Synology Diskstation DS3611xs Review

Review Score:
19 Flares 19 Flares ×

Today we are using a slightly different network configuration than we have done previously – this means that these results today are not comparable to our other NAS reviews. The reason for this is simple – the DS3611xs has an insane amount of bandwidth in the right network. We are basing our network around two linked Belkin 1Gbit switches with 4x Gbit LAN connections to the DS3611xs.

We are using three separate RAID 0 configurations across 6x1TB (3x2TB Raid 0) hard drives set into a 802.3ad dynamic link aggregation configuration. This enables multiple connections to be linked in parallel to increase the link speed beyond the limits of any one single cable or port and to increase the redundancy for higher availability.

graphics2 Synology Diskstation DS3611xs Review

Most implementations now conform to what used to be clause 43 of IEEE 802.3-2005 Ethernet standard, usually still referred to by its working group name of “IEEE 802.3ad”. The definition of link aggregation has since moved to a standalone IEEE 802.1AX standard.

We are opening 9 connections and copying 3 big files to each of the paired Raid 0 drive configurations. To try and mirror a business environment we set up three local machines with 120GB ADATA S511 SSD drives to ensure that no local drive limiting will be a problem. Each of these drives are transferring multiple files, back and forward.

file readin1 Synology Diskstation DS3611xs Review

We managed to achieve a simultaneous total of 507 MB/s, which is an incredible result. We know in this case that the DS3611xs has more potential on tap but our network and drive configuration is limiting the overall bandwidth. We are confident that Synology’s claims of 1000+ MB/sec are accurate, but we simply can’t utilise this hardware to its full potential.

file writing1 Synology Diskstation DS3611xs Review

We managed to achieve a total of 490MB/s when writing to the six paired drives, which is again a staggering network result.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Synology Diskstation DS3611xs Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
19 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 16 19 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

  • Nester

    Can I have your review sample for keepsies ? ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond Dian

    Funny really, my network, im lucky to get 12mbit to my NAS. this is 50 times faster and its still not even at the limit. I need to win the lotto.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Iain

    More expensive than my computer and monitor and desk combined.

    STunning bit of work from Synology, they are really cornering this market in the last year.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tennor

    My boss will be very interested in this, looks ideal for our business

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas

    I wish they would make a home version of this , an upgrade to the 1511, for a little more, with more bays, key locking system, and metal bays. their plastic mounts are very poor. QNAP can do it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    This might interest you http://www.kitguru.net/networking/nas/carl/synology-launch-the-ds2411-for-the-hardcore-enthusiast/

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian

    That is incredible, they have certainly not compromised with this unit. its a very good price considering its targeting some cisco systems

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David

    Nice to see them using more metal and less plastic. for this market though they wouldnt get away with it.

    Out of my price bracket but ive been looking at their other models. Something for everyone ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pascal

    Hi,
    There are some things I don’t see clearly on the pictures:
    1) can the CPU be changed (i.e. normal CPU with fan or soldered onboard?)
    2) how many memory sockets are available? what memory is installed (those initial 2GB?)
    Thanks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mark

    Cool stuff, the rack version of the xs series has some crazy performance

    http://blog.synology.com/blog/?p=13

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • iieeann

    Just some user experience after using QNAP and Synology.
    1) The front panel is plastic. The casing is steel. External Built quality is far inferrior than QNAP.
    2) Each HDD bracket is not labeled like QNAP. Be sure to label them yourself; or label on the HDD, for future maintenance. I label both.
    3) Boot time is quite fast, less than 2 min.
    4) Network cables in the box are type CAT5e, not CAT6. 2m length.
    5) Heavy and big, ouch… Quiet during operation. Fan speed is “Quiet” by default.

    No test result yet, building volume. Intel I305-T4 network card will only arrive next week.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

How much would you pay for a gaming mouse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives