BitFenix Survivor Case Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

In September 2010, KitGuru reviewed the BitFenix Colossus case and while it showed promise, we didn’t think it was totally ready for prime time release. Today we are looking at their Survivor case, a more modest design which we are sure will appeal to a much wider audience.

The mid tower Survivor is a much neater design at 230 mm x 502 mm x 510 mm (W x D x H), but it inherits the same unique Bitfenix styling. Many will be pleased to hear that the insane lighting system is no longer present and is replaced instead with some really attractive curves on the edges.

Dimensions (mm): 230 x 502 x 510 (W x D x H)
Material: Steel, plastic
Colour: Black
Weight: 9.4kg
Front Panel: Power and reset switches, 2 x USB 3, 2 x USB 2, stereo, mic, eSATA, lighting controls
Drive Bays: 3 x internal 5.25in drive bays, 1x internal 5.25in drive bay, 7 x internal 3.5in drive bays
Form factor(s): ATX, micro-ATX, Mini-ITX
Cooling: 200mm roof fan mount (fan supplied), 200mm front fan mount (fan supplied), 120mm rear fan mount (fan not supplied)
CPU cooler clearance: 174mm
Graphics card dimensions supported: 293mm, 423mm with 3-bay drive caddy removed
Extras: Tool-less drive bays, water-cooling grommets, fan LED control

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
BitFenix Survivor Case Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

9 Comments
  • David Cummings
    February 11, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Never really liked their products, the design is just over the top and doesnt appeal to me. they are overlooking the basics and jumping into new territories before they have the basics covered.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas
    February 11, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    They use some weird looking materials. what is it again? SECC, ABS I think I read.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fluffychicken
    February 11, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like the shape of this one, but id like silverstone to build it. :p

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Benjamin
    February 11, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Sorry, ill stick with my Lian Li. but i like the fact they are diong things differentely. Price isn’t too bad, but its still fairly costly, almost 100 quid.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    February 11, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    HUGE step up from the Colossus. I think that was one of the most ugly things ive ever seen. I agree with the review, they need to focus on fans, positionings, cooling. and basics. then working ou the cool ideas later.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    February 11, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The review is a little harsh. ok the fan omission and screws at the back is a bad idea, but it looks very different and I think they deserve a little credit for trying to be different in such a populated marketplace.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rothchild
    February 11, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its not bad looking, the material doesnt appeal to me, its rather rough looking, like a cheap car part.

    Id rather get a silverstone or even an Antec DF85. but as others have said, id like to see them hang around and try more ideas. the third one is normally the killer.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Laid an Egg
    February 11, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nah, bad design all round, sorry not for me. read about this elsewhere. some of their thinking makes no sense.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Barrack
    February 12, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its a different idea, but that rear mounted panel seems so stupid. why have it screwed in when many people need to get inside? negates the thumbscrews idea.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives