Dell Inspiron Zino HD 410 Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

The Dell Inspiron Zino HD will prove to be a fantastic choice for an enthusiast user who needs more grunt than the Atom powered ASRock ION3d can deliver. Dell’s choice of AMD graphics and central processing unit in this competitively priced chassis is inspired. The AMD P840 processor is significantly more powerful than the Atom, although it comes with one proviso – a significantly higher power requirement.

On a design level we feel that most bases are covered. There is strong wireless support, plenty of connectivity for both USB 2.0 and eSata with HDMI output to a television or monitor. We were slightly surprised that Dell omitted a DVI port, opting instead for VGA … but perhaps this was an intentional choice to allow a customer to use an older analog panel with the Zino HD. Additionally we would assume that a portion of the user base would prefer USB 3.0 connectivity instead of dual eSATA connectors.

Unfortunately, we are still not happy with the Dell default software installation. I never want to see McAfee or Roxio installed on any systems I receive and they need to start offering a bare bones ‘driver’ install configuration to attract a more discerning audience. There is sadly no way to remove all the bloatware when you order the system online.

Pricing is competitive with systems ranging from the entry level £399 X2 P340 with 3GB of ram to the range topping X4 P940 with 8GB of DDR3 at just over £800.

In closing, we can recommend the Inspiron Zino HD 410 as a viable, more powerful alternative to the wealth of small form factor Atom powered systems currently saturating the market. It is quiet, well built and stylishly designed.

KitGuru says: A capable, all round system with a tiny physical footprint.

WORTH BUYING1 300x300 Dell Inspiron Zino HD 410 Review

ckyoyotechbanner2 Dell Inspiron Zino HD 410 Review

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Dell Inspiron Zino HD 410 Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

  • Tim

    I was actually looking at these last week. great idea for people who dont want an ATOM.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank

    Very nice units, a little like the mac mini, but more colourful and more powerful.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond Smyth

    Surprised how nippy those little AMD processors are. very capable indeed, much better than ATOM

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Flo

    The lower end models are good value, but the higher quad core with bluray is expensive. over 800 quid would get me a mega gaming rig.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry

    Fl0 – you pay for the size reduction, remember that. this isn’t a gaming system, its a media system with a focus clearly on size and looks for people who want something sexy for display.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank

    Interesting looking little thing, seems to be everyone is making these kind of pcs lately. I can understand why, with familes having a computer in a main room,. some of the full size cases take up far too much room.

    Looks ideal for media, but I think I prefer the ASROCK ION 3d system as it is much cheaper and comes with bluray. if it handles 1080p thats all most people will need.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    This AMD processor is much better than the ATOM, but as the reviewer says, the cost is more power consumption. For media, I think the ASROCK is the better deal as its cheaper, £399 with bluray, smaller and takes up less power under load. can still handle bluray discs and 1080p streaming no problems.

    For a general purpose PC this Dell unit is better. I can see a lot of students liking it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry

    Zardon can I confirm – the top panel removes with a b utton press, but under it, you need a screw driver to get access to things like the drives?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger

    Funnily enough I was thinking the same. the button concept is great, but why have everything else under a screwed panel? whats the point of the button? just to change colors?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas

    I really dig this system, not sure id buy one though. surprised how good the AMD chip is compared to the ATOM. I know AMD dont have a low power processor like Intel right now, but it seems well worth the extra power drain for those performance gains. maybe on a laptop atom makes a bigger selling point ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rock Hard

    I want a review of an intel core i3/5/7 system :) in this size.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave

    No HDMI 1.4.
    No 3D capability
    Sony plans to have 40% of TVs next year to be 3D enabled

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which monitor next?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives