Nvidia GTX780Ti Review (1600p, Ultra HD 4K)

Review Score:
110 Flares 110 Flares ×

AMD have been taking all the headlines in the last month, releasing a slew of graphics cards – including the class leading (but noisy) R9 290 and R9 290X. The R9 290X managed to take the  performance crown from Nvidia’s GTX 780 and GTX Titan in the ultra high end at both 1600p and Ultra HD 4K resolutions. Nvidia have been hard at work behind the scenes however and today they release their new GTX780 Ti. The big question we need to answer … is it enough to push the formidable R9 290X into second place?

AMD’s R9 290/X is undoubtedly a monster card, but as I mentioned in our coverage over the previous couple of weeks, they really did botch the reference cooling solution. Performance figures only tell part of the story and I couldn’t help but feel monumentally disappointed with their new reference cooler.

We are sure AMD partners will be able to fix the cooling/throttling concerns, but in the meantime there are plenty of reference cards now available, if you are happy dealing with a lot of heat, or noise.
GTX780Ti
Nvidia have supplemented their flagship GTX 780, adding the ‘Ti’ moniker to the name. This new card incorporates GPU Boost 2.0 technology ensuring that the GTX780 Ti is always running at the highest clocks possible. Nvidia claim that with Boost 2.0, they can guarantee a certain minimum level of performance no matter the workload that the hardware is dealing with, or the thermal/power conditions.

Nvidia have also added a new power balancing feature which helps to get the most out of overclocking the hardware. The GPU gets power from three sources, the 6 pin and 8 pin connector and the PCI Express interface. When a user overclocks the hardware the power delivery can be unbalanced with power drawn from one source more than the others, potentially maxing out the clock speeds.

Nvidia say the new feature can direct power from one input to another, meaning that if you max out one power source then the algorithm will take more power from others to compensate. We will look at overclocking this card later in the review.
nvidia reference cards

Nvidia GTX780Ti Nvidia GTX780 Nvidia GTX Titan
GPU GK110 GK110 GK110
Technology 28nm 28nm 28nm
Transistors 7.1Bn 7.1Bn 7.1Bn
ROP’s 48 48 48
TMU’s 240 192 224
CUDA Cores
2880 2304 2688
Pixel Filrate 42.0 GPixel/s 41.4 GPixel/s 40.2 GPixel/s
Memory Size 3GB 3GB 6GB
Texture Filrate 210.2 GTexel/s 165.7 GTexel/s 187.5 GTexel/s
Bus Width 384 bit 384 bit 384 bit
Bandwidth 336 GB/s 288.4 GB/s 288.4 GB/s
GPU clock speed 876mhz 863mhz 837mhz
Boost clock speed 928mhz 902mhz 876mhz
Memory clock speed 1,750mhz 1,502mhz 1,502mhz

gpuzgpuz14gpuz15
The GTX780 has 2304 CUDA cores and the GTX Titan has 2,688. The new GTX780Ti has a staggering 2880. The GTX780 Ti has 3GB of memory, identical to the GTX780, but it is clocked much higher – at 1,750mhz (7Gbps effective). The CPU core is clocked at 876mhz, with a boost clock speed of 928mhz – higher than both the reference GTX 780 and GTX Titan. The new GTX 780 Ti also has the highest Texture Unit count of 240, up from 192 Texture Units on the previous GTX780. The GTX Titan by comparison has 224 Texture Units.

CUDA Developers, researchers and scientists will still want the GTX Titan because of the full performance double precision and 6GB frame buffer however the GTX 780 Ti is Nvidia’s new flagship Gaming GPU.

This review today will feature comparisons against AMD’s R9 290 and R9 290x. We also include results from an overclocked Palit GTX770, reference clocked Nvidia GTX780, an Nvidia GTX Titan and the class leading MSI GTX780 Lightning – all of which we have reviewed in the past. We also add in results from the fastest R9 280X on the market - the Sapphire R9 280X Toxic Edition.
DSC00699
Today we test hardware with a 30 inch Apple Cinema HD display (2,560×1,600) and with our new ASUS PQ321QE Ultra HD 4K Monitor (3,840×2,160). It will be interesting to see if the GTX 780 Ti’s 3GB of GDDR5 memory will be a limiting factor powering the latest games at 4K.
DSC00665
The 4K ASUS PQ321QE panel retails with a whopping £2999.99 asking price , however we would expect this cost to drop in 2014.
image001
Setting up this monitor is simple with both AMD and Nvidia hardware (via DisplayPort cable) and we didn’t experience any issues. To achieve a refresh rate of 60hz after the Forceware or Catalyst drivers were installed we enable the Multi Stream Transport mode within a submenu of the Asus PQ321QE.

Today we test using the latest Catalyst and Forceware drivers (13.11 beta8 and 331.70 respectively).

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Nvidia GTX780Ti Review (1600p, Ultra HD 4K), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
110 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 107 110 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

14 Comments
  • Topperfalkon
    November 7, 2013
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Absolutely mega – love it ! thanks!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ben
    November 7, 2013
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Yeah this is awesome – well impressed myself, but the price is painful. Ah well – plenty of GTX780 non TI bargains right now for close to £400.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Davis
    November 7, 2013
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I can’t wait to see what MSI do with this one – Lightning FTW!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Alex
    November 7, 2013
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Ultimate setup? the Kitguru test rig with two GTX780 TI’s and that ASUS monitor. time to start saving. lol.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Union Flag
    November 7, 2013
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Best review of the Ti today, took me a long time to read it all. im ordering one today, just need to get the best deal !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Santosh Mishra
    November 7, 2013
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    They do make good reference coolers – ive read on forums that people say they suck, but I still have a reference GTX780 from ages ago and I had hardly hear it in my case. this is just mega, but ill have to pass until January. Christmas coming up, need to buy presents!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Optical Illusion
    November 7, 2013
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well this came out of nowhere, I didnt know Nvidia were making so many changes to the shaders/TMUs etc. I think this has to be the limit of this generation of hardware, but its phenomenal. next year I think Nvidia will get Ultra HD 4k smooth at 60fps in most titles at high IQ. next gen.

    Or two 780 Ti’s!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • HW Expert
    November 7, 2013
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I think the R9 290 is the besdt value for money card right now by a long shot. But, and its a big but – I dont want the reference cooler.

    I have posted on many forums, such as Sapphire’s asking for release dates of toxic editions etc, but no one is answering. GTX780 Ti is too much money, even though it is clearly the new leader. I want the R9 290 but without the shitty cooling system :( a lot of people are waiting AMD so get your finger out.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Peter
    November 7, 2013
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Just ordered two for my new rig – great review and very honest.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Blog Barnasystem Diseño Web Profesional | NVIDIA lanza la GTX 780 Ti, su nuevo tope de gama
    November 11, 2013
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] KitGuru [...]

  • Latest Hd Monitor Test News
    November 12, 2013
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Nvidia GTX780Ti Review (1600p, Ultra HD 4K) Today we test hardware with a 30 inch Apple Cinema HD display (2,560×1,600) and with our new ASUS PQ321QE Ultra HD 4K Monitor (3,840×2,160). It will be interesting to see if the GTX 780 Ti's 3GB of GDDR5 memory will be a limiting factor powering the … Read more on KitGuru [...]

  • AMD Radeon R9 290X CrossFire Video Card Review
    November 13, 2013
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Nvidia GTX780Ti Review (1600p, Ultra HD 4K) The GPU gets power from three sources, the 6 pin and 8 pin connector and the PCI Express interface. When a user overclocks … have reviewed in the past. We also add in results from the fastest R9 280X on the market – the Sapphire R9 280X Toxic Edition. Read more on KitGuru [...]

  • Latest Monitor Hd News
    December 10, 2013
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Nvidia GTX780Ti Review (1600p, Ultra HD 4K) Today we test hardware with a 30 inch Apple Cinema HD display (2,560×1,600) and with our new ASUS PQ321QE Ultra HD 4K Monitor (3,840×2,160). It will be interesting to see if the GTX 780 Ti's 3GB of GDDR5 memory will be a limiting factor powering the … Read more on KitGuru [...]

  • GTX 780 Ti reviews
    February 18, 2014
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Hothardware http://hothardware.com/Reviews/NVIDI…10-To-The-Max/ Kitguru http://www.kitguru.net/components/gr…p-ultra-hd-4k/ Linus tech tips (note: videos) http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/…4k-resolution/ [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives