Thermaltake Level 10 Full-Tower Case Review

Review Score:
7 Flares 7 Flares ×

Last weekend KitGuru was reporting from Multiplay’s i40 where we caught a glimpse of Thermaltake’s range-topping Level 10 case which made us very excited.  So we had a word with the kind people at Thermaltake who let us have it for review.

It is clear from a glance that the Level 10 is no ordinary case due to its sheer size and unique design.  The design, by Thermaltake in conjunction with BMW DesignWorks, is influenced by aesthetics of games themselves, especially with regard to futuristic visual architecture and cityscapes.  While the components are laid out in a reasonably traditional manner, they are split up into seperate modules which gives the Level 10 a distinctive appearance.

Today we’re going to have an in-depth look at the Thermaltake Level 10 and see if it can justify its hefty price tag of around £500.

Features

  • Design Collaboration by Thermaltake and BMW Group DesignworksUSA
  • Asymmetrical Balance design
  • Open Compartment Architecture (O.C.A.)
  • Smart-lock Security System (S.S.S.)
  • A Ergonomically Positioned and Integrated Handles Removable Hard Drive Cases for 3.5? and 2.5? HDD/SSD
  • Dramatically lighting effect
  • Exposed Vertical Heatsink

Specification

Case Type Full Tower
Dimensions 666.3 x 318 x 614mm (HxWxD)
Net Weight 21.37 kg (47.11 lb)
Colour Black
Material Aluminium Extrusion
Front (Intake) Fan 40 x 140 x 25 mm Red LED Fan, 1000rpm, 16dBA or 120 x 120 x25 mm fan
Rear (Exhaust) Fan 120 x 120 x 25 mm Red LED Fan, 1300rpm, 17dBA
HDD (Intake) Fan Dual 60 x 60 x 15mm Silent Fan, 2500 rpm, 19dBA
Drive Bays 3 x 5.25″, 6 x 3.5″ / 2.5″ /SSD
Expansion Slots 8
Motherboards Micro ATX, ATX
I/O Ports USB 2.0 x 4, eSATA x 1, HD Audio x 1
PSU Standard PS2 PSU
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
Thermaltake Level 10 Full-Tower Case Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 2 ratings
7 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 6 7 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

43 Comments
  • Derek
    September 3, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Holy Shit ! I want this ! when is the competition being held to win it ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    September 3, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    God Damn, what a great review KG – I want one of these and have for years. it looks so beautiful!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steve
    September 3, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    500 quid, crap. thats a lot of cash, but BMW really came up with something weird and wonderful with this design.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank
    September 3, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review Henry and this is not something I immediately thought id like, but the review explains the process well, I like the look of it. and the seperate compartments looks really wicked.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color
    September 3, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well I have seen only a handful of reviews of this and they have all been crap. this one is the best. It costs so much money doesnt it, but I think its worth it, just for the originality concept.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    September 3, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I never really liked this case, but the review serves it up well. hard to justify the money and some parts id like to change, but I credit Thermaltake for trying somethign different. Would a 5970 fit in it ok ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry
    September 3, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Lovely, I adore this case, always have, could never afford it, so the competition will be sweet whenever that happens.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Finkle
    September 3, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love this chassis, always have, but would never fork out that money for it. Great review and a good read with my cup of coffe this morning.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    September 3, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Those pictures really do that case justice. its stunning, whether you like it or not. more manufacturers need to do these kind of creations.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger
    September 3, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review Henry, I really enjoyed reading that, even if it is a pipe dream to own one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Paul
    September 3, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Is it really well made? I heard it was quite poorly pieced together ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Parrote
    September 3, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Awesome review. great photos. What is the noise like? does it generate much fan noise under use?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank
    September 3, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I know this case has been slagged off a lot but it is very different and I appreciate a company who breaks the mould.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Luke
    September 3, 2010
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hank they didnt really break the mould, they paid BMW to break the mould for them ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ruffus
    September 3, 2010
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    9.5/10 – thats a hell of score Henry. Is the build quality really that good ? I had read on another site last month that it was a bit hard to close some doors etc ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • P1n3apqlExpr3ss
    September 3, 2010
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    What really is the amazing if the winner for the comp is from say australia, i would LOVE to see the shipping costs for this monster xD

    Nonetheless a nice case regardless of price

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sammy D
    September 3, 2010
    #17
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Absolutely brilliant, now im off to try and win this sucker.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave
    September 3, 2010
    #18
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Damn, I want one of these now, thought it looked ugly initially but it grew on me by the last page :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Froilsk
    September 3, 2010
    #19
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very attractive, I went in thinking it would be a mess, but internally it all kinda makes sense.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Vinnie S.
    September 3, 2010
    #20
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very good review but how is the noise, are the fans alright?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Todd
    September 3, 2010
    #21
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent product, if a little elitest by the terms of the pricing. I would be interested to see it in the flesh, ive only ever seen pictures online.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jim
    September 3, 2010
    #22
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    What is the material a mixture of steel and plastic ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kris
    September 3, 2010
    #23
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It is way overpriced and overelaborate. its a nice showcase piece.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    September 3, 2010
    #24
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    From what I hear, Thermaltake have not made any money on this case at all, the costs of getting BMW to design it were extortionate.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Larry
    September 3, 2010
    #25
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    that is reallly sexy, first time ive seen a thorough review of it. I would actually buy it, if I think my wife wouldnt kill me afterwards. maybe I can tell her its a new table as well.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ramjet
    September 3, 2010
    #26
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Awesome article, and well worth a read, even if im not sold on the looks. Its different ill give it that.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Himself
    September 3, 2010
    #27
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review Henry, good write up. Dont like it, but kudos to thermaltake for having the balls to try it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terv
    September 3, 2010
    #28
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have wanted this since the day it was announced. what a talking point for people in the house to see.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francois LeBon
    September 3, 2010
    #29
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    my rich friend has this case and I really like it. its quite a complex build and you need to get your head around how it works, but its well worth the money. its like people who buy a BMW car, you spend more, but its quality.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Iron Maiden rocks
    September 3, 2010
    #30
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Fucking sweet case, same price as my BMW car from 1996 tho ! ill pass !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terrab
    September 3, 2010
    #31
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    If I had £500 to chuck out, it would be on this. Love it to death.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • James
    September 3, 2010
    #32
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Stunning bit of engineering work. glad they make good cars too.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sllivite
    September 3, 2010
    #33
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like it, but it would take some getting used to. and I bet the system build is tricky.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garth
    September 3, 2010
    #34
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review and Id love one, just way outside my budget.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gus
    September 3, 2010
    #35
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Finally, a good review of the case. I have one and I think its awesome. I read some sites bitching about this and that, all just to look cool and they are talking shit. I love the design and its well made.

    Great review, much kudos

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ray Smythe
    September 3, 2010
    #36
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I might actually buy this nearer christmas with some money ive got coming to me.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Unigine
    September 3, 2010
    #37
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    IT is a work of art. People are just jealous they cant get one themselves ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fadiclk
    September 3, 2010
    #38
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    wow, ive never seen this before. what a piece of engineering!!!!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jerry Hang
    September 3, 2010
    #39
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Orrdering one from yoyotech :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Picnic hamper
    September 3, 2010
    #40
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    BMW need to make more cases if they come up with wacky and weird designs like this.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph
    September 4, 2010
    #41
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Stunning engineering and I really do love this. its a little much for a case IMO, but I can understand people buying it, who are rich obviously.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fadddid
    September 4, 2010
    #42
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It is hard to justify spending this on a case, but it has the world talking and I know this review is being linked everywhere, thats how I found it.

    Id like one, but 800 bucks for a case is very hard for me to spend.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Geddy
    September 4, 2010
    #43
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Fantastic review, thanks for all the work :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives