Synology Diskstation DS3611xs Review

Review Score:
19 Flares 19 Flares ×

We take the issue of noise very seriously at KitGuru and this is why we have built a special home brew system as a reference point when we test noise levels of various components.

Why do this? Well this means we can eliminate secondary noise pollution in the test room and concentrate on components we are testing. It also brings us slightly closer to industry standards, such as DIN 45635.

As this can be a little confusing for people, here are various dBa ratings in with real world situations to help describe the various levels.

KitGuru noise guide
10dBA - Normal Breathing/Rustling Leaves
20-25dBA – Whisper
30dBA - High Quality Computer fan
40dBA - A Bubbling Brook, or a Refridgerator
50dBA - Normal Conversation
60dBA - Laughter
70dBA - Vacuum Cleaner or Hairdryer
80dBA - City Traffic or a Garbage Disposal
90dBA - Motorcycle or Lawnmower
100dBA - MP3 player at maximum output
110dBA - Orchestra
120dBA - Front row rock concert/Jet Engine
130dBA - Threshold of Pain
140dBA - Military Jet takeoff/Gunshot (close range)
160dBA - Instant Perforation of eardrum

Noise was measured from half a meter away with two 6TB drives installed.

The system is generally, just audible. when loaded with sustained activity across all drives, the fans spin up to compensate for rising temperatures, peaking at around 35 dBa, clearly audible, but perfectly acceptable within a business environment.

The power drain was around 78 watts when loaded, and this drops to around 47 watts when idle. Populating the unit with more drives will obviously raise the overall power demand.

Time to test the cooling system. Our room ambient temperatures are 23c which is a reasonable temperature for most people to work and relax within.

Thanks to the clever use of two high quality 120mm fans, the DS3611xs receives a constantly high air flow from front to back. Temperatures idle around the 28c/29c mark, rising to 33/34c under extended load.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Synology Diskstation DS3611xs Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
19 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 16 19 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

11 Comments
  • Nester
    June 28, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Can I have your review sample for keepsies ? ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond Dian
    June 28, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Funny really, my network, im lucky to get 12mbit to my NAS. this is 50 times faster and its still not even at the limit. I need to win the lotto.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Iain
    June 28, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    More expensive than my computer and monitor and desk combined.

    STunning bit of work from Synology, they are really cornering this market in the last year.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tennor
    June 28, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    My boss will be very interested in this, looks ideal for our business

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas
    June 28, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I wish they would make a home version of this , an upgrade to the 1511, for a little more, with more bays, key locking system, and metal bays. their plastic mounts are very poor. QNAP can do it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    June 28, 2011
    #6
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This might interest you http://www.kitguru.net/networking/nas/carl/synology-launch-the-ds2411-for-the-hardcore-enthusiast/

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian
    June 28, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That is incredible, they have certainly not compromised with this unit. its a very good price considering its targeting some cisco systems

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David
    June 28, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice to see them using more metal and less plastic. for this market though they wouldnt get away with it.

    Out of my price bracket but ive been looking at their other models. Something for everyone ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pascal
    June 29, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hi,
    There are some things I don’t see clearly on the pictures:
    1) can the CPU be changed (i.e. normal CPU with fan or soldered onboard?)
    2) how many memory sockets are available? what memory is installed (those initial 2GB?)
    Thanks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mark
    July 1, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Cool stuff, the rack version of the xs series has some crazy performance

    http://blog.synology.com/blog/?p=13

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • iieeann
    October 12, 2011
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Just some user experience after using QNAP and Synology.
    1) The front panel is plastic. The casing is steel. External Built quality is far inferrior than QNAP.
    2) Each HDD bracket is not labeled like QNAP. Be sure to label them yourself; or label on the HDD, for future maintenance. I label both.
    3) Boot time is quite fast, less than 2 min.
    4) Network cables in the box are type CAT5e, not CAT6. 2m length.
    5) Heavy and big, ouch… Quiet during operation. Fan speed is “Quiet” by default.

    No test result yet, building volume. Intel I305-T4 network card will only arrive next week.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives