Samsung Galaxy S III Indepth Review

Review Score:
0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Samsung has stolen the Android show in recent years with their Galaxy series and each iteration of its S line has taken the Korean brand ever closer to Apple-like levels of anticipation, excitement and sales figures. With the Galaxy S III, Samsung hopes to continue, and even exceed, their own expectations of their latest flagship device.

The Samsung Galaxy S III is the direct successor to the Galaxy S II, a phone that has sold over 20 million units to date, so from the start it has high goals to live up to. A look at the most basic of specification sheets will reveal that the Galaxy S III has a bigger and better display and a faster processor over its predecessor.

More importantly is perhaps the Galaxy’s main rival, the HTC One X, which we recently reviewed and will be mentioned periodically throughout this review.

Key specifications:

  • 4.8 inch Super AMOLED HD 1280×720 display
  • Protected with Corning Gorilla Glass 2
  • Samsung Exynos 4412 chipset
  • 1.4 GHz quad-core Cortex-A9 processor
  • ARM Mali400 MP4 CPU
  • 1 GB of RAM
  • 16, 32 or 64 GB of internal storage
  • MicroSD slot supporting 64 GB cards
  • 8 MP rear camera with 1080p video recording
  • 1.9 MP front facing webcam
  • Quad band HSPA+ (850/900/1900/2100)
  • WLAN 802.11 a/b/g/n
  • Bluetooth 4.0 LE
  • NFC, Wi-Fi Direct and S Beam
  • 2100 mAh, 7.98 Wh Li-ion battery
  • Weighs 133 grams
  • A mere 8.6mm thick
  • Full dimensions are 137 x 71 x 8.6 mm
  • Android 4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich with Samsung’s TouchWiz Nature UX
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Samsung Galaxy S III Indepth Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
0 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 0 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

10 Comments
  • Brian
    July 5, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It is a great phone, after reading this I feel I made a mistake by getting the HTC ONE X. I have problems with mine getting very warm in a pocket. I think mine have a fault … Have you experienced this blair?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Blair McClelland
    July 5, 2012
    #2
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Brian, what software version is your One X running? 1.26 and 1.28 ran fairly hot anyway but 1.29 and newer seems to have fixed that. I can’t say it ever got warm while it was in my pocket, are you sure there isn’t a game or something else running in the background?

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian
    July 5, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    ill check when i get home, I think its the newest, although I could be wrong.

    Im gutted reading this review however as this phone looks a lot better than the HTC one I have.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Warren UK
    July 5, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    excellent, looks much better than my iphone4, but I really love the Apple store which is why I dont move. shame Apple wouldnt let other manufactuers make a version for iOS. Always been their problem, keeping everything locked down.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Samsung Galaxy S III takes mobile phone battery life crown | KitGuru
    July 6, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] they were tested with average 3G reception. On average each phone lasted for 315 minutes and the Samsung Galaxy S III nearly doubled this with 726 mins, which is just over 12 hours of constant call time. Following the Samsung was the HTC [...]

  • gregzeng
    July 7, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    OP: “design doesn’t look that impressive” …. desktop design? On all Android operating systems (unlike Windows & others), the desktop design can be easily changed, freeware or token payments. If the hardware case, nearly all mass-selling smartphones have numerous third-party covers & cases, for fashion, protection or both.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • ricky0702
    July 9, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Many people have been anticipating the Samsung Galaxy S III for some time. There is some criticism about the design, but Samsung hit all the right notes for this smartphone in terms of power and hardware. The Samsung Galaxy S3′s battery life isn’t quite the best, but it is one of the better ones.
    http://www.careace.net/2012/05/25/samsung-galaxy-s-iii-battery-life-is-longest-of-any-competing-smartphone/

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • AffiliateTech Reviews for July 9, 2012 - The SSD Review
    July 9, 2012
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Samsung Galaxy S III Indepth Review @ Kitguru [...]

  • tabovilla
    July 9, 2012
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    awesome review mate! great phone!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 64 GB Samsung Galaxy S III has been cancelled? | KitGuru
    July 18, 2012
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] You can read our indepth Samsung Galaxy S III review here. [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives