Kingston DataTraveler HyperX 3.0 64 GB review

Review Score:
18 Flares 18 Flares ×

No other industry moves as fast as the technology sector. While a few years ago we had to make do with sluggish flash drives, in 2011 there are a myriad of lightning quick USB 3.0 options available. A few weeks ago we tested at a very fast model from ADATA – the Nobility N005 Pro 64GB. Today we are looking at the latest model from Kingston, the DataTraveler HyperX 64 GB which is said to deliver class leading read and write speeds.

Kingston have a reputation for producing some of the finest quality memory on the market and the drive we are looking at today is aimed at the discerning enthusiast audience with a high level of disposable budget.

It can be bought in 64GB, 128GB and 256GB capacities indicating this won’t be aimed towards the ‘average’ mainstreet consumer. We are looking at the smallest drive in this family, which should be large enough to handle any task.

Kingston rate the drives as capable of 225 MB/s read / 135 MB/s write speeds via an eight channel architecture. As with all USB 3.0 drives it is fully backwards compatible with USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 standards. At a price of £132 inc vat in the United Kingdom it certainly won’t make for an impulse purchase, but today we will find out if it meets the demands for maximum performance applications.

Specifications:

  • Capacities*: 64GB, 128GB, 256GB
  • Speed**:
    • USB 3.0: up to 225MB/s read and 135MB/s write
    • USB 2.0: up to 30 MB/s read/write
  • 8-Channel Architecture
  • Backwards Compatible: with USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 ports
  • Solid/rugged design: durable metal and rubberized casing provides increased protection
  • ReadyBoostÔ Support
  • Dimensions: 2.952″ x 0.916″ x 0.626″ (74.99mm x 23.29mm x 15.9mm)
  • Operating Temperature: 32°F to 140°F (0°C to 60°C)
  • Storage Temperature: -4°F to 185°F (-20°C to 85°C)
  • Simple: just plug into any USB port
  • Practical: durable casing with a solid lanyard loop
  • Warranty: 5 Years
  • DTHX30/64GB, DTHX30/128GB, DTHX30/256GB
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Kingston DataTraveler HyperX 3.0 64 GB review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
18 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 9 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 9 18 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

11 Comments
  • Horacio
    November 24, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Those are some crazy speeds for a flash drive !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Xavier
    November 24, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    HyperX is a good name for it, massively costly to buy though. £130? Can buy an SSD for that now. (not the same thing I know, just saying)./

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Davy
    November 24, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    lol, I have an old USB 1.1 drive and it does me fine for backups of small data files. Very nice drive, might consider a new one, but not one of these, out of my price range by a long shot

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Optron
    November 24, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Any chance you could add a database style test to the suite you use? would really be useful for me.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • roy
    November 24, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I bought my computer off ebay a few years ago and its not super old or anything it just can kind a bare if you know what i mean. now when i plug in my kingston flash drive or my ipod or my printer or web cam they all work just fine. the only problem seems to be a little bubble that pops up telling me that the device can run faster and asks. if it should look for a faster port I like whatever and let it but it doesn’t find one. now ive had no real problems with it. Thanks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • roy
    November 24, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I was eyeing has a 2.0 usb drive so i want to know given the info i provided will it work on my computer or if it can’t how can i make it work. thanks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • roy
    November 24, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I was eyeing has a 2.0 usb drive so i want to kno given the info i provided will it work on my computer or if it cant how can i make it work. thanks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Friday News, November 25th 2011
    November 25, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Corsair Vengeance 1100 @ KitGuru Cooler Master Storm Trooper Computer Case Review @ APH Networks CM Storm Trooper Full Tower Chassis Review @ eTeknix Cooler Master Stormtrooper chassis @ KitGuru Roccat Isku Gaming Keyboard reviewed @ Metku Antec P180 Mini @ Rbmods Eminent EM7280 hdMEDIA RT @ techPowerUp Kingston DataTraveler HyperX 3.0 64 GB @ KitGuru [...]

  • News for Friday November 25th 2011
    November 25, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Kingston DataTraveler HyperX 3.0 64 GB review [...]

  • Thursday’s News Post 11-24-11 | Unbiased Computer Hardware Reviews - ThinkComputers.org
    November 26, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Review @ rwlabs Roccat Isku Gaming Keyboard reviewed @ Metku.net Asus P9X79 PRO @ LanOC Reviews Kingston DataTraveler HyperX 3.0 64 GB review @ kitguru OCZ ZT Series 550W Power Supply Review @ Vortez WD Caviar Black 2TB Review @ t-break New [...]

  • [Vând] Kingston Data Traveler HyperX 128GB USB3.0
    December 4, 2011
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] – TR Pentru cine nu stie, este cel mai rapid stick USB. Gasiti niste review-uri pe aici: Kingston DataTraveler HyperX 3.0 64 GB review | KitGuru Kingston Data Traveler HyperX 3.0 de 128 GB – review – Gadget.ro – Hi-Tech Lifestyle Mobil – [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

1080 TV Gaming in the Living Room

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives