Home / Tech News / Featured Tech Reviews / Palit RTX 2070 Super JS Review

Palit RTX 2070 Super JS Review

Rating: 8.0.

Rumours are continuing to swirl about Nvidia’s plans for its next generation of GPUs, but for now Turing and the RTX 20-series remain as the company’s current-gen offerings. Despite competition from AMD’s RX 5700-series, Nvidia’s RTX 2070 Super has proved a popular GPU around the £500 price point, and today we review the Palit JS (JetStream) model, currently retailing for £479.99.

Watch video via Vimeo (below) or over on YouTube at 2160p HERE

As the bigger brother to Palit’s RTX 2060 Super JS we reviewed back in July, the RTX 2070 Super JS appears to use the same shroud and cooler design as that card. As a 2070 Super, however, it obviously comes with an increased shader count, with 2560 CUDA cores compared to the 2176 cores of its little brother.

Compared to the 2070 Super Founders Edition, the Palit JS has seen a slight increase to its core clock, coming in at 1815MHz boost – a 45MHz increase over stock specifications. The memory, however, has been left alone at its stock speed of 14Gbps. Palit’s cooler is also physically larger, taking up effectively three slots, while it also comes with dual-BIOS support which we always like to see. Is this card worth buying?

GPU RTX 2080 (FE)  RTX 2070 SUPER RTX 2070 (FE)  RTX 2060 SUPER  RTX 2060 (FE) 
SMs  46  40 36 34 30
CUDA Cores  2944  2560 2304 2176 1920
Tensor Cores  368  320 288 272 240
Tensor FLOPS  85  72 63 57.4 51.6
RT Cores 46  40 36 34 30
Texture Units 184  160 144 136 120
ROPs 64  64 64 64 48
Rays Cast  8 Giga Rays  7 Giga Rays 6 Giga Rays 6 Giga Rays 5 Giga Rays
GPU Boost Clock  1800 MHz  1770 MHz 1710 MHz  1650 MHz 1680 MHz
Memory Data Rate 14 Gbps  14 Gbps 14 Gbps  14 Gbps 14 Gbps
Total Video Memory  8GB GDDR6  8GB GDDR6 8GB GDDR6  8GB GDDR6 6GB GDDR6
Memory Interface   256-bit 256-bit 256-bit  256-bit 192-bit
Memory Bandwidth  448 GB/sec 448 GB/sec  448 GB/sec   448 GB/sec 336.1 GB/sec
TDP  225W  215W 185W  175W 160W

Just confirming what we touched on earlier – RTX 2070 Super uses a cut-down version of Nvidia’s TU104 GPU, the same GPU used for the vanilla RTX 2080 when it launched back in September 2018. Where the full TU104 sports 48 Streaming Multiprocessors (SMs), the cut-down version used for 2070 Super consists of 40 SMs, each housing 64 CUDA cores, for a total of 2560.

Alongside that, the GPU also features 8GB of GDDR6 memory, running at 14Gbps. This is the standard speed for pretty much all the GDDR6 we have seen to-date, with the 2080 Super a notable exception as its memory runs at 15.5Gbps.

The Palit RTX 2070 Super JS ships in a visually appealing boxing, with the front designed like a lightning storm – it’s certainly eye catching.

Inside, a small quick start guide and a drive disk come included.

The card itself is visually almost indistinguishable from the RTX 2060 Super JS we reviewed last year, and as far as I can tell they are using the same shroud and cooler design. This means the 2070 Super JS uses a mostly black plastic shroud, though it does have two large metal plates screwed onto the plastic which add some contrast to the design.

As for the fans, these use Palit’s TurboFan Blade 2.0 design, with each measuring in at 100mm which is good to see. While there is a fan-stop mode present with the 2070 Super JS, it is only an option using the card’s secondary BIOS, so out of the box the fans do keep running even when the card isn’t under load.

In terms of the physical size of the card, it measures in at 292 x 130 x 59.6 mmm, so it’s almost 30cm long and just shy of 60mm thick – this is certainly not for those looking to put together an ultra-compact ITX system!

On the front side of the card, we can see the JetStream logo written in silver text, surrounded by one of those metal plates we mentioned earlier. Right next to the I/O bracket we can also just about make out the dual-BIOS switch. Here there is the choice of BIOS 1 or BIOS 2 – BIOS 1 is the ‘OC profile’ and is the default setting, while BIOS 2 reverts to reference clocks with a slower fan curve. We test both BIOS later in the review.

As for the backplate, this is a brushed metal plate with a single cut-out behind the GPU core. The JetStream logo takes up most of the right-hand side of the backplate.

As for power requirements, 2x 8-pin PCIe connectors are needed for this card, while we can also see the standard allocation of display outputs – 3x HDMI and 1x DisplayPort.

Opening up the card reveals the PCB, with Palit opting for a 10+2 phase VRM with this model – this appears to be a very similar, if not identical, design to Palit’s RTX 2080 GameRock, which of course makes sense since RTX 2070 Super and RTX 2080 both use the TU104 GPU. Memory is provided by Micron’s D9WCW modules, and the GPU die is labelled ‘TU104-410-A1’.

As for the cooler, once again as far I can tell this is the same unit used for both the 2060 Super JS and 2080 GameRock cards. It is comprised of two fin stacks which are connected by 5, thick 8mm copper heatpipes. The GPU die contacts with a copper baseplate, while that is surrounded by a larger plate used to cool the memory. Another separate plate is positioned to the side to cool the VRM.

Our newest GPU test procedure has been built with the intention of benchmarking high-end graphics cards. We test at 1920×1080 (1080p), 2560×1440 (1440p), and 3840×2160 (4K UHD) resolutions.

We try to test using the DX12 API if titles offer support. This gives us an interpretation into the graphics card performance hierarchy in the present time and the near future, when DX12 becomes more prevalent. After all, graphics cards of this expense may stay in a gamer’s system for a number of product generations/years before being upgraded.

Later in the review we test both the BIOS profiles of this card. For some tests there will be two entries for the Palit JS, labelled ‘(1)’ or ‘(2)’ corresponding the the BIOS used. All of our gaming tests were done with using BIOS 1, the default option.

Driver Notes

  • All AMD graphics cards (except RX 5600 XT) were benchmarked with the Adrenalin 20.1.1 public driver.
  • RX 5600 XT graphics cards were benchmarked with the Adrenalin 20.1.1 driver supplied to press.
  • All Nvidia graphics cards were benchmarked with the Nvidia 441.87 public driver.

Test System

We test using the Overclockers UK Germanium pre-built system, though it has been re-housed into an open-air test bench. You can read more about it over HERE.

CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Overclocked to 5.0GHz
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
Memory
Team Group Dark Hawk RGB
16GB (2x8GB) @ 3200MHz 16-18-18-38
Graphics Card
Varies
System Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Games Drive Crucial M4 512GB
Chassis Streacom ST-BC1 Bench
CPU Cooler
OCUK TechLabs 240mm AIO
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i 80+ Titanium PSU
Operating System
Windows 10 1903

Comparison Graphics Cards List

  • Nvidia RTX 2060 SUPER Founders Edition (FE) 8GB
  • Nvidia RTX 2060 Founders Edition (FE) 6GB
  • Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti Gaming OC 6G
  • EVGA GTX 1660 SUPER SC Ultra 6GB
  • Palit GTX 1650 SUPER StormX OC 4GB
  • Nvidia GTX 1060 Founders Edition (FE) 6GB
  • Gigabyte Aorus RX 5700 XT 8GB
  • Gigabyte RX 5700 XT Gaming OC 8GB
  • MSI RX 5600 XT Gaming X 6GB
  • Gigabyte RX 5600 XT Gaming OC 6GB
  • Sapphire RX 5600 XT Pulse 6GB
  • Sapphire RX 5500 XT Pulse 4GB
  • ASRock RX 5500 XT Challenger OC Edition 8GB
  • AMD RX 5700 8GB
  • AMD RX Vega 56 8GB
  • Sapphire RX 590 Nitro+ SE 8GB

Software and Games List

  • 3DMark Fire Strike & Fire Strike Ultra (DX11 Synthetic)
  • 3DMark Time Spy (DX12 Synthetic)
  • Battlefield V (DX12)
  • The Division 2 (DX11)
  • F1 2019 (DX12)
  • Far Cry New Dawn (DX11)
  • Gears 5 (DX12)
  • Ghost Recon: Breakpoint (DX11)
  • Metro: Exodus (DX12)
  • Middle Earth: Shadow of War (DX11)
  • Red Dead Redemption 2 (DX12)
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider (DX12)
  • Total War: Three Kingdoms (DX11)

We run each benchmark/game three times, and present averages in our graphs.

3DMark Fire Strike is a showcase DirectX 11 benchmark designed for today’s high-performance gaming PCs. It is our [FutureMark’s] most ambitious and technical benchmark ever, featuring real-time graphics rendered with detail and complexity far beyond what is found in other benchmarks and games today.

 

Things start off as expected in our 3DMark benchmarks. The 2070 Super struggles compared to AMD’s RX 5700 XT in the Fire Strike and Fire Strike Ultra tests, but it is able to take a lead in Time Spy.

Battlefield V is a first-person shooter video game developed by EA DICE and published by Electronic Arts. Battlefield V is the sixteenth instalment in the Battlefield series. It was released worldwide for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One on November 20, 2018. (Wikipedia).

We test using the Ultra preset, DX12 API.

Starting our games testing with Battlefield V, at 1440p the Palit card averages just over 100 FPS in this title, making it just 1% faster than Nvidia’s Founders Edition. Compared to Gigabyte’s RX 5700 XT Gaming OC, it is 1% slower on average.

Up at 4K, though, the JetStream takes a very slight advantage over the Founders Edition, where it’s 1% faster, while it also proves 3% faster than the Gaming OC 5700 XT at this resolution.

Tom Clancy’s The Division 2 is an online action role-playing video game developed by Massive Entertainment and published by Ubisoft. The sequel to Tom Clancy’s The Division (2016), it is set in a near-future Washington, D.C. in the aftermath of a smallpox pandemic, and follows an agent of the Strategic Homeland Division as they try to rebuild the city. (Wikipedia).

We test using the Ultra preset, but with V-Sync disabled, DX11 API.

The Division 2 is more favourable toward the 2070 Super than it is to the RX 5700 XT, and at 1440p the Palit JS is 10% faster than Gigabyte’s Gaming OC. The difference between the JetStream and Nvidia’s Founders Edition, however, is still just 1%.

At 4K, frame rates drop to around 40FPS so are not ideal, but we can still see the Palit JetStream performing virtually identically to the 2070 Super Founders Edition.

F1 2019 is a racing video game based on the 2019 Formula One and Formula 2 Championships. The game is developed and published by Codemasters and is the twelfth title in the Formula One series developed by the studio. The game was announced by Codemasters on 28 March 2019. (Wikipedia).

We test using the Ultra High preset, with TAA and 16x Anisotropic Filtering, DX12 API.

F1 2019 shows a slightly larger lead for the Palit JetStream over Nvidia’s Founders Edition, but it’s still not much of a victory – at both 1440p and 4K, the Palit is 2% faster on average. Compared to Gigabyte’s RX 5700 XT Gaming OC, at 1440p the Palit is 8% faster.

Far Cry New Dawn is an action-adventure first-person shooter developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft. The game is a spin-off of the Far Cry series and a narrative sequel to Far Cry 5. It was released for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One on February 15, 2019. (Wikipedia).

We test using the Ultra preset, with the  HD Textures pack, DX11 API.

Far Cry New Dawn is another title where there is very little to split between the 2070 Super and RX 5700 XT. At 1440p, the Palit JetStream is just 3% faster than Gigabyte’s Gaming OC model, while it’s 1% faster than the Founders Edition 2070 Super.

Up at 4K, the JetStream is still just 3% faster than Gigabyte’s RX 5700 XT Gaming OC, but compared to the Nvidia Founders Edition, Palit’s card is now 2% faster.

Gears 5 is a third-person shooter video game developed by The Coalition and published by Xbox Game Studios for Microsoft Windows and Xbox One. It is the sixth instalment of the Gears of War series, and is the second Gears of War game not to be developed by Epic Games.

We test using the Ultra preset, with Best Animation Quality (instead of Auto), DX12 API.

Things are again very tight in Gears 5. At 1440p, Palit’s 2070 Super proves just 2% faster than its Founders Edition counterpart, while the JS is 6% faster than Gigabyte’s RX 5700 XT. Compared to Gigabyte’s Aorus 5700 XT, however, the difference is just 2%.

At 4K, the Palit JS holds another 2% lead over the Founders Edition, but it also pulls ahead of the 5700 XT at this resolution – it’s 11% faster than the Gaming OC and 6% faster than the Aorus.

Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Breakpoint is an online tactical shooter video game developed by Ubisoft Paris and published by Ubisoft. The game was released worldwide on 4 October 2019, for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, (Wikipedia).

We test using the Very High preset, with AA disabled, DX11 API.

Moving onto Ghost Recon: Breakpoint, at 1440p we see the Palit JS come in 3% faster on average than Nvidia’s Founders Edition. The card also holds leads over both the Gaming OC and the Aorus RX 5700 XTs in this title.

At 4K, the Palit is still 3% faster than the Founders Edition 2070 Super, but its lead over the 5700 XTs is larger than it was at 1440p – compared the Gaming OC, the Palit is 9% faster.

Metro Exodus is a first-person shooter video game developed by 4A Games and published by Deep Silver in 2019. It is the third instalment in the Metro video game series based on Dmitry Glukhovsky’s novels, following the events of Metro 2033 and Metro: Last Light. (Wikipedia).

We test using the Ultra preset, but with Hairworks and Advanced PhysX turned off, DX12 API.

Metro Exodus follows a similar trend to many other games we have looked at today, with the Palit JS coming in 2% faster than the Founders Edition 2070 Super at 1440p. Compared to the Aorus RX 5700 XT, however, the difference is still just 2% in Palit’s favour.

At 4K, the Palit JS holds its lead over the Nvidia Founders Edition, with a 2% advantage there, but it stretches its margin over the Aorus RX 5700 XT to 6%.

Middle-earth: Shadow of War is an action role-playing video game developed by Monolith Productions and published by Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment. It is the sequel to 2014’s Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor, and was released worldwide for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One on October 10, 2017. (Wikipedia).

We test using the Very High preset, DX11 API.

Nvidia clearly has the upper hand in this title – at 1440p, the Palit JS is 17% faster than Gigabyte’s Gaming OC RX 5700 XT, and that lead stretches to 21% at 4K. Even the Aorus 5700 XT is still significantly slower.

Red Dead Redemption 2 is a 2018 action-adventure game developed and published by Rockstar Games. The game is the third entry in the Red Dead series and is a prequel to the 2010 game Red Dead Redemption. Red Dead Redemption 2 was released for the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One in October 2018, and for Microsoft Windows and Stadia in November 2019. (Wikipedia).

 

As for Red Dead Redemption 2, this is one of the few titles where the Palit JS 2070 Super is slower than the Gigabyte RX 5700 XT Gaming OC – at 1440p, for instance, the Palit is 1% slower, and 3% slower than the Aorus.

Moving the resolution up to 4K sees the Palit take a 2% lead over the Gaming OC, but the JS is still 2% slower than the Aorus 5700 XT.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider is an action-adventure video game developed by Eidos Montréal in conjunction with Crystal Dynamics and published by Square Enix. It continues the narrative from the 2013 game Tomb Raider and its sequel Rise of the Tomb Raider, and is the twelfth mainline entry in the Tomb Raider series. The game released worldwide on 14 September 2018 for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. (Wikipedia).

We test using the Highest preset, with AA disabled, DX12 API.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider also shows a healthy performance lead for the 2070 Super, as the Palit JS is 11% faster than even the Aorus RX 5700 XT at 1440p.

At 4K, this lead grows to a 17% advantage for the JS when compared to the Aorus – up against the Gaming OC 5700 XT, the difference is even greater, at 20%.

Total War: Three Kingdoms is a turn-based strategy real-time tactics video game developed by Creative Assembly and published by Sega. As the 12th mainline entry (the 13th entry) in the Total War series, the game was released for Microsoft Windows on May 23, 2019.

We test using the Ultra preset, DX11 API.

Our last game of the day is Total War: Three Kingdoms. Once more, at 1440p we can see the Palit JS outperforming Nvidia’s 2070 Super Founders Edition by 2%, while the JS is also 19% faster than Gigabyte’s Gaming OC 5700 XT, and 14% faster than the Aorus 5700 XT.

At 4K the JS maintains a 2% lead over the Founders Edition, while it is now 15% faster than the Aorus 5700 XT at this resolution.

Here we present the average clock speed for each graphics card while running the 3DMark Time Spy stress test for 30 minutes. We use GPU-Z to record the GPU core frequency during the Time Spy runs. We calculate the average core frequency during the 30 minute run to present here.

Looking at average clock speed under load, starting with BIOS 1 – this is the primary BIOS, with the 1815MHz boost clock, and is the default BIOS out of the box. Here we saw the GPU average 1936MHz under load, which works out as a 62MHz advantage over the Founders Edition, explaining the small performance gains we saw when testing the JS.

BIOS 2 runs the card at reference clocks, and in that situation the JS averaged 1884MHz, so just 10MHz faster than the Founders Edition.

For our temperature testing, we measure the peak GPU core temperature under load. A reading under load comes from running the 3DMark Time Spy stress test for 30 minutes.

With BIOS 1 being the default ‘OC’ profile, it’s not a surprise to see this profile run a few degrees cooler than BIOS 2, which is the Silent profile. BIOS 1 saw GPU temperature peak at 63C, an 8C reduction compared to the Founders Edition. Even BIOS 2, with its lower fan speeds, ran 4C cooler than the Founders Edition during our stress test.

Our thermal imaging gun shows nothing to be worried about in terms of temperature hot spots on the card itself – the peak of 60.1C behind the GPU core is very respectable.

We take our noise measurements with the sound meter positioned 1 foot from the graphics card. I measured the noise floor to be 32 dBA, thus anything above this level can be attributed to the graphics cards. The power supply is passive for the entire power output range we tested all graphics cards in, while all CPU and system fans were disabled. A reading under load comes from running the 3DMark Time Spy stress test for 30 minutes.

Our acoustic testing shows a small but just about perceptible difference in noise levels when comparing BIOS 1 to BIOS 2. BIOS 1 is unsurprisingly the slightly louder of the two, peaking at 38.4dB which is still a very good result. BIOS 2 saw noise levels come in about 1dB quieter, which is an even more impressive result.

To illustrate the small difference between the BIOS in terms of fan speed, we saw BIOS 1 run the fan at 55%, or 1270rpm, when BIOS reduced this to 50% fan speed, or 1150rpm.

We measure system-wide power draw from the wall while running the 3DMark Time Spy stress test for 30 minutes.

Finally, looking at power draw there is very little between all three 2070 Super results on our chart, with BIOS 1 and BIOS 2 pulling just over 300W at the wall.

Our best result when manually overclocking came with a +110MHz GPU offset and +850MHz memory offset. This was with the power and temperature sliders set to their maximum values.

Average clock speed under load

This resulted in the Palit JS averaging just over 2070MHz, a real-world gain of 136MHz based on our stress test.

Games

In the games we retested at 1440p resolution, this extra frequency saw our frame rate improve by 8 or 9% in our testing. This is overall pretty much as expected for a 2070 Super.It has been a fair while since I last reviewed an Nvidia-based graphics card, let alone a RTX 2070 Super. Today we have assessed Palit’s RTX 2070 Super JS, or JetStream, a dual-fan factory overclocked model that currently retails for £479.99 here in the UK.

We’ve already reviewed the 2060 Super JS and as far as I can tell, Palit is re-using the same exact cooler and shroud with this higher-end model. From a purely aesthetic point of view I don’t think it is the best looking card I’ve ever seen, but it’s not ugly and I think Palit has done the smart thing by keeping the shroud as colour-neutral as they can.

Looks aside, though, there’s no doubt this is a very capable cooler. Whether we were using the OC or Silent BIOS, GPU temperatures didn’t exceed 67C and noise levels were impressively low too. It’s also a positive that Palit has included dual-BIOS support, as this isn’t a feature on every card.

Palit has also pushed core clock up by 45MHz compared to stock speeds, and this was reflected during our testing. Across all of the games we played – at 1080p, 1440p and 4K – the Palit 2070 Super JS averaged 2% higher frame rates when compared to the Nvidia’s Founders Edition. This means the card is also faster than RX 5700 XT, proving 8% faster on average than the Gigabyte RX 5700 XT Gaming OC model. Compared to the Aorus RX 5700 XT, however, the Palit’s lead is cut to 5% due to the Aorus card’s hefty factory overclock.

We could squeeze a bit more out of the core when manually overclocking the JetStream, as our sample was stable with a +110MHz GPU offset, resulting in the core clock hovering around the 2070MHz mark. This resulted in performance gains of 8-9% in the titles we tested at 1440p.

Overall, Palit’s RTX 2070 Super JS  is a solid custom 2070 Super. It may not blow your socks off, but it ticks all the main boxes – it’s fast, cool, quiet and actually the pricing isn’t unreasonable for a custom 2070 Super. It’s currently retailing for £479.99 here in the UK, so that’s actually £10 less than the Founders Edition and £30 more than the baseline models.

Of course, AMD’s RX 5700 XT still has a strong say in the conversation, and with models like the Sapphire Pulse retailing for under £400, that is a better value solution. Then again, there are a few instances where the 2070 Super can offer that next-tier of performance, so if you do opt for the Nvidia GPU, the Palit JS will serve you well.

We found the card at Overclockers UK on offer for £479.99 (down from £499.99) HERE.

Discuss on our Facebook page HERE.

Pros

  • Runs cool.
  • Very quiet regardless of BIOS used.
  • Dual-BIOS functionality.
  • Overclocked well.
  • Keenly priced for a 2070 Super.

Cons

  • RX 5700 XT does offer better value.
  • Physical size could be prohibitive for some.

KitGuru says: If you are in the market for a 2070 Super, the Palit JS model is fast, cool and quiet.

Become a Patron!

Check Also

Thermaltake AH T600 ‘Attack Helicopter’ Case Review

Does the AH T600 chassis from Thermaltake take us to heights we have not reached before?