Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

Review Score:
82 Flares 82 Flares ×

front panel 300x199 Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

The front panel is laid out in an easy to understand manner with buttons for the main menu system, movement up and down buttons and input/power buttons.

buttons1 Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

Furthermore, the VG248QE monitor features the ASUS-exclusive GamePlus hotkey with Aimpoint and Timer functions. Gamers can select four different Aimpoint types to suit their gaming environment for better aim in First Person Shooting (FPR) games; while the Timer keeps players aware of the elapsed time in Real-time Strategy (RTS) games. Its an interesting idea, but we never used it when gaming.

P1224292 300x199 Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor ReviewP1224295 300x199 Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

P1224296 300x199 Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor ReviewP1224298 300x199 Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

P1224301 300x199 Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

The color modes change the colour saturation to suit a variety of situations. The 6 preset video modes (Scenery, Theater, Game, Night View, sRGB and Standard) can be selected via a hotkey. As with the larger monitor the ‘game’ mode did add some vibrancy with a little reduction in accuracy. Scenery mode is a mode I don’t like with these screens as it boosts the saturation level past the point I would consider to be usable.

The Standard setting seems the most useful as you can configure brightness, contrast and colour settings. Some of these were locked out in other preset modes. I also liked the sRGB setting.

The onboard speakers are not the most capable, but perfectly usable in an office style environment when bass response and ultimate volume are not that important.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
82 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 11 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 70 82 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

  • John

    Im going to order this as a secondary monitor, just f or 3D gaming. good enough price.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tttt

    I like their pro art range, I bought one on the recommendation of Zardon last year and I absolutely love it. better than my older Dell.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe

    I still want the 27 inch 2560×1440 Dell which is still dropping in price – seen it for just over £500 before christmas. I think by the end of the year, they will be £420 ish.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Adrian
  • Viktor

    Hello.

    Perhaps i’ve missed it but did you even test the reponse time of the monitor? There are several tools out there that you can use. I think tthere’s a lot of people wanting to know if it really is 1ms(usually it’s not)

    This is like a newly father of two(twins) testing a sports car instead of a more family oriented car. The only real competitor to this is the Benq 2411T, comparing it to a non 120HZ monitor in 2D mode and “equaling” them just shows you don’t really care about gaming or the benefices of buying a 120+ HZ monitor and using it in 2D mode.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mez

    There aren’t that many gamers interested in 3D (stereoscopic) gaming, but they *are* interested in the 144Hz refresh rate and the almost-zero input lag that Asus is claiming.

    The Asus VN247H has neither of those critical gaming features, so is not a fair comparison.

    This new Asus VG248QE urgently needs a detailed comparison with the new BenQ XL2411T.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.squidoo.com/best-gaming-monitor-reviews jeremy2013

    FPS games require the right software for a better game quality. I really wanted to buy these kinds of monitor. I’m glad that i have found the best gaming monitor reviews on the web!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.blurbusters.com Mark Rejhon

    This monitor is much better than expected for 2D gaming if you force-enable LightBoost during 2D mode:

    http://www.blurbusters.com/zero-motion-blur/lightboost

    The LightBoost is a strobe backlight that is able to eliminate all visible motion blur during 2D gaming. Motion is as clear as on a CRT. In PixPerAn tests, this was determined:

    baseline – 60 Hz mode (16.7ms frame samples)
    50% less motion blur (2x clearer) – 120 Hz normal (8.33ms frame samples)
    60% less motion blur (2.4x clearer) – 144 Hz normal (6.94ms frame samples)
    85% less motion blur (7x clearer) – 120 Hz LightBoost at 100% (2.4ms strobes)
    92% less motion blur (12x clearer) – 120 Hz LightBoost at 10% (1.4ms strobes)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.squidoo.com/gaming-monitor nathan2013

    Good thing you have here is the diplayport which i really hope that its included. A lot of gaming monitor packages nowadays are very limited and expensive. Good one! Thanks!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • renjamolin

    Great choice for a gaming monitor. The 144hz speed is really awesome along with a high response rate. Looking forward to own and use a monitor like this one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hash

    You are obviously not a gamer Zardon :P
    I don’t care what your lab tells you, this is one of the fastest monitors for gaming out there and has a fairly low price. Maybe it does not have great colors but we gamers don’t care about that. We just care about the 1ms response time and the insanely fast 144mhz refresh rate :P which at the time it cant be matched by almost no monitor out there for single monitor gaming. Cheers

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

How much would you pay for a gaming mouse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives