Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

Review Score:
81 Flares 81 Flares ×

We tested the 2D elements of the ASUS VG248QE via a high end Core i7 Precision laptop featuring Quadro 4000M discrete graphics and a desktop system powered by a GTX670 graphics card. We then moved the ASUS VG278QE to a desktop powered GTX680 system for 3D testing results.

We measured Gamut out of the box in sRGB mode and the VG248QE returned a reading of 2.18 which is very good. After manually adjusting the gamma to 1.8, the panel returned a reading of 1.78.

Colour response across the panel was above average although not outstanding. We recorded a cast around 1.2% on the red channel. It measured 96.2% of the sRGB colour gamut after calibration which is quite strong. The image can be tweaked easily enough via the onscreen menu systems. Contrast levels are very impressive and unlike some other 3D screens we have tested in the last year there is detail evident in both shadow and highlight areas of the image.

Viewing angles are average, and a little less impressive than the VG278HE. This is an issue with most TN panels. We measured 167 degrees horizontally and 160 degrees vertically.

black2 Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

Black Definition is just above what we would class as average. There is shift close to all the corners, especially bottom left and right. This is noticeable to the naked eye if you are an observant user. The outer edges recorded up to 20% shift with it dropping to around 10% in the middle. I could see the shift with bluray discs such as SunShine and Alien V Predator.

The pooling is not that noticeable in general circumstances, but viewing high definition media with a lot of dark, night scenes will exacerbate the issue.

white1 Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

White purity delivered a below average result with a 10-15 percent shift across all of the panel. Several of the areas are slightly darker than we would like to see. This is not that detrimental when gaming, or viewing some high definition content. We could notice it with several discs, such as Pixar’s ‘UP’, which features a lot of bright outdoor scenes. There was also a distracting dark pooling in the middle of the screen, offset to the right. Overall I was disappointed with the ‘dirty screen effect’.

We tested a variety of games this week with the screen and 3D performance really is excellent. Games appear very smooth and by locking the vsync we could see no noticeable tearing. Sadly I could see no difference between 120hz and 144hz with any game that I tested, a similar experience to the larger VG278HE. That said, we have no complaints with this screen when it comes to 3D gaming.

2D gaming was less impressive and there are better screens around the £300 mark if this is a priority, especially if you have no interest in 3D gaming.

power consumption3 Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review

Power consumption of the Asus VG248QE is very good, demanding only 41 watts when calibrated.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Asus VG248QE 144hz Gaming Monitor Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
81 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 11 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 70 81 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

  • John

    Im going to order this as a secondary monitor, just f or 3D gaming. good enough price.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tttt

    I like their pro art range, I bought one on the recommendation of Zardon last year and I absolutely love it. better than my older Dell.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe

    I still want the 27 inch 2560×1440 Dell which is still dropping in price – seen it for just over £500 before christmas. I think by the end of the year, they will be £420 ish.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Adrian
  • Viktor

    Hello.

    Perhaps i’ve missed it but did you even test the reponse time of the monitor? There are several tools out there that you can use. I think tthere’s a lot of people wanting to know if it really is 1ms(usually it’s not)

    This is like a newly father of two(twins) testing a sports car instead of a more family oriented car. The only real competitor to this is the Benq 2411T, comparing it to a non 120HZ monitor in 2D mode and “equaling” them just shows you don’t really care about gaming or the benefices of buying a 120+ HZ monitor and using it in 2D mode.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mez

    There aren’t that many gamers interested in 3D (stereoscopic) gaming, but they *are* interested in the 144Hz refresh rate and the almost-zero input lag that Asus is claiming.

    The Asus VN247H has neither of those critical gaming features, so is not a fair comparison.

    This new Asus VG248QE urgently needs a detailed comparison with the new BenQ XL2411T.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.squidoo.com/best-gaming-monitor-reviews jeremy2013

    FPS games require the right software for a better game quality. I really wanted to buy these kinds of monitor. I’m glad that i have found the best gaming monitor reviews on the web!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.blurbusters.com Mark Rejhon

    This monitor is much better than expected for 2D gaming if you force-enable LightBoost during 2D mode:

    http://www.blurbusters.com/zero-motion-blur/lightboost

    The LightBoost is a strobe backlight that is able to eliminate all visible motion blur during 2D gaming. Motion is as clear as on a CRT. In PixPerAn tests, this was determined:

    baseline – 60 Hz mode (16.7ms frame samples)
    50% less motion blur (2x clearer) – 120 Hz normal (8.33ms frame samples)
    60% less motion blur (2.4x clearer) – 144 Hz normal (6.94ms frame samples)
    85% less motion blur (7x clearer) – 120 Hz LightBoost at 100% (2.4ms strobes)
    92% less motion blur (12x clearer) – 120 Hz LightBoost at 10% (1.4ms strobes)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.squidoo.com/gaming-monitor nathan2013

    Good thing you have here is the diplayport which i really hope that its included. A lot of gaming monitor packages nowadays are very limited and expensive. Good one! Thanks!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • renjamolin

    Great choice for a gaming monitor. The 144hz speed is really awesome along with a high response rate. Looking forward to own and use a monitor like this one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hash

    You are obviously not a gamer Zardon :P
    I don’t care what your lab tells you, this is one of the fastest monitors for gaming out there and has a fairly low price. Maybe it does not have great colors but we gamers don’t care about that. We just care about the 1ms response time and the insanely fast 144mhz refresh rate :P which at the time it cant be matched by almost no monitor out there for single monitor gaming. Cheers

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

How much would you pay for a gaming mouse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives