Foxconn AMD Fusion NT-A3500 Nettop Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

We don’t often review many Foxconn related products but today we are looking at their new mini PC which is based around AMD’s successful Fusion platform. Foxconn are a massive manufacturing organisation who produce many goods for leading tech companies such as Apple.

Their NT-A3500 is based around an ultra slim form factor with Direct X 11 graphics support and 1080p high definition playback capabilities. Ideal for a media system in a bedroom? Read on to find out more.

Foxconn say that the A3500 is twice the speed of the previous NT-330i model it replaces and the current model also consumes 6 watts less power.

 Foxconn AMD Fusion NT A3500 Nettop Review

Stephen Ling The Managing Director for Foxconn, Western Europe said “Using the full capabilities of the AMD APU has allowed Foxconn to build a Nettop with twice the performance of its predecessor , reduce power consumption and keep it all within our extremely popular ultra-small form factor. The advances in technology are allowing people to benefit from using tiny computers in more and more applications.”

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Foxconn AMD Fusion NT-A3500 Nettop Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 1 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

  • Thomas

    Piano black is an instant turn off for me. I bought a PC chassis years ago with the same finish. in a day it looked about 3 years old and a total mess.

    I am still not sold on Fusion either, its better than Atom for sure, but what is the big deal?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned

    Whasts the big deal about fusion? the power consumption. It makes great sense in mobile sector and for 24/7 use.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Optix

    It looks great, and the low noise is a selling point, for me anyway as I hate fans whirring in a room.

    They should sell them preconfigured, people wont want to start fitting components, I know a lot of people who cant anyway.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frankie

    Well thought out, but I have an atom pc here and its a pain to use. I am positive fusion feels just as slow, even if its a bit faster.

    Core i3 for my next media center…….

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Uriel

    Yeah, it looks nice and all that, but man im not going to go for a low powered fusion desktop. laptop maybe, but I want a core i5 or i7 media center !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Seth

    Thats a really pretty littlemachine and very very small. ideal for a man who is married to a woman who nags when another case is brought into the house.

    I like the look of fusion, but im concerned about the performance. I had an atom laptop for a year and it drove me crazy. I cant see it being that big of a difference.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Earthworm Jim

    That piano black puts me off, is the white nice looking>? ive only found low res versions online

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francis

    Loads of USB ports on that, first one ive seen with so many, always a selling point for me.

    I dont fancy arsing about inside it, ill be watching for preconfigured ones

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • small factor

    I dont think most people here understand what small factor and low power means, 15 and 17 could never compete with this standerd, price, energy, size is unbeatable…

    this would be perfect for my car

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • mozzad

    I own this nettop and I like it a lot. I use it as desktop pc atm because my notebook crashed. The performance is quite good and in “normal” use ( office, surfing etc. ) everything feels fluid. Even multitasking works fine. The price-performance ratio is great and the form factor is just awesome. The configuration and installing of the RAM and hard disk is very easy, even if you don’t know much about computers.
    It plays 720p flawlessly. Can’t tell about 1080p atm, sry.
    I prefer it over atom. Atom + Ion2 is comparable if you look at benchmarks etc., but working with the fusion system feels smoother in daily use, dunno why. Everything seems to work a bit more fluidly.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • hramat

    In the spec they mention 1066MHz DDR3, you have tested it with 1333MHz DDR3. Would it be possible to use it with 1600MHz DDR3?

    What is the limitation of HDD? 500GB?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    Hi Hramat. I didnt have any 1600mhz DDR3 handy to test so im not sure if it will run natively at that speed or downclock to 1333mhz, ill try and find out.

    The controller should read the latest 1TB 2.5inch drives such as the Samsung Spinpoint MT2 1TB, but again, I didn’t have one handy at the time. I don’t see a problem with that size.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • hramat

    I will go with 1333MHz also. I was bit worried that it would be limited to 1066MHz.
    As HDD I will take SEAGATE Momentus XT, 500GB.

    I would like to use it with linux or XBMC. Just need to search for additional remote control

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • hramat

    I have set the NT-a3500 with
    ADATA Supreme Series SO-DIMM DDR3-1333, CL9 – 4 GB
    Seagate Momentus XT, SATA II, 7200RPM, 2,5 Zoll – 500 GB

    and all runs fine

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • luis

    @ hrmat…. im getting exact setup. Hows Linux running for you? if so, what distro? are you using XBMC with it? Sorry for all the questions, ive had bad luck with Ubuntu 10.04 and video drivers, config. Took a lot of time to get stuff working.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: Колко пари харчи един офис компютър? | Светослав Стефанов

  • henry

    i have overheating. idle temperatures are 60 degrees celsius.
    On Load , while playing youtube videos, the CPU reaches 85 degrees.
    I think the fan over the cpu is undersized.
    I have broken already an hard disk due the higher temperatures. I think the foxconn is not very reliable……..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

How much would you pay for a gaming mouse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives