G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX Review

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

A short while ago we reviewed the G.Skill Ripjaws 4GB DDR3-2133mhz kit which was retailing for an incredibly low £50 inc vat. Today we are looking at the latest G.Skill 1600mhz RipjawsX bundle which is an 8GB kit retailing for £59.15 inc vat. Is this an ideal upgrade for your new system build? Has G.Skill made any compromises?

As we said before, G.Skill are peppering the market with quality products at extremely competitive price points. While the 4GB RipjawsX kit offers faster speeds, many people are feeling that 4GB is the minimum memory count for a new system, with a wider audience opting for 8GB configurations. The kit we are reviewing today is rated at 9-9-9-24 latencies @ only 1.5V.

  • Capacity: 8GB (2 x 4GB)
  • Speed: DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  • Cas Latency: 9
  • Timing: 9-9-9-24
  • Voltage: 1.5V
  • ECC: No
  • Buffered/Registered: Unbuffered
  • Multi-channel Kit: Dual Channel Kit
  • Features: Designed Specifically for Intel Sandy Bridge CPUs and P67 Platforms
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 2 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

10 Comments
  • Nester
    July 4, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    8GB of performance memory for under £60? can the prices get much better before they go up? I think not.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Earthworm
    July 4, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    How long are GSKILL going? have they decent warranty terms in UK? ive always stuck with corsair

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jerry
    July 4, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Anyone reading this should get some memory NOW, before it rises. and it will soon, trust me

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brooke
    July 4, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I own GSKILL memory already and its been faultless. I havent tried overclocking mine, but I dont push my system to the limit. happy with the reference speeds

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Peter
    July 4, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nothing wrong with gskill, they have some great price deals in the UK right now. worth a purchase. I only have shitty 1333mhz and I need to move up, but im goign to wait until i get a new system. might get 8gb of 2133mhz

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Esther
    July 4, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Going to get some for my boyfriend for his birthday. thanks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lancaster
    July 4, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Another great one from the guys. thanks for the r eview

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ben
    July 4, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It is worth pointing out to people who dont know that most of the memory on these chips are actually made for companies like gskill and shared with other clients.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Robin
    July 6, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice review. I have owned three gskill kits for years and none of them have a single issue. Good to see the good price with their product.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rusty1983
    October 30, 2013
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have these fantastic modules running as this article suggested – 1866 Mhz with timings of 9/9/9/28 T1 @1.65v .. Best RAM I’ve ever owned, super fast and 100% stable. I’ve tried many different performance RAM brands (Corsair, OCZ, ect…) And nothing comes close in the Power>Price ratio. G.Skill all the way from now on :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives