Asus HD7970 Tri Crossfire Review

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

AMD released their HD7970 on December 22nd last year and we followed up with four separate reviews focusing on single card, dual card configurations and modified cards from XFX. Today we are looking at several ASUS cards, and to make it more interesting, we have opted to build a three way Crossfire system. Just what kind of performance can you expect from three of these killer cards in a high end system?

AMD’s HD7970 is a monster card, easily claiming the top single GPU performance spot from the long standing, yet still very capable Nvidia GTX580. When it comes to high resolution gaming with the eye candy cranked to the limits, there is nothing right now to touch the HD7970. We have already looked at the performance from two of these cards in Crossfire, but what can you expect if you decided to spend a small fortune for three of them?

Asus sent us two of the HD7970′s and we used an additional reference AMD card for the three way testing today.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Asus HD7970 Tri Crossfire Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 2 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

14 Comments
  • Magnus
    January 24, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    £1,500 just for the graphics cards, lol. Any chance you could offer that system up for a competition? :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • ET
    January 24, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thank you so much for the comprehensive comparison with other cards. You may choose a body part for me to kiss. I love having a lot of references in reviews.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger Fil
    January 24, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    lol, who is this article for, the rich and famous? one card is too much for most people I would imagine

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Vedna
    January 24, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good article, shows that two is the best performance option really, unless you are chasing synthetic figures like in 3dmark11. thanks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Anonymous
    January 24, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] 7970 Tri crossfire……… Asus HD7970 Tri Crossfire Review | KitGuru [...]

  • Frank Joson
    January 24, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    hard core ! wow

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • OmegaRED
    January 24, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I really would have liked to have seen this trifire setup vs 6970 Trifire and 6990+6970 Trifire since that’s what many of us enthusiasts are rocking and we need to know how much needs to be spent to beat this performance.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    January 24, 2012
    #8
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I would have loved to have had time to test all that too, but unfortunately not this time.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Derek Rodgers
    January 24, 2012
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good review, I would wait for the custom asus card too, probably be £50 more, but if you are spending £500 its not a big deal. Asus made some great modded GTX580′s. they will do the s ame with the 7970, might be march though.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • mbryans
    January 24, 2012
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review. I always like reviews from KitGuru, particularly written by Zardon, many aspects and comparisons reviewed in detail.

    If possible, please review the Asus HD 7970 DirectCU II (as single card), focus for game resolution 1200p or 1080p, please consider also Civilization V (with latest Catalyst, WHQL and Beta version), also compare performance of DirectCU II vs Accelero Xtreme 7970 (if it can be used on the Asus HD 7970 DirectCU II).

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • The News: Ice Is Dangerous Edition | MEGATechNews
    January 26, 2012
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] the Silicon Power Diamond D10 USB 3.0 750GB 2.5-inch Portable Hard DriveKitGuru takes a look at the Asus HD7970 Tri CrossfireXtremeComputing chills out with the Arctic Accelero XTREME Plus II VGA coolerTechReviewSource sits [...]

  • HD7970 from ASUS and XFX, who offers the most impressive card? - IT Lounge
    January 26, 2012
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Asus HD7970 Tri Crossfire @ Kitguru [...]

  • Luay
    January 28, 2012
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Not nit picking but the XFX DD uses a custom dual fan cooler slapped on a reference PCB, not a custom PCB as you said in the opening of your conclusion. Not saying a custom PCB would be better as some companies make their custom PCBs using cheaper materials (such as Power Color) than in the reference model to cut costs, but readers and potential buyers need to get the full picture.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    January 28, 2012
    #14
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Absolutely correct. My bad.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives