Cryo Hydro Nemesis SE system review

Review Score:
0 Flares 0 Flares ×

At KitGuru we like to cover all the bases – in the last three weeks we have reviewed SSD drives, graphics cards, power supplies, coolers, headsets, drive bays, processors, motherboards, monitors and even the Apple iPad.

Today however we have something really special to show you. Imagine for a moment that you could afford the finest computer components known to man, then imagine you could get a company to take all the stress out of building and squeezing every last ounce of performance from it.

Enter Cryo Performance Computing – one of the UK’s most respected custom PC builders, and a company I have known for many years. They aren’t a faceless corporation mass producing systems from a variety of cloned Windows DVD’s, they custom tune every system especially for the customer. Speaking with any member of the team you are immediately aware that these guys really do know what they are talking about.

For the system on test today, I asked Cryo to send me one of their finest high end systems with money being a secondary factor. Sure, not many people reading this today will be able to afford the £3,500 Hydro Nemesis SE, but it should be a damn fine indication of their selection and building prowess, even if you are likely to aim lower in their range.

The Hydro Nemesis is based around the following components:

  • Intel Core i7 930 2.8GHz, Cryo Boost 4.3GHz+
  • Asus Rampage II Extreme motherboard
  • HIS HD5970 graphics
  • Corsair PC3-12800C8 low latency memory
  • Corsair 750W PSU
  • Custom High Flow Water cooling of CPU and GPU; using 2x 140mm HW Labs dual pass heat exchanger, 1x 120mm TFC dual pass heat exchanger, Laing DDC pump with integrated reservoir, Swiftech Apogee XT CPU block, Koolance HD5870 GPU blocks, nozzles and fittings, half inch tubing and anti-kink throughout
  • Samsung F3 1TB HD
  • Samsung S223 DVD-RW
  • Lian-Li PC-B25FW case
  • Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

and comes with the following service extras:

  • Two Year RTB warranty (upgradable to three years and/or collect & return)
  • Three Year Upgrade Assurance (Cryo buy back any upgrades over the period)
  • Cable Management and Braiding
  • OS and Build Configuration support (either by phone, email, onsite field engineer if appropriate)
  • Price £2,495

However the Special Edition version which we have for review today, contains the following changes

  • Intel Core i7 980 XE 3.33GHz Cryo Boost to 4.5GHz (slight variances between CPU’s)
  • Crossfire HIS ATI HD5870 cards
  • Corsair 850W PSU
  • AquaAero 4.00 USB system monitoring and management
  • Koolance Water Flow meter
  • Price £3,495

We would assume, right about now, that your eyes have widened …

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)
Cryo Hydro Nemesis SE system review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 3 ratings
0 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 0 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

53 Comments
  • harry
    June 7, 2010
    #1
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Fuck me.

    I am in work right now but ive skimmed half of the review. the performance is mind melting. its expensive, but hell at least its well made. *dell* cough

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • eric K
    June 7, 2010
    #2
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    i saw the price, and almost splurted out my coffee. After reading the results however, bloody hell. I think its almost worth the price. It would be if I was loaded mind you.

    My own system seems so woefully inadequate now, I almost punched it out of anger :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • death dealer
    June 7, 2010
    #3
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    we should have a poll. “Kitguru has undoubtadely high end readers, how many of them however could afford this Cryo system?”.

    What the bets, less than 5%? imagine this going up on tomshardware. its all 13 year old boys, no one would even understand it :p

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    June 7, 2010
    #4
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    absolutely beautiful, way out of my price league, but regardless. I want it :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    June 7, 2010
    #5
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    can we have a competition to win it ? please? Zardon, bribe Cryo.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bret
    June 7, 2010
    #6
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That lian li is quite a modest chassis, you would think they would have opted for the X2000, high end case ?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry
    June 7, 2010
    #7
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Yeah I agree, we need a Cyro competition. just to even see the crate :p

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank
    June 7, 2010
    #8
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I need to get a job running Apple, then I could afford this. You reckon Steve Jobs would like it? I bet he would, but he probably would go use it behind a locked door in his mansion. Frag some newbs in Left4Dead2.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • AMD4EVER
    June 7, 2010
    #9
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Wow, I don’t really know what to say. thats just insane.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fluffychicken
    June 7, 2010
    #10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    How much? dear lord, how much? I couldn’t even earn that in a year! Id like a job building pcs for them though ! how cool would that be, being able to tell your boss you are ‘stress testing’ the new system for the customer by playing games all day on it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • steve
    June 7, 2010
    #11
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    lol, 30 pages. I like to think id be a good reviewer but id kill myself half way through.

    Nice review Zardon, and that system is a lot of readies, but it seems like the bizz!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mick
    June 7, 2010
    #12
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Cryo? never heard of them, but im going to check them out. My last system I had cyberpower build me and it was utter crap. a stick of crap on a crapfest pole.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fred
    June 7, 2010
    #13
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its almost like Dell, but good in every way :p

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tom Blown
    June 7, 2010
    #14
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That read out device is good, where can you get them?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Horratio
    June 7, 2010
    #15
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    HD5870′s? whats the point, isnt one good enough for anything?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terrance Tribblet
    June 7, 2010
    #16
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    980x and HD5870′s. the stuff of legend. and dreams. wet ones. ernm. ill stop typing now

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank the Tank
    June 7, 2010
    #17
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I nearly went and bought this on my credit card, then splashed cold water over my face. I am still tempted. I cant build a system this good, and my last three have been cheap ass, rubbish. I suck :(

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Larry and Mo
    June 7, 2010
    #18
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    @ the guy looking for the LED readout device. You can get them almost anywhere in stores man, check your online dealer. aint too hard to pick up.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brank
    June 7, 2010
    #19
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I always wanted to build a water cooling system like this, but im too chicken to do it

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Slasher Dasher (GR)
    June 7, 2010
    #20
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Anyone here born into a rich family? if so, contact me and we can trade places. id sell my soul for this.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dax
    June 7, 2010
    #21
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    wow, more than the price of my last car. but if its your thing, cant see you getting much better than this. any other UK builders like CRYO?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer
    June 7, 2010
    #22
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    @ DAX – yeah there are Dell and HP. they make some great systems like this :)

    seriously though, I dont know, I tend to build all my own systems and its not something I look out for. This is better than I could build though, not too proud to say it

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dax
    June 7, 2010
    #23
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Falcon Northwest ever move to the UK?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    June 7, 2010
    #24
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    no, they are only in America, they get a good rep though. crap name, always reminds me of a bird santcuary.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dauth Maul
    June 7, 2010
    #25
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The lack of SSD is weird mind you, would have expected to see one as a boot drive

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    June 7, 2010
    #26
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Why no SSD? wtf.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jim oldtimer
    June 7, 2010
    #27
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    its optional extra for SSD, they do sell em, check out the linkages

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Drabit
    June 7, 2010
    #28
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    great showcase and I am sure the rest of their systems are nicely made too. its way out of my price league. I sold my last car for less than this.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trev Mang
    June 7, 2010
    #29
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seems a bit overpriced, going on the part costs, but I pose they offer support and repair, time etc.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ray
    June 7, 2010
    #30
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its only overpriced, if you dont have it :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • I love porn movies
    June 7, 2010
    #31
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Review long enough? lol, seriously. 30 pages. enjoyed the read though, think you covered everything I could want to know.

    Well apart from performance in solitaire. how many FPS ?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dark Knight
    June 7, 2010
    #32
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good to see Crysis was playable :p rofl

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trey Kool
    June 7, 2010
    #33
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    2560×1600 Crysis at enthusiast ! woo whooo. id buy that for a dollar. ermm I mean several thousand.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gareth Cringle
    June 7, 2010
    #34
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    power consumption is slightly high. wouldnt fancy seeing my electric bill next quarter!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tommy Fran
    June 7, 2010
    #35
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    While I cant afford this, that is an amazing build. I was over looking at their other systems, some nice looking builds. ill bookmark it and look ater when I get home.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Robert
    June 7, 2010
    #36
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    thats really a showcase of how to build a PC. even the routing is top notch. look at the PSU for instance. and the top area near the CPU.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rockstar lover
    June 7, 2010
    #37
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    While I cant afford a new PC now, these guys are building my next one, ive birthday money coming next month, so ill get something around 1200 :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Loeith
    June 7, 2010
    #38
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    im going to buy one of these in a few months, not the SE one, but the cheaper version, which is a grand less.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Far flung corners
    June 7, 2010
    #39
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review Mr Zardon, one of the best ive seen in a long time.

    As for the system, Id go for a bigger case for something like this, seems a little small. Why not use a bigger Lian Li? apart from that, very good. liked the photography too.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hairy beast
    June 7, 2010
    #40
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review, and mega system if a little expensive

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frenk Luminious Cheese Grater
    June 7, 2010
    #41
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    What a design. what a product. One of the fastest pcs ive seen by a long shot.

    Not really affordable, but that happens when you dont cut corners!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steve Vai
    June 7, 2010
    #42
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That tubing is wicked. my friend has a similar system which he built, ill have to show him this however

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dirk Diggler
    June 7, 2010
    #43
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    very well built system, but lack of SSD is quite surprising, surely for the money it could have made the cut :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francois LeBon
    June 7, 2010
    #44
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The watercooling selection is well educated. this equipment is well known to be very reliable and high performing. id like to see a 980x running at 5ghz however. not many can do that, would need phase possibly.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Daz
    June 7, 2010
    #45
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Impressive review for a killer system. nice to see a company with their thumb firmly out of their ass. for a change. Alienware take note !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 14th century
    June 7, 2010
    #46
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Do they deliver outside the UK or too expensive?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eddenberg Brun
    June 7, 2010
    #47
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    oui oui, I like, delicious build

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trevor Smith
    June 7, 2010
    #48
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I priced all the components, its around 3k, so 500 markup to cover support, time building etc. its not really that much.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bret Powers
    June 7, 2010
    #49
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    3k? i think not, seems more like 2.7k by my calculations.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dark mass
    June 7, 2010
    #50
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    my wallet is screaming at the thought of it, but hey, each to their own !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dilbert
    June 7, 2010
    #51
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    If I had a lot of spare cash I would buy it, I can never build systems as good as this, so why not. For the mean time, im using a toshiba laptop. sad, yep.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • southwind
    June 8, 2010
    #52
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I’m Drooling as I read these.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • rich
    November 1, 2011
    #53
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    i dont understand what all the hype is about. the liquid cooling side is undersized drastically, the cpu block is ok but theres better, the wire routing and cable managment looks pretty bad (custom sleeving woulda been nice) the pumps just ok. to me its a PC full of fluff to make people go wow that dont have a clue. u could build this system yourself and have a much cleaner look then what they came up with plus the performance would be better and much cheaper

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives