Dell Inspiron 620 MT Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

Many of us build our own computers, but for those without the necessary skills, time, or interest there are a plethora of pre-built systems on the market to suit all demands. Today we are looking at the Dell Inspiron 620 MT desktop system which, on paper seems ideal for a general all round workhorse or office system.

The Dell Inspiron 620 MT certainly won’t break the bank, with prices starting at £428.99. For the money you get an Intel Core i3 processor, 4GB of DDR3 memory, Nvidia discrete graphics and a DVD burner. Dell also bundle Windows 7 Home Premium, a keyboard and mouse with every purchase. Simply hook up to a monitor or TV and you are ready to start working.

As with some of Dell’s recent system builds, they allow for a small amount of user customisation, with coloured front panels available via the configuration tool. These add £10 to the final price, so it isn’t a huge outlay. Peacock Blue, Deep Purple, Formosa Red and Solid White are on offer.

colours Dell Inspiron 620 MT Review

Specifications of review system (1 year collect and return warranty):

Processor: Intel Core i3-2100 3.10ghz.
Chassis: Dell custom: Peacock Blue.
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit.
Software: DataSafe Online Backup 2GB (1 year license), Office 2010 Starter Edition, McAfee SecurityCenter (15 month subscription).
Memory: 4GB DDR3 (2×2048)
Optical: DVD +/- RW Drive (read/write CD & DVD)
Hard Drive: 1TB 7,200 rpm drive
Graphics: Nvidia GeForce GT 420 1GB GDDR3
Keyboard: Dell USB Entry Keyboard
Mouse: Dell MS111 USB Optical Mouse
Card Reader: Integrated 8-in-1 Media Card Reader

Total Cost: £438.99

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Dell Inspiron 620 MT Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

  • Troy

    Good timing, I was looking at one of these a few days ago for the missus.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francis

    Looks ideal for a family as review says. Inexpensive, and Core i3. Dont think many people would need one of these for gaming duties.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David

    Fair review. Core i3 seems great. I want to get a new laptop with a core i3 in it. ive an older core duo system and its starting to feel a bit long in the tooth

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Samuel Burns

    Looks like a family machine to me, not really for a gamer at all. SHame they didnt do a version with a bundled monitor. I think people might expect a screen on the config tool

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry

    THe plain black one looks best IMO. not into the colored gimmicky stuff.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Uriel

    I wish Dell would use better power supplies instead of their own poorly branded models. even an entry level thermaltake or something

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • procupine14

    These are nice little systems but people like me aren’t ever really impressed with pricing of something like this that I can build for the same price or at least slightly cheaper. I also wish that Dell would just add a couple of pounds to the tag and put a decent PSU and some memory heatspreaders on this thing. A lot of people that will be purchasing a system usually keep a computer quite a long time because it fits their very limited computing needs. Longevity seems like it should be at the forefront of design but perhaps that’s just my thought.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trefor

    Bought an Inspiron 620 MT less than 3 months ago. Had motherboard replaced twice (wouldn’t power up), hard drive replaced (return to depot) and video card (HDMI port not working following ‘repair’) All data gone and I now have to set up from scratch again. This has no WiFi as standard and no option to have it added! I am getting very frustrated with Dell after nearly 10 yrs of having used desktops and laptops.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David Norris

    I am looking to update my Inspiron 530, I only use it for emails and “Photoshop” work, would the 620 and St2220 monitor be a reasonable combination?
    Dave Norris

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    Seems like a good price now and for what you need, it would be fine. Just make sure you get a reasonable amount of memory installed, depending on how heavy your photoshop work is.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Your next PC, which memory?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives