Kingston SSDNowV+ Series 512GB Gen 2 SSD Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

While we have often focused on small capacity Solid State Drives today we thought it would be interesting to have a look at the 512GB SSDNowV+ Kingston drive aimed at the enthusiast audience with specific demands for the highest levels of storage capacity.

Kingston Technology were one of the first manufacturers to release Solid State Storage Drives and while their initial products were Intel based units they quickly moved to JMicron controllers and then Toshiba controllers for their latest V and V+ Series products.

The Kingston SSDNow V+ is offered in four capacities, ranging from 64GB to 512GB and each of these is offered in two flavours, either as a standalone drive at a slightly lower price, or with an upgrade bundle which includes drive cloning software, drive rails and external USB enclosure. The upgrade bundle obviously costs a little extra, but its not significant. YoyoTech have a wide range of Kingston products on sale right now in the UK with the 64GB drive retailing for a modest £136 inc vat. The drive we are looking at today is the most expensive in the range, retailing at around £1,100 in the UK … only those with the deepest wallets need apply.

The V+ Series has a rated speed of 230 MB/s read and a write speed of 180MB/s. Its not quite in the same league as the new Sandforce based drives, but the Toshiba controller is very good.

General

Warranty 3 year warranty

Storage

Drive Size 2.5 Inches
Memory Type NAND Flash
Memory Size 512GB
Memory Package Solid State Drive

Performance

Read Speed 220MB/s
Write Speed 180MB/s
Mean Time Between Failure (MTBF) 1.0 Million Hours

Interfaces/Ports

Interface(s) SATA

Environmental

Operating Temperature Operating Temperature 0 to 70°C
Storage Temperature Storage Temperature -40 to 85°C
Vibration (Operating) 2.7 G
Vibration (Non-Operating) 20G

Physical

Enclosure type Internal
In The Box SSDNow drive, Hard drive cloning software and installation guide CD, USB-to-mini-USB Cable, 2.5 inch SATA Enclosure with accompanying USB cable, Serial ATA data cable 4-pin Molex to Serial ATA power adapter cable, Brackets w/screws for 2.5” to 3.5 inch conversion
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Kingston SSDNowV+ Series 512GB Gen 2 SSD Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

16 Comments
  • Fluffychicken
    September 8, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I almost fainted at the price, but for the capacity and audience interested, it makes sense.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Horseflaps
    September 8, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    THese are good drives, but for over a grand, seems pointless for me anyway. thats the price of a full system :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dingles on High
    September 8, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Just ordered two for Raid 0 in my new rig. yes, im kidding.

    Good review though, seems to be a drive for wealthy playboys rather than college peops like me

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K
    September 8, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is the size I want, but until they hit one third the price they are now, its a pipedream for me.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    September 8, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Zardon come on buddy, lets keep it real. they have probably sold 10 of these worldwide ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    September 8, 2010
    #6
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Tim you would be surprised how many businesses buy these, and even the people who buy GTX480s for SLI, might have a few of these in raid 0 without the need for a mechanical storage option.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    September 8, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    lol, yeah maybe, but its such a massive amount of money. id go for the 128GB drive and get a 2TB mechanical for the files. But maybe im just a peasant :p

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    September 8, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    And just to stress my point – http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=HD-168-SE&groupid=701&catid=14&subcat=1279
    you could get literally 20TB of mechanical storage for a single 512GB SSD

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    September 8, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Tim until the prices drop, which wont happen for quite some time (not to that point anyway), its always going to be the case. Flash memory like this is still very expensive.

    I like this drive, cant say I like the price, but for a businessman on the move, it makes a lot of sense really. it can be billed as expenses, you never have to worry about a knock wrecking the platter on the move and you can easily store all your business related work files and more on a single product.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave
    September 8, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I think ill have to pass, my poor heart cant take it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hakuren
    September 8, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Holy Moly! For that kind of money you can buy very powerful RAID card + bunch of 2.5″ HDDs for RAID0 and superior performance or RAID 6 and superior storage space… or both with two independent arrays!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank
    September 8, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I think my wallet just fainted. if you have the money for this, I envy you !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe Soap
    September 8, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Lovely, every PC should have one. or two.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ham or cheese? tough choice
    September 8, 2010
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I read this thinking, this is great, might get one myself then I realised its over a grand. I feel like a pauper now. 40GB Corsair unit for me I think !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam D
    September 11, 2010
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It’s weird seeing the Vertex 2 being schooled by the Agility 2. I thought it would have been the other way around. It also shows the Sandforce not being affected by the smaller over provisioning of the Agility 2.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Les@TheSSDReview
    October 2, 2010
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thats a monster of a drive at a monster price… They will come down soon I am sure. Nice review!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives