Mesh Elite GTX 465 & GTX 480 systems review

Review Score:
0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Numbers vary, but we reckon at least 500,000 people build a PC in the UK each year. Once you’ve built your own, it’s unlikely that you’ll ever go back. But that’s a small fraction of the PCs that actually get sold. So what can you do if you need a fast, powerful system – at a sensible price – but don’t want to build it yourself?  KitGuru will investigate the pre-built market over the coming weeks. We’ll get to the Dell and HP rigs as well, but we wanted to start with a local company that’s been going for 23 years, MESH.

When we spoke with them, they had just completed R&D testing on the new nVidia GTX series, so they offered us 2 of these brand new rigs. With MESH, it seems that Elite means Intel-based and all of their systems come with a 12 month hardware warranty as standard.

The high-end version boots from an SSD and offers the GTX480 at £1,399 inc vat.

Just under the £999 mark, there is a similar system that boots from a SATA2 drive and uses the GTX465 for DX11 graphics. In all other aspects, the 2 systems are identical – right down to the 22” Iiyama HD monitor, Logitech Keyboard and Mouse. Let’s check the full spec sheet:-

Mesh Elite GTX 480 (GTX 465 system remove SSD drive)
1 Year Return to Base Hardware Warranty – inc 3 months free Collect and Return
1536 nVidia Geforce GTX 480 with CUDA Graphics accelerator
1TB Serial ATA 2 Hard Drive with 32MB Buffer
22″ Ilyama Full HD Monitor – Prolite E2208HDD (1080p – 1920×1080)
22x Dual Layer DVD Writer Super Format +R/-R/RW/RAM
4GB DDR3 1333mhz Memory
Samsung 64GB MLC SSD SATA Solid State Hard Drive
7.1 High Definition onboard sound card – for 8 Channel Cinema Sound
950W Power Supply
Akasa Freedom Tower Quiet Heat Pipe CPU Fan
Asus P7P55 LX Mainboard -Intel Core i5/i7 LGA 1156 ATX
Asus WL-138g V2 Internal IEEE802.11 b/g PCI adapter
BullGuard Internet Security Ver 9- 90 Day Trial
Cyberlink Video Editing Suite Utility Suite – 7 titles
Intel Core i5 750 Quad Core Processor (2.66ghz,8mb Cache) – LGA 1156
Logitech Cordless Keyboard and Cordless Optical Mouse – Black
Microsoft MDA Rebate
Windows 7 – Home Premium
MS Royalty Works 8.5 & 60 Day Trial
Network ready PCIe Gigabit LAN
Thermaltake Element ‘S’ Gaming Chassis
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Mesh Elite GTX 465 & GTX 480 systems review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
0 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 0 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

  • Trev

    Those 480GTXs need far too much cooling.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer

    prices seem competitive, but the CPU cooler and ram put me off. ill go check out the customisations.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • rob

    they need a hardcore case for 480, that thing is getting way too hot.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • fluffychicken

    465 is solid performer, id opt for the cheaper system and maybe add a reasonably priced SSD for the OS drive.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • tech head

    good review, noise seems a bit high with 480 and those temps scare me. 98c long term? thats an RMA waiting to happen. guess the warranty is a good option! would make more sense for Mesh to offer better cases for 480 to save their potential costs in 9 months time. I can see a lot of those failing.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • i love porn movies

    good review, the one thing that put me off the system is the use of really cheap ram without heatspreaders. I know the audience wont care, but Mesh really should.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry

    Nice enough system, I dont overclock and don’t care about state of the art cooling,. I like warranty cover from companies, so im not ashamed to say I buy them prebuilt. worth the hassle free gaming experience with long term peace of mind :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francois lebon

    ITs not a bad system and very competitive, which I think MESH aim for. nothing fancy, but solid workmanship and good warranty cover with good parts.

    Nice to see a zotac branded card in the system, I have always liked them.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dark Knight

    That CPU cooler is pretty good for a reference cooled system. Would like to see branded ram from OCZ or Corsair, or even Crucial with heatspreaders however. That really does add a feeling of “our audience wont care to open the case, lets put in cheap ass modules to make a few more quid on profit”.

    Just my views anyway, but its a generally positive looking system(s)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francois Lebon

    I would agree, of everything in the system, I would only be unhappy about the use of unbranded, low spec memory. Surely for a company like MEsh, spending £3 more in a build to use good ram would be better not only for the customer but them long term.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: 6/11/2010 Daily Hardware Reviews « Hardware « Tech news combined!

  • faith

    If this review has whet your appetite at all, then give the MESH team a shout and ask them what the price would be with 1600Mhz ram, an improved cooler and the fan-side-panel version of the Element S case

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Do you buy technology for the workplace?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives