ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme 7970 Cooler Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

If you are fortunate enough to have bought a new AMD graphics card, then today’s review will be of particular interest. Arctic have just released a cooling solution which is compatible with the new range of AMD graphics cards, including the latest award winning HD7970 and HD7950. The idea is simple – replace your cooler and benefit from reduced noise and temperatures.

AMD have worked hard to enhance their reference cooling solution, and while their latest coolers for the HD7970 and HD7950 are a noted improvement, they still lag behind third party solutions from companies such as XFX and Sapphire.

The ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme 7970 should be a further step up from even these cooling solutions, offering the best performance available on the market.

AX7970 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme 7970 Cooler Review

Max. Cooling Capacity 300 Watts
Heatpipe Ø 6 mm x 5
Heatsink Material Aluminum fins x 84, thickness 0.3 mm
Fan (mm) 92 mm, 900 – 2,000 RPM (controlled by PWM) x 3 fans
Bearing Fluid Dynamic Bearing
Noise Level 0.5 Sone
Current, Voltage 0.12A / 12V
Power Consumption 4.32W
Dimensions (Product) 288 (L) x 104 (W) x 54 (H) mm
Net Weight 653 g
Limited Warranty 6 years
Accessories
Heatsink 31 pcs
Screw (M2) 4 pcs
Spacer (3.0 mm) 4 pcs
Spacer (3.5 mm) 4 pcs
Insulation Tape 5 pcs
G-1 Thermal Glue (2.0 g Grey Compound) 1 bag
G-1 Thermal Glue (2.0 g White Compound) 1 bag
Mixing Wand 1 pc
4-Pin Fan Power Adapter 1 pc
VGA Bracket 1 pc
GPU Back Plate 1 pc
EVA Foam 1 pc
itemnumber DCACO-V15G300-BL
UPC 0872767005617
Gross Weight 1.6 kg
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme 7970 Cooler Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

  • Davis

    wow thats wicked!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian E

    Excellent, but boy thats expensive, about £70 when it hits in UK I reckon!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mannie X

    Its a great video card, but im not sure about that install, seems to take forever and im not that confident. was going to get a 7950, but I might just opt for a sapphire card which has a good cooler already. ill probably kill the card completely

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Yopa

    Hi, I just installed all the heatsinks on mine card, except this one: http://i.imgur.com/Iyr2N.jpg

    Do I need to install the last one to the blank slot aswell or not? Seems like you’ve put it in but I’m wondering if it may cause some kind of conflict.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Yopa

    Hey. Nice review, though I got a question. I got the cooler today aswell, I’ve put all the heatsinks except this one http://i.imgur.com/Iyr2N.jpg because seems like mine board does not have a component and neither does your. Do I still need to put it there?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • OmegaRED

    The installed cooler pics seem to show the weight of the heatsink bending the plastic cooler, did you have another pic of it in the case? The design worries me as it puts all the weight to one side and when installed I imagine that could look pretty precarious.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: 2/8/2012 Daily Hardware Reviews | sharerally.com()

  • AVJGUY

    I have the Artic Cooling Accelero Twin Turbo II. The smaller 250 watt two-fan version of this cooler for my Sapphire Flex 6950. I agree that the install seems very hard, but there are two thing s you can do to make things easier: 1) get an eElmer,s glue stick ( glue in a lipstick type container ) 2) get some Artic Silver or other brand thermal adhesive glue. Artic Silver’s glue dries in 3 minutes, not 5 hours.
    The stupid little washers that go between the card the spacers are a monumental pain in the butt. If you have the glue stick, you will be able to use it to attach the washers you screw up because their glue sticks to your fingers before you get the washer to your card. You will see what I mean. I got two done right and used the Elmer’s on the other two. It made no difference. The Elmer’s only has to hold the spacer to the washer until the cooler is finally attached to the card. I tried gently moving the spacers and couldn’t tell which had the original glue and which had the Elmer’s, they were all stuck just fine. If you go with Artic Silver epoxy, realize it is permanent. This might scare you, but when you realize that you would have to be a complete moron to not be able to fit the perfect sized heat sink to the ram chip, your blood pressure will go down. I guarantee you can do it and you will still have 3 minutes to to make any minor adjustments to make your heat sinks line up with laser precision. I knocked 11C off my idle and 18C of my load ( Heaven DX11- GPU maxed ). The original sapphire cooler was quiet, but didn’t cool anywhere near the reviewed specs. My system is in a Silverstone Raven II case ( 3 180mm fans on the bottom firing up), so there were no excuses for the poor cooling performance of Sapphire’s original cooler. The Artic Cooling GPU coolers are excellent and well worth the effort.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jeff Collins

    just ordered one, looks great.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Forrest Gump

    At last they included a set of heatsinks, the last coolers they launched didn’t and the VRMS got too hot.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    @ Yopa – I just followed the instructions for the 7970, but I dont think you need that heatsink really in that position as you say.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    @ Omegared – its actually pretty secure, but there will always be a little bit of movement as the cooler is basically only secured with 4 screws from the back.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Peter

    Just bought one today, looking forward to getting it :) will use the review for the install, thanks !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lancaster V

    Bought one this morning after reading this, great looking product. never done this before, but looks easy enough, if time consuming.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Leonel

    Hello, I’ve order this cooler also but i got a simple question.
    I really don’t understand from the PDF manual where to apply the Insulation Tape.

    It must be applied on the VRMs only ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    The only area of importance would be close to the ram heatsinks, to the right. but I really dont think you need it at all on the 7970 if you are careful with the heatsink application.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: Arctic Accelero S1 Plus Passive Cooler Review | KitGuru()

  • Pingback: Gigabyte’s non-standard HD 7970 - IT Lounge()

  • JamesM

    Guys,

    Has anyone purchased this Acelero 7070 in the UK yet? I cannot find anyone who is even advertising it, isually QuietPC does, but they arnt yet wither :( Where have you purchased from?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • JamesM

    Hi Guys.

    Can you please tell me where you purchased from in the UK, I cannot find anyone who is stocking this yet..?

    Thanks!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    I think you can order direct from ARCTIC to the UK…. on their website.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nelson

    Could any of the owner of the Arctic Accelero Extreme 7970 send me the pdf file for the installation? I could not find it on the Arctic website.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: Anonymous()

  • Ozan

    “The compound has to be mixed by hand for 5 minutes. It is important to time this fairly accurately, otherwise it won’t work as well as it should. After this is done, then you need to wait for a further 15 minutes before applying the thermal glue to the heatsinks.”

    NO. You apply the glue within 15 minutes. That is a fatal mistake for those installing the cooler according to the instructions provided here.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    No you don’t …. you need to let the mixed compound bond for 15 minutes. you dont apply the glue that quickly. This is epoxy glue not instant bond, it needs to bond the two elements before adhering to the parts supplied.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rob

    My temp on my hd 7970 where a lot lower than this test my card was running at 90c with the ref cooler. But now it runs at 44c max and vrm,s at 47c max. The adhesive now is it one tube and you can apply straight away and takes under 1 hour it took 20 mins for me. What a great bit of kit. Ps it is big so you will need a big case

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Best printer option for 2015?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives