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

1080 TV Gaming in the Living Room

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives