Iiyama ProLite B2712HDS 27 inch Monitor Review

Review Score:
5 Flares 5 Flares ×

It has been a good year to invest in a new 23-24 inch screen, the technology is improving all the time while the price points are becoming almost irresistible. The 1080p market is booming and many high quality LED 24 inch screens can now be bought for less than £250 inc vat.

What if you wanted something a little bigger than 24 inch? If your pockets are extremely deep then you could opt for a Dell Ultrasharp U3011, but be prepared to fork out £1230 inc vat for the pleasure. Dell also have the Ultrasharp U2711 with 2560×1440 Resolution, but again it costs over £800 inc vat right now in the UK.

For those with more a more modest bank balance, some manufacturers are currently offering 26-27 inch screens for under £350. Today we are looking at the Iiyama Pro Lite B2712HDS a 27 inch Active Matrix Widescreen with a solid specification. It offers 50,000:1 contrast ratio, 400 cd/m2 brightness with a 2ms response time and even has speakers onboard.

Viewable size 27 in
Native resolution 1,920×1,080
Contrast ratio 1,000:1 (50,000:1 dynamic)
Brightness 400cd/m²
Horizontal viewing angle 170°
Vertical viewing angle 160°
Response time 2ms
Response time type grey-to-grey
Screen depth 55mm
Base (WxD) 400x260mm
Screen elevation 65-155mmmm
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Iiyama ProLite B2712HDS 27 inch Monitor Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
5 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 1 Email -- Facebook 1 5 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4

  • Tim

    I was looking at this last week. the U2711 would be perfect, but the price is out of my bracket, especially as I have just had a kid. Well not me, the missus, but you get the point.

    It is a toss up between this and the Hanns.G HZ281HPB 27.5″ – still undecided, but thanks for the review. im not that picky so the minor issues mentioned in this review wouldnt bother me. I just am not sure if I need 1200p or not :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jon

    Good screen, our local pc store has these, but they cost £330 inc vat. no wonder stores cant compete anymore with online sales.

    This would be a must buy for me if it was 1920×1200. I dont mind 1080p screens, but i would use this more for pc than movies, so the 16:10 would sell me.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    Good review and I like illyama panels. I think the next screen I buy will be IPS or high quality, rather than another TN. price is the killer though, they are so tempting for under 300 quid.

    Also Jon, yoyotech is a store, so your store is clearly ripping people off ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • FlApJaCk

    amazing how much technology advances over the years. a 27 inch 1080p screen for under 300 quid, 2ms, TFT, sound onboard.

    Might be my next purchase, unless something better appears between now and Feb.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam

    Shame its not 1920×1200. 1080p seems the ideal res now for everyone, prolly cause they watch movies too on their screens. 1200 seems more useful though for a screen this size. surely wouldnt have added much to the cost.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harry

    Love your reviews man. looks like a great value for money product.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dexter

    I have this monitor, it’s really great for gaming on PC and X360/PS3 (i’ve got x360 but I also tested PS3 on it). I’d like to add some info:
    - you can hold “Auto” button for few seconds and it will display menu where you can change display source (or you can go through menu)
    - if you connect your PC through HDMI and your graphic card supports audio through hdmi then you will have sound on monitor speakers
    - it has some very rare option, you can force image to display according to aspect ratio, so when you play a game which doesn’t support widescreen (eg 1600×1200) the image will not be stretched, but displayed with black bars on both sides (it was very important for me cuz i have older PC with Win98 connectet through VGA to play many old games

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • EVOXSNES

    interesting, especially as i’ve seen the Samsung P2770FH 27″ with the 1ms display at around $470 AUD / 290 GBP. Through online stores of course.

    The sammy was featured here – http://www.kitguru.net/peripherals/monitors/jules/samsung-release-1ms-monitor-with-wider-gamut-range/

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which SSD for your next PC Build?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives