HIS Radeon HD 6950 IceQ Edition Review

Review Score:
30 Flares 30 Flares ×

There are no shortage of modified AMD HD6000 series cards currently available on the market, and today we are looking at the latest HD6950 from HIS, featuring the infamous semi transparent IceQ cooler. The HIS ATI Radeon HD 6950 IceQ Edition is a custom design and based on past experiences we expect great things from the latest solution.

This HIS card is available via a special partner deal with Overclockers UK and retails for £221.99 inc vat.

The card is supplied with not one, but two excellent free games – Deus Ex Human Revolution and Dirt 3, worth £30 each.

HIS claim to have lifted the higher specification cooler from the HD6970 card which should lead to good results.

Features:-

  • Special IceQ Cooler taken from 6970 and custom fitted to 6950 by HIS for upto 18c better cooling
  • Great OC Potential
  • OcUK Exclusive
  • Core Clock: 800MHz
  • Memory: 2048MB GDDR5
  • Memory Clock: 5000MHz (Effective)
  • Processing Cores: 1408
  • Texture Units: 88
  • ROPS: 32
  • Bus Type: PCI-Express 2.1
  • Display Connectors: 1 Dual Link DVI-I and 1 single link DVI-D, 1 HDMI & 2x Mini-DisplayPort
  • HDCP Capable
  • DirectX 11 Support
  • Shader Model 5.0 Support
  • OpenGL 4.0 Support
  • ATI CrossFire Ready
  • ATI Eyefinity Technology
  • ATI Avivo HD
  • ATI Stream Technology
  • ATI HD3D Technology
  • Maximum Power Consumption: 250W (Typical 190W)
  • 2x 6pin PCI-E power connectors required (Power Adapters included in box for older PSU’s)
  • 450W minimum PSU recommended
  • Warranty: 2 Years
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
HIS Radeon HD 6950 IceQ Edition Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
30 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 5 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 25 30 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

9 Comments
  • Frank
    November 4, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very nice, shame it looks like a fisher price toy …

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Desperate Dan
    November 4, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Ordering one, my friend has a IceQ card and I agree its basically silent.

    Simple fact is, once it is shoved in a case you never see it again. its not that bad though. its different I like different

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave
    November 4, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    wow quite surprised it was that good, my HD6950 hits 88c in furmark :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rufus
    November 4, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Whats their UK warranty like. no info on it? do you return it to OCUK or not? they shafted me before with a motherboard and no one helped.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lawrence
    November 4, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It shows that a small fan isnt necessary bad. they have used massive heatpipes and a huge venting area to ensure it spins slowly. nice idea. shame they dont do a black cooler version. I have a case window mod with lights and this would look hideous in it. (all red lighting in my case)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • l33t
    November 5, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    seems like a very good product indeed

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bruce
    November 5, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seems to be the best 6950 around. You didn’t point it out, but the fact that this is also a rear exhaust card makes it pretty amazing.

    And I think some black paint might help it out a bit.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • News for Sunday November 6th 2011
    November 7, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] HIS Radeon HD 6950 IceQ X PLUS Edition Review [...]

  • 11/07/2011 Daily Hardware Reviews | Oo! News
    November 8, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] 560 Ti Video Card @ Guru3D HIS Radeon HD 6950 Video Card @ Vortez HIS Radeon HD 6950 Video Card @ KitGuru Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 Video Card @ [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives