Powercolor HD6970 Graphics Card Review

Review Score:
54 Flares 54 Flares ×

Long known for its value products, Powercolor has been one of AMD’s longest serving and most loyal partners. Over the past 12 months, they have also invested heavily in product design – especially coolers. Today we continue our coverage of AMD’s Radeon HD 6900 series launch,  looking next at the PowerColor HD6970 graphics card. Let’s put this card under the KitGuru Labs microscope and see what makes it tick.

ACC 1119 300x199 Powercolor HD6970 Graphics Card Review

If you just purchased a new three screen setup or wanted an upgrade for your HD5800 series card, does this new card provide the boost you need?  Today we test the Powercolor HD6970 across a wide array of games and benchmarks … our goal is to give you enough information to make an informed decision.

Product PowerColor HD6970
Core Clock speed 880mhz
Primitive Rate
2 prim/clk
Shader Architecture
VLIW4
Stream Processors
24 SIMD/1536 ALU
Texture Units 96
ROPs/Z-Stencil 32/128
Frame Buffer 2GB GDDR5
Memory Width/Speed 256 bit, 5.5 Gbps
Power Connectors 8 pin & 6 pin
Display Outputs 2xDVI + 2x mDP + HDMI
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Powercolor HD6970 Graphics Card Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
54 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 1 Email -- Facebook 52 54 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

  • opensourceboy

    Performance is really good , the price is going to mean these sell very well, especially for performance enthusiasts in crossfire!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • seth

    Powercolor bundle the mini dp cable thats a good extra. surprised more amd partners dont do it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steven

    I wondered why NO partners ever shipped mini DP cables. everyone needs them. competitors wake up! lets can the crappy games and include one of these with every card.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas

    Very impressive card, the price is much lower than I expected. good time to buy, but im waiting on cooler improvements

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jers

    The cards are really good to me. I dont like nvidia. but I am not sure on the cooler. seems the reference designs arent too good, again. not bad though.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Long Flow

    Powercolor are good. I like the bundle in this one, I cant find that mini DP converter in our local store, so this alone would make me buy one. I have three screens, not all the same size, one is displayport. I dont know why AMD dont bundle this converter with alll cards.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nickels

    power consumption is excellent, performance is good. nice.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • atomiks

    wow price wise and very good performance AMD you did it again

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Andres

    May I ask if you could ask them when are they going to release the Radeon HD 6970 with the PCS+ cooler? Thanks.

    In fact, I was going to purchase the PowerColor PCS+ 6870 card, until I heard of the new models being released (I didn’t know they were ready for launch), so I decided to wait a little just for a review on the (future, hope) PowerColor PCS+ 6970. Thanks again!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jupe

    Its going to be january.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Andres

    Who told you? Who are you?! Is this true?!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    Hi Andres, Powercolor are showing the card at CES, so it should be released shortly afterwards.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Andrés

    Yay! Thank you very, very much! Remember to ask them to send you a sample to review. :D

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which SSD for your next PC Build?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives