Dell Inspiron 620 MT Review

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

Today we are using a mixture of synthetic and real world tests to analyse the performance of the Dell Inspiron 620 MT. We won’t be testing with a variety of high demand Direct X 11 games, because we already know that the Nvidia 420 GT just isn’t capable of delivering good frame rates at semi high resolution.

system validation 300x198 Dell Inspiron 620 MT Review

System validation is available here.

cpuz1 150x150 Dell Inspiron 620 MT Reviewcpuz2 150x150 Dell Inspiron 620 MT Reviewcpuz3 150x150 Dell Inspiron 620 MT Reviewcpuz4 150x150 Dell Inspiron 620 MT Review

cpuz5 150x150 Dell Inspiron 620 MT Reviewgpuz3 150x150 Dell Inspiron 620 MT Review

The screenshots above highlight the Intel Core i3 2100 processor which is a two core/four threaded design running at 3.1ghz – it has 3MB of Level 3 cache and is built on the 32nm engineering process. Dell have configured the DDR3 memory to run at 1333mhz with timings of 9-9-9-24 @ 1T. The Geforce GT 420 runs at 400mhz core and 800mhz and is built on the 40nm process. It has 16 ROPs, 48 unifed shaders and 1 GB of GDDR3 memory connected via a 128 bit memory interface.

specs1 300x200 Dell Inspiron 620 MT Review

We are always glad to see a company using a 64 bit version of Windows 7 – Home Premium in this case.

programs 300x212 Dell Inspiron 620 MT Review

Compared to some Dell installations we have seen in the past, this configuration is relatively clean. There are some programs such as McAfee and Bing Bar which we would de-install ourselves, but most of the software installed is useful for the target audience.

recoveey media Dell Inspiron 620 MT Review

Dell don’t supply an optical media backup with the Inspiron 620 MT, but when the system boots it does suggest that the system is backed up to blank discs. Dell include backup software as can be seen above.

Software:
3DMark Vantage
PCMark Vantage
PCMark 7
SiSoft Sandra 2011
Cinebench 11.5 64 bit
FRAPS Professional
CrystalDiskMark
HD Tach
ATTO Disk Benchmark
Cyberlink PowerDVD Ultra 11
Cyberlink MediaEspresso
Resident Evil 5
Dirt 3

Technical Monitoring and Test Equipment:
Lacie 730 Monitor (Image Quality testing)
Thermal Diodes
Raytek Laser Temp Gun 3i LSRC/MT4 Mini Temp
Extech digital sound level meter & SkyTronic DSL 2 Digital Sound Level Meter
Nikon D3X SLR with R1C1 Kit (4 flashes)
Olympus Pen Camera

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Dell Inspiron 620 MT Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 1 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

  • Troy

    Good timing, I was looking at one of these a few days ago for the missus.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francis

    Looks ideal for a family as review says. Inexpensive, and Core i3. Dont think many people would need one of these for gaming duties.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David

    Fair review. Core i3 seems great. I want to get a new laptop with a core i3 in it. ive an older core duo system and its starting to feel a bit long in the tooth

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Samuel Burns

    Looks like a family machine to me, not really for a gamer at all. SHame they didnt do a version with a bundled monitor. I think people might expect a screen on the config tool

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry

    THe plain black one looks best IMO. not into the colored gimmicky stuff.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Uriel

    I wish Dell would use better power supplies instead of their own poorly branded models. even an entry level thermaltake or something

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • procupine14

    These are nice little systems but people like me aren’t ever really impressed with pricing of something like this that I can build for the same price or at least slightly cheaper. I also wish that Dell would just add a couple of pounds to the tag and put a decent PSU and some memory heatspreaders on this thing. A lot of people that will be purchasing a system usually keep a computer quite a long time because it fits their very limited computing needs. Longevity seems like it should be at the forefront of design but perhaps that’s just my thought.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trefor

    Bought an Inspiron 620 MT less than 3 months ago. Had motherboard replaced twice (wouldn’t power up), hard drive replaced (return to depot) and video card (HDMI port not working following ‘repair’) All data gone and I now have to set up from scratch again. This has no WiFi as standard and no option to have it added! I am getting very frustrated with Dell after nearly 10 yrs of having used desktops and laptops.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David Norris

    I am looking to update my Inspiron 530, I only use it for emails and “Photoshop” work, would the 620 and St2220 monitor be a reasonable combination?
    Dave Norris

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    Seems like a good price now and for what you need, it would be fine. Just make sure you get a reasonable amount of memory installed, depending on how heavy your photoshop work is.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which SSD for your next PC Build?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives